We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No better place to stay in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #12 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No better place to stay in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Riad Aguerzame is an amazing hotel in Marrakesh, close to all of the main attractions within the Medina. But what really makes staying at this hotel a truly wonderful experience are the people - starting with Laurent who was more than happy to provide us with advice and guidance whilst we were planning our trip; to Aziz who could not do enough to help doing our stay including, on our first proper day in Marrakesh, providing us with many suggestions on places to go, what to see, where to eat, what to pay at the souks, taxis etc (very useful) and even walking with us to the Jemaa el Fna square to make sure we knew where to go etc; and Aziza and Layla who were always on hand to help - and provide a welcome glass of cold water at the end of a hot day! The rooms at the Riad were lovely (we had two of the upstairs rooms) each with their own distinctive character and decorations, and the courtyard itself, with its two orange trees, provided a restful place to return to after the hustle and bustle, and heat, of a day spent wandering around Marrakesh. If you are looking for somewhere to stay whilst in Marrakesh then your search is over - I cannot recommend Riad Aguerzame enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
155
450
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a truly wonderful and memorable stay at Riad Aguerzame. Even before we booked our flights Laurent was happy to offer advice and suggestions on a range of subjects and the personal and attentive service continued once we actually arrived. We had requested dinner at the Riad our first night and despite arriving 3 hours later than planned Aziza stayed late to serve a delicious meal; Aziz gave a thorough "orientation" - giving us a number of suggestions for dinner, advice on the best way to get around to different places and walking us to the main square so we wouldn't get lost! He even gave us tips on the prices we should expect to pay in the souks and for taxi's (roughly half the initial asking price!). Nothing was too much trouble, even an impromptu dinner at the Riad the second night when an unexpected thunderstorm prevented our initial dinner plans! The service the entire holiday was without fault.

The Riad itself is perfectly placed for exploring the souks, Jemaa el Fna square and a number of other attractions and at the same time remains a calm and peaceful oasis to balance the controlled chaos of the streets of Marrakesh. The rooms are a good size and like the rest of the Riad have a wealth of original features and decorations. It was a wonderful place to return to after a long day shopping or sightseeing and relax for a few hours before heading out for the evening.

I thoroughly enjoyed Marrakesh and would love to return, and now that I have been spoilt by the wonderful service at Riad Aguerzame I think it would be very hard to find another place in the city that can compare - in fact I don't think I'd even try as I would be happy to stay with Laurent, Aziz, Aziza and Layla again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an amazing time at Riad Aguerzame. Aziz and Aziza were the perfect hosts with customer service second to none, they were very kind and personable to us. On arrival we were attended to with a lot of care, with detailed directions and instructions. Aziz walked us up to the main square to ensure we didn't get lost, nothing was too much trouble, with every need anticipated. We were unsure how to book tickets by train from Marrakesh to Fez, Aziz personally took it upon himself to go travel to the train station, line up and get tickets for us, while we were out sight seeing. This is not service you will get from a hotel.

The Riad is located deep in the old city and it was really just such an authentic experience being here. The rooms are beautifully Moroccan and the bathroom shower is awesome.

10 minutes easy walk from the main square and souk.

This is the only place to stay in Merrakesh! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-IdeaBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Riad Aguerzame. It was just my mother and I traveling, and as two women, we were a bit nervous about getting around Marrakech. Aziz took us out to the main square our first night so we would know the way and made sure we were comfortable walking around the area. The meal the first night was delicious, though we were served way too much food for just the 2 of us to finish! Together, Aziz and Laurent helped plan our day-trip to Ourika, a camel ride, and made dinner reservations for us the remaining two nights. They were more than willing to help with everything we needed. Aziz even came to retrieve us from a restaurant in an unfamiliar part of the town one night. They were very gracious and helpful hosts and I would recommend staying here to anyone who wants a stress-free trip to Marrakech!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I would like to thank Laurent and Aziz for their wonderful reception, help and generous hospitality during our stay in Marrakech. The Riad itself is beautiful and felt like a wonderful haven of tranquillity from the hustle and bustle of the City outside. On arrival, we were offered a welcome drink in the beautiful courtyard and Laurent gave us a very helpful explanation and guide to the City with lots of useful advice on what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank same t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This traditional riad is ideally located about 10 minutes easy walk from the main square and souk. A very quiet position with a lovely central courtyard and roof deck for the evening breeze and a glass of Moroccan wine. Laurant and Azziz are perfect hosts and although we stayed four nights we could easily have stayed for longer. We had booked a triple room but on our arrival were given another room for our daughter, she of course was thrilled as were we as in the heat it was lovely to be able to spread out in the air conditioned room on a comfortable large bed. Our room was long but narrow so one had to squeeze a little to walk by the bed this was my only negative comment. Bathroom had a great large shower with shower products and towels changed daily. Breakfast was continental with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, preserves. Assorted cakes or croissants and breads (which I suspect came out of packets) which was adequate but not exciting. This is a very pleasant riad with friendly staff, good rooms and peaceful position we definitely loved our stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family rented the entire Riad for 3 days. Hence, not only could we benefit from the much applauded services of the hosts, Laurent, Aziz, Aziza and Leila (best Moroccan cook ever), but also enjoyed the tranquility of the place. There are many good Riads in Marrakech, but this one goes the extra mile to serve customers every day. Also, it is located more centrally than others... and very clean and tidy. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BernhardZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#16 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Property: Riad Aguerzame
Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing