We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Magical oasis in the heart of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AnaYela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AnaYela
Ranked #177 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Magical oasis in the heart of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

AnaYela is a hidden away gem in the heart of the Medina, about a thirty minute walk away from the Jemaa el-Fnaa. Starting with the positive: the property itself is magical; you'll feel as though you've been transported into Arabian Nights. With only five rooms, this riad radiates calm - perfect for when you want to relax after having spent a day in the bustling streets of Marrakech. The staff is extremely friendly, the food is superb, the rooms are absolutely beautiful. There is a gorgeous roof terrace with a view across the old part of town (enjoy a shisha on the roof amidst pillows and flowing sheets). Our taxi ride from and to the airport were complimentary, and Mehdi, the manager, was very polite and extremely helpful in recommending local restaurants and booking day trips.

Now, to the (very few) cons: AnaYela is not a place to go if you're seeking privacy. Each room has a sliding glass door without a lock; there are no additional security measures (though each room does include a safe). While AnaYela is located in a bit of a dubious part of town, the riad itself is very safe. Unfortunately, due to the lack of real doors, there isn't much you can do about potential noise for this reason - though we did find that we got used to the muezzin's calls to prayer in the middle of the night rather quickly. AnaYela has a very intimate feel, and it begs its guests to adapt to the Moroccan way of life. If you're willing to forego the lock and let yourself drift, this will be a magical experience, no doubt.

A big hotel this is not, but I found this to the key to its charm. I had an amazing time at AnaYela, and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
63
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our first trip to Marrakech and couldn't have stayed at a more magical and wonderful place. The staff were superb and made us feel like we were the only people in the riad. Mehdi arranged all our trips and they were just what we wanted, no big buses, just us and a guide or taxi. What I didn't expect was how amazing the food was, so good that we ended up eating in every night. After a day in the hustle and bustle of the city it was fantastic to come back to the quiet and beautiful retreat to recharge. A once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right and directly in front of you from the front door are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 628The_Kings_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Having worked for Design Hotels, I must say that Riad AnaYela was truly a magical experience!
A great thanks as well to Mehdi, for making our stay so wonderful and pleasant.
His advice took us to the most beautiful hidden spots in Marrakech and we really felt we were no tourist anymore...

We are already planning our trip back to Marrakech, and guess in which hotel we want to stay again ? ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tine_De_Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I wanted to get away, and have quality time with myself. Moreover I wanted to start writing my book on the participatory nature of reality. So I remembered where I wanted to go: Riad AnaYela.
I was taken care of like I was a king. The staff was not only "at my service" as one would expect from a good hotel, rather they went out of their way to make me feel comfortable every day. And I was not on your typical tourist program, only going out for 3-4 hours per day. So it really counted.
After the royal breakfast I went to the roof and sat there writing for a few hours, getting the lovingly prepared mint tea served 2,3 times... as much as I liked. A real pleasure. One thing you notice when you spend so much time in an open, concentrated mood on the roof - you hardly hear any mechanical sound. Children at play, and an occasional dog. What you would have heard in all cities before the industrial revolution gave us a soundscape more fit for machines then man.

I had most of my dinners at the Riad as well, and comparing the food with what I got in the restaurants in town, made me decide that. Delicious.
So thank you all who made my stay there a most wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Riad AnaYela was a great experience. Fantastic breakfast and the room was simply amazing-huge jacuzzi in the room. Very clean and safe. The only downside was that it was located a bit far away from the Medina-atleast a 30 minute walk if you know your way around. Otherwise it's best to take a taxi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyCwhatup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at Riad AnaYela with a girlfriend in February 2014. It was our first time visiting Morocco and the staff at Riad AnaYela helped us feel safe, comfortable and have a great visit. The property itself is stunning and we felt like princesses enjoying our large comfy bed, elegant bathtub and sunning on the rooftop terrace. Breakfast was delicious and every day the staff made sure we had all the information we needed to enjoy the day and stay safe. I highly recommend this Riad for first time visitors to Marrakech and female/solo travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herramblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our 2 week visit to Morocco included two nights at AnaYela near the beginning of our trip, from Nov 24 to 26. Mehdi, the manager of AnaYela, met us at the train station with a big smile on his face that made us feel welcome right away. His friendly attitude was evident in every member of his team and it meant that AnaYela was more of a home than just another riad. We were given a local phone to call in case we needed anything, and we appreciated being guided back to AnaYela after getting disoriented in the medina at night. On the second night, after a full day in Essouira, we came back to a delicious dinner served on cushions, with heat lamps to keep us warm. I loved the fireplace in our room and sleeping to the sound of crackling wood, and our bathtub was almost large enough for a few laps. AnaYela made us appreciate the tranquility of a well-appointed riad after hours wandering around the confusion of Marrakech, and we would gladly call it our home again if we return.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floor is quieter as the ground floor ones open directly to the central pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#125 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#186 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#90 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#85 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#165 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnaYela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnaYela

Property: AnaYela
Address: Derb Zerwl No 28, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AnaYela 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AnaYela is a small 300 year old palace in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The real sensation of the Anayela is its unique atmosphere and its extraordinary architecture. Real new luxury - special experiences for special guests. The Anayela has 3 rooms and 2 suites - each with a different design and all the services and comfort you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your AnaYela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anayela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing