We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“really excellent riad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Ta'achchaqa
Ranked #465 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really excellent riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We started our trip in this riad and were so enthusiastic about it, we returned here for our last days in Marrakech! Best place of our two week stay in Morocco. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxed and peaceful. Beautifully decorated rooms, which are very well kept and clean. A great tranquil roof terrace, where the excellent breakfast is served. The only thing that wasn't excellent about this place, was the warm water supply. It is sufficient, but not abundant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gipsy-at-heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    6
    10
    3
See reviews for
13
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Having stayed in a different and beautiful riad in Marrakech prior, I had diminished expectations for this one which was approximately a quarter of the cost. This was unnecessary!
Beautiful, and equally appointed, it was parallel in almost every way. I missed the english fluency a bit (my french is mediocre), but loved the location in the medina. The walk into the derb is a long one and dark, nice to have someone to make it with... An excellent find, this one.
(n.b.: We did not take any meals here, so no input on that front.)

There was an issue: since the manager could not come and meet us at the taxi when we arrived at the parking area (as planned), he sent 2 younger men to meet us to walk us to the riad. The way they behaved made me dubious that we weren't just being scammed. Eventually the manager appeared on bicycle, obviously rushing to meet us. They were pretty rude and wanted a HUGE tip EACH for doing almost nothing (since they didn't offer to carry bags or anything). This experience was a bummer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a brief stay here and it met my expectations based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were exhausted after a long day of travel and were thrilled to receive such a warm welcome at the Riad. As others have noted - it can be very difficult to find in the winding alleys of the Medina. We were approached by someone to help us find the riad - and did pay a bit for his services. I didn't feel taken advantage of - he provided us a very valuable service! We arrived after dark and I am not sure we would have found the riad otherwise - at least not without a great level of frustration! We did arrive late and were not able to arrange for dinner at the riad (you need to arrange that in advance.) The riad is walking distance to market / square however (about 10 - 15 minutes) which is very lively at night.

The room was clean and provided much needed R&R after a long days travel. I would recommend this riad to anyone looking for nice accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Higbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We started our stay in Marrakesh at a different riad, lovely, but expensive. We spent our last 4 nights here and wondered, why did we ever stay at that other place?

This place is great, lovely rooms, quiet, sweet people who care about your time in the city. A couple of cozy cats to cuddle with on a chilly night.

One thing of course, no doors on the bathrooms! Which made for some hilarious, married moments.

It's got AC and it's also a bit away from the square which is really nice. The sheets are nice and great comforters. Also BREAKFAST. Really yummy with eggs and bread and yogurt with pomegranates mixed in. YUM.

We have been totally happy here. Wouldn't have it any other way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandFTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Riad might be for you if:

You find it an adventure to get a taxi to a street corner and then find kids with carts to show you through the maze to an unmarked door which is your Riad (don't pay them 70dhr, we gave them 30 and closed the door).

You can deal with hotel staff who speak only French.

You have a map, compass, gps, and can find your way in and out of a maze when exploring this exotic city.

You don't need a door on your very elegant bathroom.

You find an oasis in the midst of chaos to be the perfect vacation.

Great find if it fits your bill.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laetulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Ta'achchaqa was the last of the 8 ryads we did on our Morocco-trip. And apparently we saved the best for last - what a wonderful experience ! We totally don't understand some of the negative remarks made in other reviews...

Location : very good, in the center of the old medina of Marrakech, near/in the souks. It's a nice walk of about 10 minutes through the shops to the famous Jemaa El Fna Square. You have to go through some small alleys to get to the ryad, but this is not really an issue. The alleys are fairly well-lit and there is even a private guard at the beginning of the alleys (although we don't really see why as we never felt threatened in Morocco).

Ryad itself : wonderfully decorated, more luxurious and with more eye for detail than the other 7 ryads we did. A fairytale from 1001 nights !

Rooms : very spacious and luxurious; no door between bathroom and bedroom but toilet and shower are separated from the rest of the room behind a wall.

Service : excellent ! Nourredine was the perfect host ! Candles were always lit, we were served as kings, he showed us around to a nice little restaurant and to the square, ...

Cats : the ryad has one or two house cats, very sweet and clean. We are cat-people so we liked this a lot, but for people who don't like cats : the cats are not very pushy... We were surprised to read in some reviews that people asked the owners to remove the cats. Besides that : if you don't like cats, you're better of not going to Marrakech at all as there cats everywhere !

Dinner : we never had dinner here, but 20 eur per person is a lot of money for food in Morocco. There are plenty of small restaurants in the medina where you enjoy a 3 course menu for around 10 euro per person (or even less).

Summarized : a perfect place for a citytrip to Marrakech !!!

Room Tip: We had the Chemaia-room on the ground level. Very nice and cozy room, but we can imagine that it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim_Jorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My stay at this hotel had some very good points and some not so good points. I'll summarize here:
Good points:
1. The owners are very friendly and helpful, especially Anwar who actually became our guide and took us to Jamma Al Fna on the first night and showed us around. He even haggled for us when we brought some items.
2. The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport which was also incredibly helpful. We could never had gotten to the riad if it wasn't for this
3. The room had air conditioning.
Bad points:
1. The location is poor. It is too far from Jamma El fna square which is where all the action occurs.
2. The alley way which leads to the Riad is too dark, smells of sewers and is intimidating. There occasionally are a few local men who hang around this area and once asked me for money, when I said no, this caused an argument.
3. Beware: the bathroom/toilet and the main bedroom are all in one! i.e there is no door on the toilet. I am newly married so can you imagine how embarrasing that can be? Apparently all the rooms have this which is shocking for a 5 star place.
4. Do not get the meal on the first night. It is 40 euros which is far too much! You can easily go to a nice restaurant near Jamma El Fna for 120 dirhams(about £12).
5. I hate cats and the Riad is full of them. Even when I told them that they bother me, nothing was done.
This is not a five star hotel, more like 3 stars.
Read less

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drash1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#45 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#104 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Oumaima
Riad Oumaima
#482 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Bibtia
Riad Bibtia
#402 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ta'achchaqa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ta'achchaqa

Property: Riad Ta'achchaqa
Address: 19 derb Ouayhah, Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ta'achchaqa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Ta'achchaqa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ta`Achchaqa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing