We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alfarah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Alfarah
Ranked #259 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Riad was very clean and we had a room by the pool as we'd requested, which was very clean and spacious. Lovely freshly made yogurt and honey breakfasts with fresh fruits, coffee and pancakes! Staff very helpful and friendly - bringing us drinks up on the terrace in the afternoon! The hostesses were very helpful, arranging our transfers and dinner on arrival, which was delicious. Hamza arranged our trip to the mountains which was brilliant, he is incredibly helpful too! Would definitely recommend this Riad for all these reasons and for its location - ten minutes from Jemaa El Fna square.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are situated around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    69
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
84
165
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were a party of four staying overnight on a brief trip to the city. Arriving at the Riad at night was amazing. The lighting and the decoration was like stepping into heaven after the madness of the city outside - it was so relaxing and easy, just what we wanted. A lot of care has been taken with detail and the overall effect was beautiful. We were looked after well by the night manager and the staff generally were very welcoming and accommodating of our needs. The hostess was very helpful with her invaluable local knowledge for the shopping trip we wanted to do. After our stay they were again very obliging by looking after my luggage for me when I was stuck in Marrakech for an afternoon on my way home with no left luggage available anywhere else. I was so grateful for that as I wouldn't have been able to do much at all otherwise with a big suitcase in tow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barkingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This Riad was very clean and we had a very spacious room. I thought it was very good value and with older children they liked the pool area for wifi and swimming although, it was a bit cold they still went in. We felt safe here and the location is good. The breakfast was good. We used the hotel's taxi service from the airport. Also the Riad arranged our camel rides which was without hitches.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank texasplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Did have an alright stay at the Riad Dar Alfarah, however we did not feel particularly welcome, because of the hostess there. We had some problems checking in, and they were very rude to us, and while we spoke English to them, they replied in English and then spoke with each other in French (which I am fluent in) and said some not-so-nice things about us. Pretty akward for them, when I replied in French.
Yet, the reason why this gets 4 stars is not because of the hotel itself, but solely because of Hamza. What an asset he is for the hotel. He is everywhere, extremely polite, and he helped us with absolutely everything that we needed. Such a genuinely good guy, without whom the hotel would get a max of two stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

A lovely old riad in the traditional style. Basic but very clean with excellent and friendly staff, especially Florence and the breakfast staff. Breakfasts were excellent and mint tea sans sucre is drinkable. At this time of year it was too chilly to use the roof terrace but it must be nice retreat in summer. The riad is in a good location and is reasonably priced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank talkingpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A very nice Riad indeed in Marrakech, not too expensive yetn well located (not too far away from everything you want to do or see), very good and efficient service, nice rooms and a very, very good breakfast make this hotel a great place to stay...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arleyriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed at this Riad for seven nights with my husband and two teenage children. We requested connecting rooms and were given a wonderful space – three rooms off a central corridor separated by curtains, a bathroom and a private terrace. There were two double beds and one single. The single was too short for my daughter so she repaired to the sofas in the communal seating area and set up bed there.
The apartment was perfect for our needs. We each had privacy but were together and there was plenty of space to be together or alone. We had a few issues with the lighting – too few lamps – but these were resolved swiftly by the night manager. The rooms were clean and well-kept no creepy crawlies but two adorable kittens who kept us entertained. Wi-Fi was difficult – although the Riad has it was only accessible in the communal areas. This gave us the opportunity to pet the very friendly kittens though whilst checking emails!
Florence – who met us from our car and was at the Riad in the daytime – was lovely. Friendly, helpful, with a gentle sense of humour. She gave us lots of advice and help and kindly accepted a mix of currency and credit card for the final payment at the end of the stay. As we were leaving she collared me to give me cash back as she found that the evening manager had unwittingly overcharged me.
We had breakfast at the Riad twice and at four euros each it was good value. All in all the Riad was excellent value. We could walk to the main square in 10 minutes and explore the new town just as quickly. An excellent place I would highly recommend.
We took a tour to the Atlas Mountains and the edge of the Sahara – riding camels and staying a night in Berber tents. This was all arranged via the Riad by a chap called Hicham. I found prices to be the same as those I had seen online in the UK and we enjoyed a private car and our own driver who was happy to stop wherever we wanted and kindly took us around a Berber market we would never have seen otherwise.

Room Tip: If a family go for 9b - this was excellent for our familty. Spacious with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Nesma
Riad Nesma
#134 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Assouel
Riad Assouel
#135 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#109 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Anabel
Riad Anabel
#17 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#11 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Houma
Riad Houma
#62 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Alfarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alfarah

Property: Riad Dar Alfarah
Address: 58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alfarah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the historical sites of Marrakech formed by the El Badi Palace, Bahia, the Saadian Tombs and the Royal Palace, 5 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square, Riad Dar Alfarah is one of the more user-friendly guesthouses of the medina. To accommodate your dreams 10 rooms and (2 to 5 pers) combine Moroccan spirit and tradition. A large patio with a pool where upon arrival, Coralie, Stephan or Hamza will welcome you personally around a mint tea and traditional pastries. They will be available to answer your questions and help you discover Marrakech. The rooftop terrace has been converted to the comfort of our guests and their tranquility where you will be served a delicious cooking with colors Mediterranean and Moroccan. Breakfast riad is both continental and moroccan, through its various pancakes and fresh fruit juice, by its home made buns and breads, and seasonal fruit jams and by its surprises with milk or fresh fruits, made by Hafssa our cook. It is served on the patio around the pool, in our restaurant or on our rooftop terrace. The menu is an invitation to discover Moroccan cuisine but also international dishes revisited by Hafssa, plus "food allergies" special menus or "children" menu! For more choices, lunches and dinners are booking through our team as soon as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Dar Alfarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing