We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, friendly staff, a gem in the old town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Mur Akush
Ranked #33 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, a gem in the old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We did a lot of researching for our Marrakesh accommodation, and are very glad we chose to stay in a riad in the old town. Mur Akush has an amazing location, down a side street (partly unlit, but we never at any time felt intimidated), just ten minutes from the main square, but an oasis of calm. Rashid on the front desk speaks perfect English and nothing is too much trouble for him - he bought our coach tickets for Essouria for us, booked a hamman and a day trip for us and was always on hand. Breakfast exceptional every morning. Our room, the most expensive in the riad, were gorgeous. We did get woken up on our first morning by the call to prayer at 5am (the riad is opposite a mosque) but after that first time we got used to it. Mohammed, the manager will pick you up from the airport on arrival for free. On the way back however, you can either book a taxi or Mohammed will do it for about a tenner. Maria the owner does not live on the premises, but was very helpful and prompt in all email correspondence we had with her prior to arrival. Very much recommended. Thank you Rachid, Mohammed and Maria for a great holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    59
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
299
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We checked many different reviews on tripadvisor and decided to go for this Riad. We booked the taxi in advance which was a very good choice as the streets in Marrakech are narrow and some places not easy to find. We were greeted with mint tea and sweets and showed to our room. We had breakfast every morning on the roof top overlooking the Medina. Staff was very friendly and helpful and recommended good places. Overall a great hotel I would always get back to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a truly outstanding riad in a fantastic part of Marrakech. Location is ideal. A casual 7-8 minute walk to the main square, easy access to the new town and conveniently situated beside Bab Doukkala mosque. The riad is spacious, bright and boasts the most beautiful courtyard and roof terraces. The rooms were immaculately clean and offered both comfort and authentic Moroccan style. The ideal location and excellent accommodation would have easily been enough to rate this place as excellent, but the reason I've described the Riad Mur Akush as outstanding lies solely with Rashid. From the moment we arrived, Rashid made us feel like it was our home. His warmth and hospitality set the mood for our stay in Morocco. Thanks once again Rashid and sorry for ordering mint tea on the roof terrace every night!! (Best mint tea in town!!!!) Great riad in a great city!!!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked the Suite Olive room, however, given heavy rain the room was a bit water damaged, but we were upgraded to their best room without any extra cost. The room was amazing, great comfy bed, very clean room, nice sofa area and brilliant bathroom with amazing shower. Would highly recommend this place for a stay in Marrakech.

It is about 8-10 minutes walk to the main square (we also to Palace Bahia in 15 minutes), so really easy to get anywhere in the Medina. If you stay here, go and try eating at Maison Arabe (about one minute walk from the Riad) and try the hammam at the end of the alley the riad is on (I think it was called Les Bains des Azahara) which was really really good!!

The roof terrace is also an amazing place to sit and relax in the sun, with great views over the mountains and the medina.

Would completely recommend this place without hesitation.

p.s. the breakfast is enormous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Of the many excellent riads we stayed in Morocco, this one was the best. Had to move rooms after two nights but that just meant we were able to experience two of their beautiful rooms. Great location between the heart of the souks, the square and Gueliz. Best part was the incredible hospitality of Rasheed and Mohammed who were constantly welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heychrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mur Akash is a fantastic riad, with great service in a beautiful building. service delicious breakfasts and dinners in the foyer, or on the roof terrace (with a view over Marrakech), the roof terrace also has basket swings, sun-loungers, and umbrellas. A short walk from the main square Jamaa-al Fna, it's far enough to be quiet in the evenings, but close enough to stroll down to. The staff are excellent, and the rooms are beautifully appointed. I'd fully recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piggotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

An oasis of calm and tranquillity amidst the madness of the medina beyond its walls. Our host, Rasheed did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace and sitting in the lovely courtyard (birdsong included!). We hope to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#72 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Property: Riad Mur Akush
Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing