We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #18 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in Riad Aguerzame for a long weekend in January and couldn’t have been happier with our choice. Aziz welcomed us with mint tea and nibbles and gave us some valuable info on Marrekech; what to expect, places to go, food recommendations etc then he walk us to the square to help us get our bearings. Every time we came back to the Riad, Aziz or one of his team was there to greet us with a drink and showed genuine interested in where we had been and what we had bought. Breakfast was lovely and during some rainy weather, Aziz was more than happy for us and other guest to remain chatting around the breakfast table drinking coffee until lunchtime when the rain finally stopped. Our room was on the ground floor – it’s the cheapest of the 4 rooms because of a lack of privacy, but we were aware of this and it didn’t bother us or pose a problem (if you are looking for a ‘romantic’ time, the ground floor room probably would not be recommended!). The Riad is well situated for all the attractions and restaurants, and Aziz was happy to make dinner reservations and book taxi’s – in fact, nothing was too much trouble. Dinner in the Riad was first class, and we also had dinner in PepeNero which is just around the corner which was highly recommended and for good reason!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joolzBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 903 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent a couple of nights there during the second week of January.
The riad is nicely located, about 5 minutes walk from Jameea al fina
but in a relatively quiet side street so that it is rather quiet at night.
The room (in the upper level) was very nice, spacious, comfortable bed, nicely decorated. Everything said in the other reviews about the staff (in our case, Laurent was there during our visit) is true - he put us in contact with a good travel agency (noble tour), showed us around the city, gave us tips on the city and driving in Morocco, etc.

We arranged for transport to the Riad with them - if this is your first time to Marrakesh, do it, it is well worth the 20 Euros. The way back was with a petit taxi that Laurent also arranged, much cheaper but less reliable (as Laurent predicted...).

Room Tip: Upper level seems nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Can't recommend this highly enough. We stayed here for a long week to celebrate my partner's birthday and we were very well looked after. The Riad is lovely - an authentic Moroccan experience which is exactly what we were after, not a colourless corporate hotel. Laurent and Aziz looked after us really well, from meeting us at the airport, taking the time to help us get our bearings and advising on the best places to see. Nothing was too much trouble. Plus the endless cups of tea, wonderful food and the surprise birthday cake they prepared.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silk_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The level of service and care provided by Laurent, Aziz, and the rest of the staff if out of the ordinary. Completely off the charts. Certainly I have never seen anything like it. Genuine, always with a smile, and with a healthy dose of humor.

It all starts when you arrive. You are given an “orientation course” to Marrakech, then you are accompanied out to Medina. Aziz points out orientation landmarks so that you can easily find your way back. Whenever you come back, Aziz or Laurent (or both) are always there, offer you a nice cup of mint tea, inquire about your day, give you advice and suggestions…

Frankly, the phrase “Consider this to be your home” is overused in hotel industry and often means nothing, but here, here it really means what it says. You feel like in your own home.

The Riad is relatively small (only 4 rooms). It is clean and has a beautiful patio. The rooms are spacious, and there is enough space for the luggage and clothes. The bathroom has everything you need, and it is comfortable. There is an electric heater in the room, and a gas one in the patio, but they are rarely needed (I visited in January). There is WiFi in the patio, with internet connection fast enough for Skype.

It is very quite and peaceful at the Riad. Only the loudest of motorcycles can occasionally be heard in the distance, or only if someone is shouting loud right outside the front door. One nice touch which I haven’t seen mentioned before: They have a very good quality music system in the patio, playing a selection of local, French and international music. It adds nicely to the atmosphere.

I was travelling alone, and was fortunate enough to meet a very nice British couple at the Riad. We had the dinner together there on the first night, and ended up doing some activities together in the following days.

I can recommend dining at the Riad at least once. We had a very good chicken Tajine with excellent Moroccan wine. Huge portions – couldn’t finish it all. A person from our group had his birthday coming up – they learned about this and baked a special birthday cake for him.

I asked for a recommendation of an activity outside Marrakech (let’s face it: The city is quite intense and after 2 days you need a break), and Aziz suggested a walking tour of Berber villages near Amizmiz. I was afraid it would be too touristy and staged, but it was just the opposite! We were invited to the house of a Berber family for tea, saw how they make olive oil using traditional methods, visited a market, a bakery, and so much more! The tour included a lunch in the open air. Tajine with meatballs – excellent.

In short, I had a very good time in Marrakech, and it’s largely thanks to the Riad. I can totally recommend it.

Room Tip: I have a slight preference for the rooms upstairs. Especially the one nearest the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K1000B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

From the first moment of contact with Laurent and Aziz to the moment we left Riad Aguerzame, we felt welcome. Every little detail was tended to. as Laurent explained to us when we arrived, this is not a hotel. It's a guesthouse. and the two were the perfect hosts. We were given recommendations for restaurants, excursions and sites that all paid off. We were given a short "history" lesson that allowed us to walk around the city with a context, and not just wander around. all was done with a smile, a wink and good intentions. Plus, the location is perfect! We would highly recommend anyone coming to Marrakech to book the Riad.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, but they all face the courtyard and the beautiful Orange trees gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ido1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It is the best Riad we've been, it is very clean, quiet, good decorated.
The rooms are enough big and very comfortable.
The best of the Riad is the service, Aziz explained us everything we had to know about the city, also how to deal with the prices! He gave us a map and other information about the places to visit.
The food was also excellent, we thought it was quite expensive but we took it for the first night because we were arriving late, but it then we thought it is worth it! It was delicious! And we decided to have dinner there another day as well.
Breakfast was also very good, quantitative and qualitative.
We will recommend it to all our friends if they visit Marrakesh for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angels V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Aziz and his staff took excellent care of us from the moment we arrived (Laurent, the owner was on holidays). Aziz gave us a great introduction to Marrakech - What to see, in dialogue with us, and how to get there. This personal attention to us and the other guests was typical for our stay.
Another example is how he suggested restaurants and made reservations for us.
We really felt like valued guests.
This is a very nice place to stay that is very close to Jemaa el Fna. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $54 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Aguerzame 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing