We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful riad, wonderful service, wonderful value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #14 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful riad, wonderful service, wonderful value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our first visit to Marrakech. We travelled with our 11 year old daughter. Laurent and Aziz were the most perfect hosts and helped make our visit easy and special. We pre-booked the ride from the airport (strongly recommend you do this). Laurent sat down with us on once we settled in and reviewed a map of Marrakech. He also graciously walked with us to the Jamaa al Fna (main square) so that we could orient ourselves and ensure we would not get lost coming home. Laurent and Aziz made suggestions on places to visit and even restaurants we might enjoy. They can help you with any excursions - we took a camel ride and Aziz lined up everything for us. Leila is an amazing chef!! We ate at a few restaurants but honestly, Leila's cooking was as good as a restaurant. The riad is located close to the restaurant Pepe Nero (recommended by Laurent), in a stunning riad with both Moroccan and Italian menus (we ordered from the Italian menu and found it delicious). Each afternoon, we came home to our friendly riad and were welcomed with Moroccan mint tea and cookies. It was a peaceful, wonderful experience. Our room (on the second floor) was large enough for the 3 of us, and the private bathroom had plenty of hot water. The rooftop terrace was also a wonderful place to relax. If you want to shop, I recommend you walk through the souks for that Marrakech experience. For the most part, however, the best prices are found at the Ensemble Artisanale, where you can see handcrafted local goods sold at reasonable prices (without the need to haggle unless you wish to - all goods have pricetags on them). The riad is walking distance to the Ensemble Artisinale. Laurent and Aziz strive to make your stay enjoyable and stress free. The first morning, they even asked other guests to stay quiet so our daughter could sleep in! They were flexible on when breakfast was served, recognizing that when you are on vacation you don't want to have to wake up at a certain time. Breakfast was tasty and hearty every morning. Everyone was gracious and warm, both to my husband and me as well as our daughter. I strongly recommend the Riad Aguerzame!!

Room Tip: If possible, I recommend an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norcal40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
461
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I just completed a 2.5 week trip on our own through Morocco. The trip began in Marrakech, and since we did not speak Arabic, Berber or French and had never been to Morocco previously, we thought it best to reserve a place for the start of our trip. I picked this riad due to its excellent reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. The riad was beautiful, centrally located and extremely quiet, and you simply could not ask for a better host than Aziz. We spent 3 nights at the riad.

We arrived tired after an almost sleepless night on the plane. We paid extra for someone to meet us at the airport and get us to the riad (definitely worthwhile!). We also paid extra to have a "typical Moroccan meal" prepared for our first night at the riad, and this was delicious.

Aziz probably spent close to an hour going over a map with us, explaining various locations as well as customs and suggestions. He even walked us part-way to the central square showing us landmarks along the way so that we could get around on our own. All his help and guidance was invaluable.

The riad was the quietest place to stay that I experienced in all Morocco, despite the fact that it is so centrally located. That first night we were so exhausted that we slept for 12 hours! Incredible! The room was large, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The included breakfasts were filling and very good.

As we left to continue our Morocco journey, we suspected we might not find another riad or host as nice as the Riad Aguerzame and Aziz. This proved to be true. We had other wonderful experiences in Morocco, but this was truly a highlight. This place and Aziz have my highest recommendations.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms. I think any would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at riad for 4 nights. Aziz and Laurent made us feel so welcome were so friendly and helpful. The riad was perfect. It was clean, modern and close to everything. Roofdeck was beautiful!! Food was delicious. I would highly recommend staying here!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My fiancee and I recently visited Morocco for the first time, and the Riad Aguerzame made our visit to Marrakesh something special. Aziz was a delightful host, giving us an extensive orientation and even taking us for a walk to help get our bearings. He recognized that it takes a little while to get one's bearings in Marrakesh, and gave lots of great advice--not only about what to see and where to eat, but also on how to catch a taxi, how to bargain for good prices in the markets, and so on. The hotel itself is lovely, with a courtyard that stays cool in the heat of the day and plenty of quiet space to recuperate from a busy day out and about. We stayed in two different rooms (because of an overnight Sahara excursion that briefly took us away from Marrakesh), and both were clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated, with air conditioning that was a godsend in the June heat. But the people are what make Aguerzame outstanding. Aziza made us a delicious breakfast with something new every day, and Leila offered us cold water or mint tea whenever we needed it. Along with Aziz, they were all friendly and curious to hear about our day, going out of their way to make sure that everything went smoothly. I can't recommend Aguerzame highly enough, especially to someone visiting for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewkruer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Staying at this Riad was the highlight of our time at Marrakech. The host Aziz was amazing making our experience truly memorable. He was there for all the tips you needed to know as a first timer in Marrakech, telling us where to eat, what to see, as well as sorting out our trips such as camel rides, he even had a women come to me to give me a henna, as well as always helping with cabs. I have been to twenty countries in the last two years and his customer service beats all the rest. If you are contemplating a riad or hotel please pick this Riad. We went to opera plaza hotel for two nights for a pool and were extremely displeased with the service. If we hadn't stayed with Aziz we wouldn't have such a good impression of the city as we do now. It's also in a perfect location, and they serve great food. Aziz isn't an overbearing host either. So even in this quaint riad you have your peace and quiet. If Aziz was smaller I would have packed him up and taken him back with us!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gylleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Awesome place! The riad is very charming, the rooms cosy. If you can choose, opt for one of the upper rooms. Aziz was a wonderful host with good recommendations for sightseeing and dinner. He even walked us to Jema el Fna. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukeskywolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great place to retreat to from the exciting choas of marrakech and the soulks, everything is close by, very easy to get to from the main square. Run by lovely very accommodating hospital people who will go out of their way to help you with anything with out being over baring. Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danial S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#16 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#11 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Property: Riad Aguerzame
Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing