We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad El Faris
Nearby Hotels
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$344
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $376/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$89
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$263
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$590
$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$366
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$232
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
166
46
21
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
46
21
14
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 257 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2011

After reading other reviews I expected more really.

On the bright side, the riad is indeed an oasis of peace and the people who works there are very nice.

The cons are that nobody speaks english (which is fine for the basics but does not make things easy) and that even though the riad is about 20 mins walking from Djemaa El Fna square, it is hard not get lost and the surroundings are not nice at all.

We stayed in room Cumin. Generally speaking the room is nice but it has no windows and since the door is right next to the common room, smells from the kitchen (every morning) and from people smoking goes into the room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matias82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in two Riads in Marrakech (3 nights each). Both were great, although this Riad (El Faris) had better rooms, and the decor was superb. There is a lovely roof terrace to enjoy the evenings before heading out to town. The breakfasts were tasty and we enjoyed the evening meal which we had on our first evening.

One tip - take euros to pay the bill otherwise you will get stung with a very poor exchange rate if you pay in Dirhams.

We did find getting to and from the Riad a little daunting - it felt a little like it was in the rougher end of town - there were quite a few youths hanging about in the alleys and they were sometimes a little intimidating (more so than the normal hassle that one must expect and learn to enjoy in such a great setting). We ended up taking taxis as much as possible to avoid this, which was a bit of a shame.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, they all seemed good
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_holidayer_077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Riad El Faris is a clean, friendly and beautiful Riad in the North of the Medina. It offers individual, well decorated and traditional bedrooms. We stayed on two occasions over the fortnight of our holiday to Morocco and had the opportunity to stay in the Chambre Vanille and Cumin, which were both great. Aziz made our stay very welcoming and he could not enough for us, he guided us the right way to the souks, answered any queries we had and arranged transport for us. The Riad also contacted us prior to travelling to arrange a transfer from the airport which worked out at 15 euros, also we had our evening meal at the Riad which was within the traditional Moroccan style and consisted of grilled vegatables for starter, Chicken Tagine for the main and yoghurt for the desert. The meal was good value for money and very tasty.

The Riad is in the North of the medina and is about a 20 minute walk to the centre (providing you do not get lost, which is very easy to do in Marrakech, however all part of the fun!) Th locals are very friendly and helpful, but do be aware if you ask for directions etc...they will expect a small amount of money for them doing so.

Marrakech is great city, full of traditions and great people - it a very mad and crazy ( and extremely hot if you are travelling July/August) and the Riad El Fairs offers a haven of peace and tranquilty, I would recommend anyone to stay at this Riad as it great value for money and the staff are just exceptional!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Firstly, the riad looks exactly like the photographs! We were collected from the airport and given a warm welcome by Aziz who arranged a taxi into the square for us on our first night. He walked us into the square the following day and gave us a tour which was really helpful.
The riad is not in the centre but either a 25 minute walk (mostly through the souks so you can do your shopping on the way) or a 10 minute taxi ride away. Once you know your way it is quite easy and a bit of an adventure. It takes 2 minutes to walk to Bab Kachiche and there are plenty of taxis there. Don't pay more than 20 dirham for the journey. It never cost us more than that even at 3am!
If you want an authentic experience then this is the right place to stay. The area is such a contrast from the touristy square and a nice break from it too.
Our room was wonderful and was cleaned and tidied every day. The food was also great. The roof terrace was a lovely place to chill out in the evening.
It was our first time in Marrakech and it was a culture shock. Read a guide book before you go!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanniiLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

After reading reviews hours and hours on various riads , we decided to go for Riad El Faris, it was a decision of which we have NO regrets.
- it looks as good as the photos , its peaceful calm and tranquil after the hussle and bussle of the medina .
- all rooms are a good size we stayed in the Safran room and were not disappointed, the rooms have an old town morrocan charm.
- staff are friendly , helpful.
- intially we worried about the location of the Riad due to the distance to the jama al fana , it does take approximately 20 mins walk provided you dont get lost, the medina can be a maze but that is part of the fun , a mini taxi can be taken to jama for around 30/50 dirhams , prices do shoot up in the evening .
We really enjoyed our stay at the Riad El Faris and definitely would recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: The room Safran and Cannelle are beautifull
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews