We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Riad Mazal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Mazal
Ranked #529 of 1,185 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Awesome staff for their service. They were really hospitable and always smiling.
Great location in a quiet area away from the hustle but close to the main attractions. The pool was good to cool down in the hot summer weather.
I would definitely recommend Riad Mazal.
Massage was lovely as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my first time in Marrakech, the Riad is very friendly and warm. The owner was giving al sorts of helpful tips. There is a lady giving massage who is an angel. Great food for breakfast, fresh fuit juices, coffe, tea you name it! They organised a special Maroccan dinner, best food I have had in Marocco ever!!! I highly reccomend this place!

Room Tip: The suite on the lower ground floor is magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Riad Mazal is a superb riad, and we cannot have wished for anywhere better for our first trip to Marrakech. Both the public areas and the individual bedrooms are decorated with exquisite taste; beautiful mosaic tiles, fountains, drapes & luxurious soft furnishings. The ensuites for the two bedrooms we used (Beldi & Luna) were quirky and very Morrocan in styling - with fantastic showers & none of the 'plumbing aromas' that we had experienced in the first riad (from which we arranged a hasty transfer!)
The Italian owner Vito was staying when we first arrived & - along with his small staff team - made us incredibly welcome. This continued even after Vito had left; these staff really understand the meaning of hospitality.
Although booked in on a bed & breakfast rate, we ate in the riad 4 times during our 6 day stay (one lunch & three evening meals) - the tagines were superb.
The only (very slight) downside is that the location of the pool means that it is in shade after approx 2pm; however this is probably of benefit in the summer & we still managed to swim in it in November! There is a roof terrace for serious sunbathing.
Although everyone tells you to stay in the Medina in Marrakech, we disagree! Mazal is located in the French 'Gueliz' area, a gentle 20 min walk from the Medina, £4 by taxi. It was very peaceful, but within easy walking distance of many good restaurants, cafes & patisseries - even a supermarket. These restaurants provided more variety than if you were staying in the Medina, or in one of the luxury hotels out of town.
We were also an easy walk from the beautiful Majorelle Gardens (definitely worth a visit) and from the ubiquitous open-top tourist bus which gave us a good 'overview' of the main sites of Marrakech at the beginning of our stay.
It really is the right balance - near enough to nip in & out of the Medina each day, but far enough away to 'chill' and explore the Gueliz area, which many of the Moroccans actually prefer. Our children (13 & 11) who were somewhat apprehensive about Marrakech, having not previously been outside Europe, were completely won over & much of that was due to the welcome & attention we received at Mazal.
One final tip - if you do go to Mazal, book yourself a massage; we were so de-stressed afterwards that we slept for 2 hours!
In conclusion - don't look any further - book it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beldi suite (see it on their website - it's gorgeous and has access to a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geefamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I can't imagine a better way to experience Marrakech for the first time. The Riad is an exotic, lovely and peaceful villa in which to stay. No comfort or luxury is overlooked. In the morning one is awakened by the sound of prayers being broadcast across the city: "wake up; praying is better than sleeping." At night, the only occasional sound was the muffled bark of a next door dog, rather soothing to an American in an unfamiliar culture. The owners of the Riad have a philosophy--'our satisfaction is your happiness'-and they go out of their way to ensure that no detail is overlooked, from arranging day trips, to making reservations at wonderful restaurants and giving us the best opportunities to experience Marrakech. The staff are gracious and fluent in French, a bit of English and some Italian, as well as Arabic, of course. During our one week stay across the Christmas holiday, we happened to have the Riad to ourselves (family of six). The owners were there as well. Thus, the "hotel" felt more like home--on cold evenings (it can get into the '40s F at night) we sat in front of a blazing fireplace; drank hot mint tea; played Scrabble, and slept in comfortable beds under luxurious sift blankets. The Riad has contemporary bathroom facilities and zoned heating. Everything is kept spotless. Days we ventured out to the Atlas mountains to see a Berber village; visit Assouss Argane to see the shelling of the Argane nut from which a delicious and nourishing oil is made; drive to the seaside town of Essaouira; make our way through the souk and venture into the market to purchase a treasured caftan. Evenings were filled with events--dinner at the So nightclub at the Hotel Sofitel; an evening of spectacle at the Jad Mahal; belly dancing and traditional Moroccan music at the Riad itself accompanied by excellent Moroccan dishes. Throughout our stay the owners arranged for anything we needed or wanted, from a driver who met us at the airport in Casablanca to drive us to Marrakech to guides at each point of visit. There is no doubt in my mind that I will stay at Riad Mazal for my next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Marrakech is a fabulous city to visit and this is a great place to stay. Great location, beautiful rooms with a first class, friendly and personal service. I can not recommend this beautiful Riad highly enough. A special thanks to Mustafa for taking care of my whole family! Thanks Adam B.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

What a fabulous oasis away from the fray of a vibrant, stimulating, exotic but exhausting city. We loved every minute spent in the Riad where we returned at night and were pampered by staff and owners. Tours were arranged with competent guides and when we asked for anything....tea, a quick supper, wood on the fire,a massage, a late night run to the casino, we were accommodated with grace and warmth.We had a few scrumptious Moroccan dinners at the Riad, one complete with belly dancers and a Moroccan ensemble.
We also enjoyed the Jewish, Italian and Moroccan influences. This is one of the most lovely places in which we have ever stayed and we have traveled far and wide. Thank you to the owners, Vito and Grazia Sciunnach and the staff...Moustafa, Jamila and Hanan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a luxurious house in terms of both the physical layout and the service. The Riad contains elaborate ceilings and Moroccan decor. Though the home is up to date, one feel transported back into time.
The staff was gracious and accommodating and it was a great experience overall. We have stayed in many boutique motels and bed and breakfasts largely in the US and Europe and this was our best experience, especially for the value.
Finally, unique to the lodging is the proximity to one of the few functioning synagogues in Marrakesh and the food is delicious and whether or not relevant to your lifestyle, is kosher.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
2,133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#59 of 499 in Marrakech
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mazal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mazal

Address: Gueliz lot 28 Albelk Quartier Semlalia | lot 28 Albelk Quartier Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,185 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Mazal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Mazal is a guest house, located in the heart of Gueliz in Marrakech, not far from the antique and moderns shopping center, the famous Majorelle Garden and 10 minutes from Jamaa el Fna by car. Our Riad offers you hospitality and tranquility, with its garden and swimming pool, the hammam, the spa, the dining rooms and relaxing, also the refinement in its rooms and suites where you find all the charm and the mystery oriental ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Mazal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing