We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointment all around” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mont Gueliz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Ranked #434 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment all around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Disappointing; not worth 3 Stars. We would not return, as room was spartan, electricity popped off during the night, restaurant was never open (including breakfast which was part of our accommodation). Worst was service: surly, unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mummblingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    22
    10
    17
See reviews for
15
27
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel Mont Gueliz turned out to be a really nice hotel with fantastic staff at the reception who made everything they could to helt with information about Marrakech, ticket by Supratours (information not booking) and how things worked with everything from taxi to "Jump on jump off" tourist tours. The Jump on... Bus station just 4 minutes walk from the hotel.

The hotel is located in Gueliz wich yurned out to be a good place to stay in. Close to the old parts of the city and without the extrem noise surroundings i remembered from my last stay in Marrakech. Close to the hotel are also the new parts of Marrakech with good shopping, cafés and restaurants. Over all i was satisfied with my stay here.

But the breakfast was a joke, so eat out instead. When i say it´s a joke i mean the what you could pick from the buffet. Coffee, tea, juice of course but exept that only bread of baugette type. For me it was enough or if you just stay a night on a business trip it´s ok, but day after day on a longer vacation... no.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is brilliant and the staff are incredibly welcoming...One morning we were late for breakfast by 40 minutes and we asked for just tea and they brought us BREAKFAST!

The hotel is well located for site seeing and taxis are very very cheap.
It is very clean and hot water and air con is available all the time.

It is a very quiet hotel and yet you step into the chaos and excitement that is Marrakech! We spent almost a week here because it was so good. My wife and two boys, both teenagers also liked the hotel and area.

Thank you to Saida and Nadia and all the others who made sure we looked after like family.
Can you tell we are going again?.....

Room Tip: Like all countries building is always going on..If you dont like your room politely ask for a change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bharatsandhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The night shift front desk staff cut off the light and A/C while I was using the sole Wi-Fi connection in the lobby.

I had a project due that morning so I was working from probably 11 pm until 5 am.
I left the lobby to stretch my legs and to get a look at the nighttime activities outside the hotel. When I came back in, the lobby was in semi-darkness and the A/C turned off. When I asked, in my best-summoned French, to have both turned on again, I was told it was hotel policy to turn them both off at that time of morning (about 2 am).
So, for the next three hours or so, I worked by the only light on, over the lobby desk, and in hot, stagnant air, I’d guess about 80 Degrees Fahrenheit.

SMH. Poor guest service.

Room Tip: I guess due to energy conservation, lights are often OFF in the corridors so don't be surprised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToTravelYESToFlyAAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Overall a nice little hotel. The hotel staff werent amazingly friendly but a bonjour here and there was returned with a smile. One of the young ladies on reception spoke good english and was very helpful. The others I think perhaps didnt speak much english so were scared to talk too much. The room was cleaned everyday and was comfortable. Aircon and safe in each room (extra money for safe). There was building work nxt door but most of marrakech is under construction so didnt bother us. The swimming pool was small but we had it to ourselves so enjoyed it. We also had a room at the front but there was a double patio door so didnt find it noisy. Finally location....Its right near a supermarket and a half hour walk right into gueliz or to the train station. We also tended to walk to the souks and square in the evening as its just a straight road however this took up to an hour dependant on the heat and our sore legs. Its probably advisable to get one of the petit taxis if you arent a good walker. Alcohol isnt served in the hotel but available in the supermarket. We didnt try the restaurant but the tea and coffee was nice! Oh and we were charged a tax of 11 dirhams per person per night upon arrival which we werent prepared for but this amounted to about 6 pound for the week so we did pay (cant help thinking it wasnt a tax but a tip but we just didnt give them a tip when we left)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mossfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very basic hotel for £11 a night you can't go wrong.
room was big also clean.
The receptionist (male) was a bit rude and didn't really want to help.
The small pool was wicked.
Not close to the medina took us 40mins to walk by taxi you'll get ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Me and my husband went for a 5 night holiday and booked this hotel reading the reviews before going we didn't know what to expect. But when we got there we were given a choice of rooms we obviously chose the back room and was quite spacious and very clean. We only had one problem with the bathroom there was a leak but that got sorted out quickly for us. Cause we had the back room it wasn't noisy. If you like busy areas and seeing all most of the city I think new town of marrakech is a nice place to stay cause my family went same time as us to Marrakech and were staying in the old town and did not feel safe to go out late whereas in the Gueliz area it is easy to get out and about late night without anyone harassing you. There's plenty of restaurants near by, Bombay restaurant that's 5 mins away is definitely worth trying. Breakfast time is good they have a variety of food catering for all. To restaurants and take away are walking distant, but if you need to get to Jema El Fna, all other site seeing areas you'll need a taxi roughly costing us £4-5 for a 15 minute ride. At first taxis put their prices sky high you need to haggle with them also it is best to get a small taxi rather then the bigger ones. Overall me and my husband had a lovely stay at this hotel and would stay again, the rooms were cleaned everyday also were given fresh towels. I would recommend anyone who is planning on staying at this hotel to bring their own travel iron cause the one they provide is pretty useless just leaks.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_Hasan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#369 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#387 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#447 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#461 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#400 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#417 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Gueliz

Property: Hotel Mont Gueliz
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Gueliz, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #434 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mont Gueliz 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mont Gueliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Gueliz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing