We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Riad, Outstanding staff”
Review of AnaYela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AnaYela
Ranked #134 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Riad, Outstanding staff”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our three night stay at Anayela in January 2012 was one we will never forget. Stepping in from the dusty street one would never expect such an opulent property that Anayela presents. The rooms are luxurious and the food is great, but the staff, by far, are the best asset that Anayela has to offer. Simply step from your room and one of the friendly staff members is ready to meet your any need.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    13
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
80
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our 2night stay at anayela in January was an experience we will never forget. From the noisy streets you step into the most peaceful riade with exquisite surrounds and exceptional attention to detail. It was beyond our expectations. Staff were incredibly professional yet warm and friendly. The manager Daniel is knowledgable, down to earth and readily available if needed yet manages this unobtrusively. We felt like we were staying in our very own palace. Incredible. We will be back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keir2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Arrived late at night after 36 hours flying (and waiting) and stepped through a small door in a dusty alley and entered another world I had only seen in fairy tales and movies. Hard to fault.

The pictures on the website are not touched up or shot from obtuse angles. This place is the real deal.

Would recommend the day long guided walk - avoiding the faux guides but you will still end up in the carpet shop and perfumery - although I don't think anyone has ever regretted buying an authentic berber rug (all three look great at home).

Its also worth getting up early in the morning and going on to the roof and looking across the City and and out to the snow capped mountains.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zlejins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in Anayela for two nights in june and were in awe of the breathtakingly beautiful riad. If you have always had some fantasy about Marrakech being a place out of 1001 nights, you'll see your dream come to life here. The riad is relatively small with 5 rooms, which secures you of some peace and quiet and very attentive and personal service. The place is an oasis after a day in the busy city: once the door closes behind you, the only thing you hear is the sound of the swallows and singbirds.
The rooms are stunning: very Marroccan with beautiful bed, bath in the room, arabic lights and tadelakt walls. When we were there, it was extremely hot (> 45* C), so the airco was very welcome. The beds were very comfortable and the babouches that we got when arriving, were used frequently.

But I think, besides the beauty of the place, the wonderful roof terrace, the welcome silence and the absolutely delicious (!) breakfast (with French cheeses, fresh fruit, bread and pancakes!) and dinner (try the tajine!), the thing that impressed me most was the staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful, polite and extremely attentive, and we were able to speak to some of them about Marrakech and living there, which gave a nice insight. A special thanks goes out to manager Daniel, who went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, helping us with all sorts of external enquiries and even coming along with us on a couple of trips. The fact that he was fluent in Dutch (besides French and German) made it even easier for us. Even when we stayed in other hotels for a couple of nights, he still helped us with several things.

As far as I'm concerned, there is no other riad to consider: Anayela is the one and only!

Room Tip: As far as I've seen, all the 5 rooms are really beautiful. I stayed on the first floor, in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here as a solo guest for one night. Was collected on time for the arranged airport transfer and on arriving was greeted by the Riad manager Daniel and given a small tour and talk about the history of the building.
During the afternoon I went out to explore the city and the riad provided me with a Moroccan mobile and took me part way into the city as it is very easy to get lost in the medina - which I did! On arriving back I had some trouble to a local man, and was being heckled (which is common in Morocco) and Daniel expertly managed this for me on my return which was greatly appreciated.
The food was very good for the evening meal, and as the only guest Daniel kept me company and we talked into the night. The room was comfortable and very well restored and I slept well. I had been upgraded to a suite at no extra cost as it was the low season.
Generally would recommend this riad, although it may be perhaps a little to pricey, but this is a minor point only.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

First of all, with my girlfriend we have to thank again the staff for an amazing service...
It was our first time in Marocco and the drive through the small street of the medina to stop in the "carpark" left us a bit wondering about where we had committed ourselves to stay for Valentine, however the Beaty of the place was evident and true to all the details on the website when we passed the wooden door at the end if a dark alley...
It's only after few hours that you appreciate the calm and peacefulness of the place!
We had a great time and received impeccable service!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve024-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Everything was perfect during my stay at the Anayela over five days in October 2010. The excellent behavior of the very kind staff, the service from airport shuttle to guided tours to the Atlas. We´ve always been supported honestly by the very polite people of the Anayela. The riad´s interior is not only designed with a lot of charme, its designed and furnished with a lot of heart. We felt very comfortable in our room on the first floor with a spacious and absolute clean bathroom. The always very obliging waiting staff served us a typical moroccan diner on the flying carpet, a romantic place on the roof top. We enjoyed our delicate meal and watched the sun set while the muezzin was calling - WHOW. The Anayela is situated in the north of the Medina, the authentic part of the old town, where you´ll not find the "normal tourist" but the real moroccan life, many artisan work shops and craftsmanship tradition. My stay in Marrakesh at the Anayela is one of those experiences, I´ll never forget.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8ernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#99 of 499 in Marrakech
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 499 in Marrakech
937 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#102 of 499 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#63 of 499 in Marrakech
280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#104 of 499 in Marrakech
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnaYela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnaYela

Property: AnaYela
Address: Derb Zerwl No 28, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#97 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AnaYela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AnaYela is a small 300 year old palace in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The real sensation of the Anayela is its unique atmosphere and its extraordinary architecture. Real new luxury - special experiences for special guests. The Anayela has 3 rooms and 2 suites - each with a different design and all the services and comfort you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AnaYela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anayela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing