We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Exceptional Value”
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #12 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Exceptional Value”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at Riad Aguerzame for 2 nights while in Marrakech, including our first night in the country. The owners of the Riad, Laurent and Aziz, reached out to us before our stay to arrange transportation and inquire if we wanted to eat dinner at the Riad. We took them up on their offers and I am so glad we did. The airport pickup was seamless and convenient. After over 15 hours of travel the last thing you feel like worrying about is a taxi from the airport. Additionally dinner at the Riad was exceptional (chicken tagine, salad, breads and dessert). While staying at the Riad the entire staff and particularly Aziz provided an exceptional level of service. When we arrived we were totally beat and Aziz took care of getting us bus tickets for our trip to Ourazazate the next day and we were able to relax and enjoy the rest of the afternoon. When we passed through Marrakech again, we stayed at the Riad again and once again received exceptional service. Breakfast was good, it was the typical assortment of fruits, breads and pastries along with coffee, tea and some unbelievably fresh orange juice. We stayed in the same room both nights and it was very nice. The room was clean, quiet and the bathroom was also clean and in full working order. The Riad has a very pleasant rooftop terrace and is actually quite quiet considering how close to the square and hustle and bustle of the medina it is. I’d highly recommend Riad Aguerzame to anyone, it’s a great value!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
465
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC area, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I will start by simply reiterating the rest of the reviews and stating that Aziz's wonderful attitude and service orientation is the core reason that Aguerzame is a wonderful choice for a Marrakech visit. It's location is central and the place is very quiet despite that. A great launching pad for Jemaa Al'Fna and the souks and government market. Also for Atlas mountain tours, and probably those to the coast as well, which Aziz will make sure you get a reasonable price and a good guide for. Highly recommend those trips. The price is reasonable as well, and I would suggest taking the add on for airport transfers and the first meal upon arrival. Their cook is excellent, and any additional meals are likely to be wonderful as well. My mouth waters at the thought of her tagine, definitely the best we experienced in our 3 days. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and would suggest the 2nd floor for a bit of privacy.

A few qualifications to my generally positive view: The location is a positive, but you need to be prepared for the surroundings to be a bit messy as this is the real old city center, not a 5 star resort area. In the end, it was a positive addition, but a bit of an adjustment initially. The rooms are nice, but not super luxurious. The breakfast is great for tea, juice, bread and cake, but no eggs or other hot dishes.

As many have noted, pay no attention to the young boys and men who constantly try to stop you from taking the easy way to the Jemma area with claims of only Muslims allowed due to prayer time or it being closed. Not sure what their scam is, just say "La, shook-run" (No, thank you in Arabic), and keep moving. This is a bit of a theme outside the riad, quite a few price gougers and scam artists, as is often the case across Marrakech and other tourist dependent spots across the world. Try to get Aziz's advice on pricing and good spots, but there is good info on TA regarding the good restaurants and attractions if you take the time to read reviews from regular travelers among the top 30 or so in each category.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for a bit of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrot777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2014

While visiting Marrakesh for the first time in April 2014 we decided to stay in Riad Aguerzame, based on it's great reviews on tripadvisor, and it was a perfect choice.
The riad itself is a beautiful and quiet oasis right in the middle of this bustling city.
We booked the patio room which was a bit cheaper and a little dark, since it was located on the ground floor with the windows facing the inner courtyard, but nonetheless a great, comfy room with the benefits of being able to have breakfast right outside our door.
Aside from the riads cleanliness, it's moroccan charm and welcoming interior, the best part about this riad was Aziz, probably the most friendly host we have ever met. He was always there and able to help us with all upcoming issues or just to have a chat with him.
We'd sure love to come back some day,
Dennis and Johanna

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our stay at Riad Aguerzame was amazing. We stayed there 3 nights after doing a tour of Morocco and wanted to stay in the Marrakech medina. I was so happy I booked us here, especially after our last night of the tour we stayed a a disappointing, vey western, large hotel in the new city of Marrakech. The Riad, in contrast, was our own little paradise! Laurent was very helpful with the booking, and Aziz took great care of us while we were there! Aziz greeted us with a wonderful tour and introduction to Marrakech, which included walking us into the central square. Every single recommendation he provided for lunch/dinner spots was amazing (we tried 1 lunch, 2 dinner, and 1 just for a drink), so be sure to listen to his recs! We also did the dinner in the Riad one night, which made for a nice romantic evening. There were also so many wonderful bonuses to the stay that it really felt personal and relaxing - in addition to the breakfast that was included, water/tea/orange juice were available free of charge anytime and Aziz also did our laundry for no charge. It was a great spot to settle for a few days and not stress. Highly recommended to anyone considering Marrakech.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor (one above ground level) and I liked the extra bit of privacy and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlOnTheRoad4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here in July, which was a hot time, but the Riad is nice and cool and although it does not have a pool you have access to one a couple of minutes away. The free fresh orange juice, beer and water helps to.

the Riad is lovely, and the staff amazing. Aziz was worth his weight in gold with his tips of bartering in the Souks and how much items can actually be bought for. This helped us get items down from 1,200dh to 220dh!

I highly recommend this place, just make sure you speak to Aziz for his local knowledge.

Room Tip: Ask Aziz as many questions as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for 7 nights in the Riad and it was exceptional. There is a reason that this Riad has won awards for the last two years - the level of service offered by the staff, in particular Aziz, is outstanding.

Arriving late on a Monday evening we were greeted by Aziz with a lovely traditional Moroccan meal. He then showed us a map of the area, highlighting the areas to visit and restaurants to try. He also offered us several activities - trips to the Atlas Mountains, hammam massages, camel rides etc but there was no hard sell which was pleasant. After this he gave us a personal tour to the main square to help us get our bearings.

The room was everything you need - not large or well equipped by western hotel standards but why would you need that here?! The bed was comfy and the shower was always hot and powerful. The AC was effective. The courtyard of the riad is a lovely environment to relax in with the complementary orange juice, mint tea or cold water. The terrace was likewise a nice place to sit out in the evening.

Food at the Riad is very good - breakfast is very tasty and the staff are very accommodating as to when you want to get up and eat! We ate dinner here twice - on our first and last night. Both times it was really good; better than some restaurants! The wine served was also nice.

Aziz organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains for us. The guide was very good, despite being ill! We visited a Berber house where we were entertained with bread, olive oil and mint tea. Lunch was then served further along the trek; traditional tagine, vegetables and couscous. For just €50 per person including transport, food etc you really can't go wrong!

On the last day Aziz showed us how to make mint tea Moroccan style as we had acquired a tea pot to take home with us, which was very kind.

Overall we were so pleased we trusted the reviews and came here, if we choose to return to Marrakech we would without a doubt be returning to this Riad. Thank you Aziz!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Thank you Aziz and colleagues, your hospitality and kindness was fantastic. Would definitely recommend Riad Aguerzame. Thank you for a memorable trip to Marrakech Aziz spent time explaining the sites and whereabouts of worthwhile local areas to visit. He organised trips and taxis. We visited the Beldi Country club and quad biked in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains, both amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Riad Aguerzame and the excellent reviews on trip advisor were spot on

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#14 of 499 in Marrakech
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Property: Riad Aguerzame
Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing