We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful, charming riad in a Perfect location in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Mur Akush
Ranked #27 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Peaceful, charming riad in a Perfect location in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I stayed in this Riad for 3 nights with my boyfriend and I can only say good things about it!
an amazing stylish, traditional with a touch of modern desig riad in a perfect location of the Medina (just 10 minutes walk away from caothic Jma el Fnaa), where to find peace and a warm welcome after a long day in Marrakesh.
The staff is incredibly warm, knowledgeable and friendly that we felt at home from the time we set our foot in the riad.
Breakfasts are a definite highlight, either in the patio or in the living room at the groundfloor or in the wonderful roof terrace with a lovely view on the whole of the Medina and Atlas mountains. it made my boyfriend and i forget about the city hustle and enjoy a relaxing time.
the riad is perfect for both couples and small group of friends as the patio, roof terrace and common space are ideal for a chat, sunbathing and enjoying delicious moroccan mint tea which is served to every customer at every time of the day.
I will definitely go back to the riad on my next trip to Marrakesh and I have already reccomended it to all of my friends.
One more thing: the rooms are amazing and they are exactly as they look in the pictures, which is quite a remarkable thing! we had the chance to stay in three different rooms and i would reccomend this experience as every room is unique and decorated with great style and provide you with a different feel of the riad-experience.
I think it is the best choice if you want to have a quiet night (a lot of riad are in the middle of the medina where is very noisy) and ideal if you want to travel by coach (only 5 minutes away from the coach station). there is also a little alley with a souk next door so you can buy your spices and last minutes souvenirs withouth having to get into the chaos of the medina once again ! I would reccomend having dinner there as the food is prepared by staff, purely moroccan and it is the closest experience you can get to having dinner with a moroccan family. The food we had was delicious and the price is really good!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafinlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    57
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
294
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Riad Mur Akush provided the perfect retreat from the heat and noise of the day outside. To sit at sunset on the roof terrace and watch the swallows circle above our heads with the atlas mountains in view ahead of us was a very repeatable experience. Breakfast is substantial, in fact the best choice we were offered in Morocco. The bed was a little hard...but I found this where ever I stayed and think it must just be a Moroccan thing, but rooms were clean and the shower was good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorBlimeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Riad Mur Akush is perfect for everybody who wants to avoid the big unpersonal hotel chains in the new city of Marrakech. It is a beautiful place on a perfect location in the Medina. I can fully confirm the other reviews when they mention the warm and helpful attitude of the staff. When you ask, they will help you were ever they can with all your plans and wishes. You realy feel at home and secure in Riad Mar Akush. Good value for money. Good clean and comfortable rooms. Despite my plans, I booked two extra nights because I liked it so much. Complete breakfast and a great authentic Moroccan dinner when you ask Zora to prepare it for you. You can buy your own wine in the supermarket and they are happy to keep in in the frige and serve it to you when you like without any costs. To make it short, it is a perfect riad for everybody who would like a personal treatment in an wonderful authentic place on a great location !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prodessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We loved our stay at the Mur Akush - friendly, helpul staff who went out of their way to may our time in Marrakesh easy going and enjoyable.
We had arranged transport from the airport through the riad when booking our room, and found that made our first visit to Morocco stressfree and easy going. On arrival Hassan and Mohommed welcomed us warmly with our first taste of mint tea and the most delicious sweet snacks.
Breakfast were more like a banquet and fueled us up for the day. Nothing was too much for the our hosts and we have fond memories of our stay
Mick and Miriam Szopa

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We could not fault our stay at Riad Mur Akush at all. Maria was very quick to respond to my initial email, Mohammed and Hassan were the perfect hosts. We were upgraded to a bigger room, both of them were beautifully decorated with extremely comfortable beds. Our trip to the Atlas Mountains was arranged thru the Riad and was a brilliant day out. Breakfast on the roof terrace was the best part of the day for me. The Riad is perfectly situated, a short walk to many places of interest. We would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

This was the only place we stayed that recognised it was our honeymoon and got out the red carpet for us so we'll always be grateful for that little something extra that the staff of the Riad were happy to do.
The location is perfect, just outside the busy lanes to be quiet and peaceful but close enough for it to be a matter of minutes walking to the sites and sounds.
The staff couldn't do enough for us showing us around, booking tables for us and arranging a massage in the Riad itself.
If and when we go back we'd book into here again without doubt.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We started our 2 week trip in Morooco with 3 nights in the Mur Akush in Marrakech. Tea and cakes on the terrace was a perfect welcome to the hotle. We have 2 children and were given the suite with the sitting room converted for the children to sleep in. It was beautiful and perfect. The rooms are finished to a high standard and have a suitably Moroccan feel to them, fresh flowers and cacti were everywhere, the central courtyard is a haven from the hectic medina and the roof terrace is a perfect suntrap. The staff Hussan, Mohammed and Zora, were terribly helpful and were ready to assist with organsing hire cars, travel ideas for the rest of our time in Morooco etc, including plenty of things which did not give them any income. It would not be suitable for little children but for ours (10 and 8) it was great. Go there!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#20 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#18 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#30 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Property: Riad Mur Akush
Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing