We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incredible from booking to leaving! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Ranked #27 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Incredible from booking to leaving! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I booked this Riad in February and ever since have been in contact with Maria the owner ever since regarding taxis, local custom and meals at the Riad.

On arrival (ask for a private transfer, 15 pounds is nothing for the safety and security of arriving at night safely and not being harrassed by possibly dodgy taxis) we were treated to mint tea and biscuits and shown a map, showing us around the area and where to see and not see which was helpful.

Breakfast was great both days, in the courtyard of the Riad surrounded by the sounds of birds and the gentle waterfall feature on the wall. Freshly squeezed orange juice, crossaints, pastries and breads, yoghurts and cheeses too.

We booked the Grand Suite and it didn't disappoint. The room was spacious, bathroom huge with 2 sinks and the living room airy and comfortable with both rooms having AC for the hot summer days and nights!

An unbelievable stay and somewhere I would stay again and again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Wow Tom.... thank you so much for your wonderful review. I cannot tell you how much it motivates us all to hear that you had a good stay with us and you give us 5/5 rating. For a tiny business like ours, your review makes a huge difference and keeps us going with a smile.
If you would like to visit Marrakech again, email me for our best rates :-)
Thank you and all the best from all of us here.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    57
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
293
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights here before heading out on our tour of Morocco. Everything was perfect and the location is amazing since it is a short walking distance to the square. Maria was amazingly efficent with her information on details of exploring Morocco. I would not hesitate to recommend Riad Mur Akush, for it's authentic Moroccan flair. Great Service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and I hope you made the most of your 2 days in Marrakech. I hope that your trek was a success as well!
All the best and I hope to hear from you again one day!
Spread the word about us!
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

After a hectic week climbing the Atlas Mountains and camel riding in the Sahara, arriving at Riad Mur Akush was the perfect, relaxing break we needed. Our host was incredibly calm and friendly, and we were provided with delicious afternoon tea on arrival. The inside of the riad was really beautiful, and with the sounds of the birds and the fountain this really was tranquil accommodation. Our room was perfect - a gorgeous bathroom with a very comfy bed. It was very easy to reach Djemaa el-Fnaa with a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was a delicious mix of fresh orange juice, coffee, pastries, cake, and yogurt. Would love to return to such paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your thoughtful review, I think you captured the tranquility of the riad beautifully with your words. I am really pleased that you found refuge in Riad Mur Akush, after the intensity of the sahara trek and I hope that you will return to stay with us again, maybe a little longer this time, it will be good to have you again.
All the best, from the team in Marrakech and myself.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This review will be an odd one as due to a mix up in another part of morocco we missed our transfer back to Marrakech and just ended up staying nearer the airport. However I felt this riad still deserved a great review due to the amazing organisation and friendliness of Maria via email from the time of booking right up until the day we couldn't make it! After seeing these great reviews we were looking forward to seeing this place for ourselves and if we ever go back to Marrakech we will finally be staying here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello lovely ladies! What a treat to see your review, especially since your experience is only based on our communication! It was a shame that you did not manage to get to Marrakech after all but I am sure that you will manager to return one day soon! When that time comes, you know you will be welcome in Riad Mur Akush.
Take care,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

excellent, kind, helpful staff in a gorgeous riad. we stayed with kids and they were really helpful with them. convenient location very near to Dar Marjana which is a restaurant experience that should NOT be missed.
Definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stavros Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your review, I can imagine what a busy life you have with the 2 little ones, so I really appreciate that you found the time. I am so glad that you and the kids had a good stay with us. Grand Suite Amel is perfect for a family, and I hope you enjoyed staying there.
All the best for the future travels!
Regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very pleasant stay. Had a very spacious and well-appointed room. The rooftop is lovely and provides for nice views of Marrakesh. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Djemaa el-Fnaa and the souks, but we were actually very happy we weren't located amid all those crowds. The call to prayer did wake us up, but it was not overly bothersome. A highlight was the cooking class we took with Zakia. After selecting a menu (harira and a traditional berber tagine), we went to the nearby market to select the meat/vegetables, and then prepared the dishes under Zakia's guidance (and of course, got to eat the dishes for lunch). Would highly recommend staying at this riad!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Such a lovely review for our generous guests, thank you!
It was a pleasure taking care of you and I am so glad that you have a good stay with us. Zakia is a great cook and loves talking to our guests about food and she send you her best wishes, along with mine.
I hope you will visit us again in the future.
All the best from all of us, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ain el Aouda, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It was like being at home. Complete comfort with the people, tea and coffee whenever we wanted (for free!), and we even got to watch the world cup on one of the staff member's tablet! Oh, and it was a beautiful, quiet place (except when the call to prayer sounded from the nearby mosque). And cheap. I'm recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with, made some good friends and it would be lovely to have you back.
My best wishes, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#32 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#22 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#29 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Property: Riad Mur Akush
Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing