We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accomodation - convienient and clean.”
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Mur Akush
Ranked #32 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful riad, with fantastic views from the roof. A great location, close enough to walk to the main square, but far enough away that you feel distant from the chaos. Very helpful staff. We ate in one night and the food was traditional and pleasant. The room, and hotel in general was spotlessly clean.

When we go back we will stay here and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'D'olive Suite' which was on the ground floor and opens up on to the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeCameWeSawWeAte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am so glad that you had a pleasant stay with is in Riad Mur Akush. The views are indeed lovely and I am glad that you have enjoyed them. They change all the time, and the sights of the snow cupped Atlas mountains at winter is also worth seeing. Thank you once again, Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 586 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thoroughly impressed with Riad Mur Akush. We chose this hotel after having spent a week in the mountains. We were made to feel very welcome and greeted with tea and cakes while Rachid went through a map of the city, giving us advice and pointing out the places we'd already decided to visit.
The suite was superb, incredibly spacious, comfortable and to a very high standard. The roof terrace was delightful and provided fantastic views of the city.
We cannot recommend the hotel and great service highly enough and will be returning there next time we visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sachah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

On arrival at the Riad, our family of 5 were warmly welcomed by the lovely members of staff who were helpful and kind throughout our stay and accommodated our every request.

A quick guide to the main sites Marrakech has to offer not long after arrival helped in planning our stay and eased worries about arranging excursions to popular sites located some distance from the Medina as they are offered by the Riad at a fair rate. The Riad itself has a perfect central location in the middle of the Old and New City and is within walking distance of the souks, Jamaa al Fna and other tourist sites.

We shared two rooms between us and both were clean, spacious and delicately decorated with great attention to detail. We cannot exaggerate the tranquility felt in the Riad, whether on the Rooftop Terrace, in the bedrooms or the seating area on the ground floor.

Our decision to choose the Riad was partly swayed by the excellent and prompt communication we had from the owner, Maria, who responded within hours to initial enquiries about services offered such as airport transfer on arrival, which was arranged by the Riad itself free of charge.

Our stay was completely enjoyable and made even more so by the hospitality shown by all the staff. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riad Mur Akush and would definitely choose it as the place to stay should we visit the lovely city of Marrakech again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Riad Mur Akush for 5 nights in August. We throughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly (Rachid, Leyla and Mohammed) and helped us every way they could, they made us feel comfortable, just like being at home. We travelled to marrakech with 3 other friends who stayed in a 5 star resort in palmarie, when they visiting our riad they were blown away. The location is perfect, virtually in the middle of the old town and new. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Mur Akush for 4 nights and we had a great time. We originally reserved the Suite D’olive (on the ground floor), however due to an error this was not available the night we arrived and they offered us a free upgrade to the Grand Suite Amel. The suite is very big and cozy, there are two separate rooms (bedroom and living room) along with a spacious bathroom with two sinks. Right on top of the suite there is the common terrace where we chilled before dinner and where you have a great view of the Medina.
The riad is very clean and there is a fresh patio where they serve you a generous breakfast and - upon request - dinner. The members of the staff are extremely nice and always ready to give you nice tips and recommendations.
I would definitely recommend the Riad Mur Akush, in particular to couples who want to spend a romantic time together in the wonderful city of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are very nice but facing directly the patio where people have breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I were traveling to Morocco for the first time and we were lucky to find this peaceful Riad located inside the Medina. We received an email from its owner, Maria a few hours after we made our booking. She not only made us feel welcome but sent us important information regarding travel to the riad from the station, options for further travel in Morocco and basically detailed answers to all our questions. The staff there- Rashid, Leyla and Mohammad are very helpful. We stayed in the Olive Room and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Most other guests at the riad were couples or traveling alone or in pairs.

Room Tip: The Olive Room - We couldn't hear the cry for prayer from our room but some other guests said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purvi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife booked Riad Mur Akush for my surprise 50th birthday after my daughter’s recommendation as she had been last year. From the initial airport transfer right through to the return transfer, the service from Rachid and the small friendly team; Layla the cook and Zohra the cleaner, was absolutely faultless and nothing was ever too much trouble. My wife also assures me that secretly organising the whole holiday with Maria the owner who lives in the UK, including the beautifully cooked, traditional tagine birthday dinner for 14 of us including the vegetarians, was a breeze.
With 3 generations of the family and several friends, the accommodation provided enough to keep everyone happy. Sun loungers and a roof terrace for the youngsters, beautiful traditionally finished rooms and bathrooms for us oldies as well as a comfortable lounge area for chilling in the afternoon. There is also plenty of local sight-seeing not too far away, including Jemaa el-Fnaa, the historic square which is home to the world famous Souks; an experience worth waiting for, but don’t get carried away with your haggling, start low!! For the uninitiated, Marrakech is certainly an experience. The people are really friendly and very welcoming and there is good variety of restaurants to suit all budgets and styles. There is an interesting variety of architecture and sights to see, but watch out for the donkeys and the mopeds, its madness.
Note; there are no shops in the Medina (old town) to buy alcohol, so if you are desperate for a beer you have to go to the new town. Try the Acima Supermarket, near Jardin Marjorelle (Yves St Laurent Gardens; also worth a visit), but be warned, alcohol’s not typically cheap like most Moroccan shopping though! If you want a drink in the Medina the bar at Hotel La Maison Arabe, which is down the next lane from the Riad, welcomes non residential guests for a beer or two and their Rachid the barman makes great birthday cocktails.
All in all definitely a 10 out of 10 holiday, so well done and thank you to everyone at Riad Mur Akush and the wife for organising a great holiday.

Room Tip: Book the whole Riad for the week and take you friends and family, definitely VFM. Failing that, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#148 of 501 in Marrakech
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
#433 of 501 in Marrakech
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#248 of 501 in Marrakech
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#457 of 501 in Marrakech
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $88 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing