We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An Oasis of Calm in the Madness of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Jardins Mandaline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Ranked #129 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm in the Madness of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Arriving in Marrakech in the oppressive heat, bartering with the taxi driver and then lugging our rucksacks through the busy and narrow streets of Marrakech, my girlfriend and I were shocked by how serene our chosen riad was. Beautiful too, with its flowers, white walls and ideal sized pool. Our room was very nice indeed and the staff extremely friendly and accommodating.

The position of Les Jardins Mandaline within the Medina was ideal, being about a 10 minute walk from Jemaa el Fnaa - I personally think this was a perfect distance in order to get away from the hustle and bustle of the souks at the end of the day. If spending the evening in the sure to walk back before the final evening call to mosque (or around 10.30/11pm), as the dark walk through the (almost) deserted souks isn't the most pleasant.

Highly recommend this riad!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Samuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    55
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
154
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After being unsure about booking this riad, due to it´s location, we were extremely happy to have had the experience at staying at such a charming, friendy and calming riad. It is actually only a 10/15 min walk from the centre and although I was apprehensive about returning late at night, I need not have worried at all. The area feels safe and it is quite a relief to be able to escape the frenzy of the busier parts of Marrakesh. The breakfast was served on the beautiful terrace and was delicious. It was wonderful to have a dip in the pool in the beautiful surroundings of the riad. All the staff were friendly and made you feel very much at home, something we did not experience in the second riad in which we stayed.We also enjoyed having a beer on the terrace whilst laying back and enjoying the sunshine on the sun loungers. Again, the second riad we stayed in did not serve alcohol at all. We would definitely go back and will recommend this riad to all our friends. I think it would be difficult to find better quality for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We found this Riad on Trip advisor and were not disappointed. When you get dropped off by the taxi and then follow the man who takes your cases in a wheelbarrow down the little narrow streets, you do start to wonder what you are going to, but once inside the wooden doors you enter a little haven of peace and tranquility exactly as described on the website. We had exceedingly hot weather during our stay and loved to return each day and have a cool dip in the small pool and relax. The air con is a little noisy but at least there is no traffic noise. The meal we had in the Riad was by far the best we had eaten during our stay in Marrakech, sumptuous lamb and apricots.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Iman. It's small but cosy and perfect proximity to the little splash pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerWiltshire0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Perfectly situated riad in the Medina, walking through the souks from here was great, so close. There are a few boutique places popping up in the souk at this end now too which is nice for a change.. We found that the air con was a little noisy at night but if we left the unit on before going to sleep, it was still cool enough to sleep. Perfect sleep.
We had dinner there for the first night which was the best meal we had all weekend. The guys that run the riad where amazing, I can not fault them. So accommodating, there was nothing we asked that wasnt a problem. Popcorn and shish on the terrace when the sun sets became a ritual. Very relaxing weekend break in busy Marrakech.

Room Tip: We looked at all rooms, they are nicely decorated. The rooms that are £80 per night do however have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lankylobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A comfortable Riad only 20 minutes walk from D'jema el fna through the medina. Tucked away at the end of a poorly lit side alley, Derb Ferrane, but wouldn't let this put you off. Pleasant clean rooms, well equipped bathroom and elegant decoration throughout. Helpful and friendly staff. The roof terrace is a lovely place to relax with drink after long day spent touring the town. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psh-overland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbino, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Riad is not bad, not more than the average. The room we had was very small and with a strong smell of damp. On the second day we have lived with many beetles, came out of the bathroom and fell down from the chandelier ..... we did not sleep last night ... a nightmare!
we notified the staff that made a laugh without regard for our difficulty. We expected a change of room or at least an apology .... but nothing!
It seemed strange to find the bugs because the riad was not dirty!
The staff however was friendly, the food was good .... We were disappointed by this bad experience.
We will recommend something better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Viaggiare

Helpful?
1 Thank ariannafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I transferred to Riad Les Jardins Mandaline from a standard hotel in Marrakesh, for 2 nights, after my 16-day group trip through Morocco ended. It took me hours to find it on a 40C-plus afternoon. But once there, it was one of the most pleasant experiences of my trip! The small staff were so nice, so friendly and so wonderful that I truly felt like family. The Riad is lovely and beautifully decorated, and the rooftop terrace is the perfect place for breakfast, dinner, or just chilling out.
I don't care what anyone says, maps are useless in the medina of Marrakesh! Easy tip to get to the Riad: have your cab driver take you to the Bab Doukkala gate. Call the Riad once there, and they will send a guy to come and get you and your luggage, and walk you back to the Riad. It's much easier to find this way, rather than trying to find it by going through the Souks. Once you find it, you realize that the location is very convenient! And to get to Djemaa el-Fna at night, go back out to the parking lot (just inside the Gate) where you were dropped off, and follow the wall around to the left on the outside of the medina, to a main entry promenade towards Djemaa el-Fna. So much easier than navigating the Souks at night. I even found my way back to the Riad at night!
I LOVE this Riad and the folks who work there! My room had AC, a spacious bathroom, and it was right on the little pool. I will definitely come back one day, and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifteenMinutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#150 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#55 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#61 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#206 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#104 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#265 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Jardins Mandaline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Jardins Mandaline

Property: Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Address: 55, Derb Ferrane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Jardins Mandaline 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Les Jardins Mandaline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing