We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a truly wonderful and memorable stay at Riad Aguerzame. Even before we booked our flights Laurent was happy to offer advice and suggestions on a range of subjects and the personal and attentive service continued once we actually arrived. We had requested dinner at the Riad our first night and despite arriving 3 hours later than planned Aziza stayed late to serve a delicious meal; Aziz gave a thorough "orientation" - giving us a number of suggestions for dinner, advice on the best way to get around to different places and walking us to the main square so we wouldn't get lost! He even gave us tips on the prices we should expect to pay in the souks and for taxi's (roughly half the initial asking price!). Nothing was too much trouble, even an impromptu dinner at the Riad the second night when an unexpected thunderstorm prevented our initial dinner plans! The service the entire holiday was without fault.

The Riad itself is perfectly placed for exploring the souks, Jemaa el Fna square and a number of other attractions and at the same time remains a calm and peaceful oasis to balance the controlled chaos of the streets of Marrakesh. The rooms are a good size and like the rest of the Riad have a wealth of original features and decorations. It was a wonderful place to return to after a long day shopping or sightseeing and relax for a few hours before heading out for the evening.

I thoroughly enjoyed Marrakesh and would love to return, and now that I have been spoilt by the wonderful service at Riad Aguerzame I think it would be very hard to find another place in the city that can compare - in fact I don't think I'd even try as I would be happy to stay with Laurent, Aziz, Aziza and Layla again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    43
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
151
434
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an amazing time at Riad Aguerzame. Aziz and Aziza were the perfect hosts with customer service second to none, they were very kind and personable to us. On arrival we were attended to with a lot of care, with detailed directions and instructions. Aziz walked us up to the main square to ensure we didn't get lost, nothing was too much trouble, with every need anticipated. We were unsure how to book tickets by train from Marrakesh to Fez, Aziz personally took it upon himself to go travel to the train station, line up and get tickets for us, while we were out sight seeing. This is not service you will get from a hotel.

The Riad is located deep in the old city and it was really just such an authentic experience being here. The rooms are beautifully Moroccan and the bathroom shower is awesome.

10 minutes easy walk from the main square and souk.

This is the only place to stay in Merrakesh! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-IdeaBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Riad Aguerzame. It was just my mother and I traveling, and as two women, we were a bit nervous about getting around Marrakech. Aziz took us out to the main square our first night so we would know the way and made sure we were comfortable walking around the area. The meal the first night was delicious, though we were served way too much food for just the 2 of us to finish! Together, Aziz and Laurent helped plan our day-trip to Ourika, a camel ride, and made dinner reservations for us the remaining two nights. They were more than willing to help with everything we needed. Aziz even came to retrieve us from a restaurant in an unfamiliar part of the town one night. They were very gracious and helpful hosts and I would recommend staying here to anyone who wants a stress-free trip to Marrakech!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I would like to thank Laurent and Aziz for their wonderful reception, help and generous hospitality during our stay in Marrakech. The Riad itself is beautiful and felt like a wonderful haven of tranquillity from the hustle and bustle of the City outside. On arrival, we were offered a welcome drink in the beautiful courtyard and Laurent gave us a very helpful explanation and guide to the City with lots of useful advice on what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank same t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This traditional riad is ideally located about 10 minutes easy walk from the main square and souk. A very quiet position with a lovely central courtyard and roof deck for the evening breeze and a glass of Moroccan wine. Laurant and Azziz are perfect hosts and although we stayed four nights we could easily have stayed for longer. We had booked a triple room but on our arrival were given another room for our daughter, she of course was thrilled as were we as in the heat it was lovely to be able to spread out in the air conditioned room on a comfortable large bed. Our room was long but narrow so one had to squeeze a little to walk by the bed this was my only negative comment. Bathroom had a great large shower with shower products and towels changed daily. Breakfast was continental with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, preserves. Assorted cakes or croissants and breads (which I suspect came out of packets) which was adequate but not exciting. This is a very pleasant riad with friendly staff, good rooms and peaceful position we definitely loved our stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family rented the entire Riad for 3 days. Hence, not only could we benefit from the much applauded services of the hosts, Laurent, Aziz, Aziza and Leila (best Moroccan cook ever), but also enjoyed the tranquility of the place. There are many good Riads in Marrakech, but this one goes the extra mile to serve customers every day. Also, it is located more centrally than others... and very clean and tidy. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BernhardZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Thanks to the numerous positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a 6 night stay in Riad Aguerzame. It was a family reunion for us, as we met in Marrakech for the Rallye du Maroc Historique's Finish Line on 5/18/13. We had a total of 10 family members at one point and we pretty much "owned" the Riad for 4 nights. The rooms were cozy, clean and comfortable. Service was impeccable. We were warmly greeted by Serge, Stephane and Aziz, a trio that made our stay memorable and very enjoyable.

Aziz was truly an amazing "Concierge" - very knowledgeable, pleasant and handsome young man whose main concern is the comfort and the well being of the Riad's guests. He went out of his way to provide the best service ever, from preparing and serving our first glass of mint tea, reconfirming our tour reservations, mailing our postcards, lighting up our shisha and even packing our precious Moroccan plates & bowls in bubble wrap! He was warm, friendly and extremely helpful. And even shared with me the step by step process of making that delicious Mint Tea! He is truly an asset for Riad Aguerzame!

On the recommendation of the other TA reviewers, we booked a Dinner at the Riad. The Sardine Tagine was outstanding! We had a salad of tomatoes, potatoes and green peppers and a delicious cassata cake for dessert. We chose a good Morrocan White Wine to compliment our Dinner Entree. Leila truly is a great chef and Aziza completes the staff - a quiet, gentle wonderful woman who was there to make everything spotless each day.

The Riad arranged for our airport transfers as well as our car service to a dinner function in the Bab Atlas Area - very efficient and reliable. Aziz made it all happen!

Just as written in all the reviews, we were given a brief introduction to the area and was accompanied to our first walk to the square. It was very helpful and landmarks were given to make sure we get back "home." There were 2 restaurants that we frequented very close to the Riad - Un Dejeuner a Marrakech & La Porte du Monde. These were across from each other.

Although I give real high marks for this Riad Experience, there are a few set backs, such as really slow drain in the shower area in all bathrooms. A pool of water collects as you shower and takes a while before it subsides. Beds are comfortable but on the firm side, and a few more pillows would be ideal. Breakfast was good with fresh fruits, assorted cakes and pastries, but after 6 days of pretty much the same thing, I was ready for my scrambled eggs/omelets, sausage, hash browns and cereal.

On a positive note - I asked if there were safety deposit boxes in the rooms or the office and I was surprised when the answer was "NO" Both Serge and Stephane assured me that the Riad was very safe and that doors did not need any locks....very different from hotels in the US, Europe and Asia - but indeed it was SAFE! Yes this is MY HOME in Marrakech and I would not hesitate to invite others to make it their home as well.

Thank you Riad Aguerzame for making our stay an Experience to Remember. My only regret is not having the chance to meet Laurent - maybe next time?

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Property: Riad Aguerzame
Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing