We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alfarah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Alfarah to your Saves list
Riad Dar Alfarah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This Riad is very pretty, and the area is very good- close enough (10 minutes walk) to El Fna, and still in a quiet area. Hamza, the boy working there, made all the difference, speaking english and being VERY polite, helping us every day to the maximum.

But... there were some bad points to this Riad- first of all, noise in the morning from the street and from the pool. Second, breakfast was not included and frankly not so impressing- we could not even order eggs or cheese, if you don't eat jam or honey, there are not so many alternatives. Last but not least, we were used to a much more friendly approach in the other Riads we stayed in. The ladies infront were not impolite, just... indifferent. Average impression overall

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, too much noise
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    68
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
82
158
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent over 5 nights in this outstandig Riad. It is located in the Marrakechs' Kasbah close to the common square Jemaa Al Fna.
Hamza - member of the staff - is a very kind and friendly guy with the costumers - he knows how to do his job! He gave us lots of tips to see the city in an autentical point of view! Also the typical marrocan food from the restaurant of the Riad is really good! You've to try!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PezAlessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is one of the best holiday accommodations I have ever stayed in, me and my girlfriend stayed here in the height of the moroccan summer and was perfect for us. The riad is located about a five minute walk from the main square which is bursting with amazing culture 24/7.

The room we had was air conditioned (at no extra cost) and was very beautifully furnished and decorated. The riads roof terrace has several sun loungers so that you can relax away from the busyness of marrakech itself and as we went during mid 30 - 45 degree heat, the pool was a perfect way to cool down. With only around ten rooms the riad is very peaceful and I feel is perfect for couples or small families.

The staff are amazing, run by two french ladies who are unbelievably friendly and welcoming. Offering an amazing breakfast at 4 euros per person served by the night staff who work hard till 11am to keep the place clean and tidy during the night. Hamza and Aziz were two people who we really got to know during our two weeks there, they were very friendly and extremely helpful with informing us on the culture of morocco and great places to go in marrakech and the Atlas mountains.

The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and shower supplies provided, the women that cleaned our room were lovely and never intruded until you were out of your room.

Overall i would recommend anyone who is considering a visit to marrakech to stay here, value for money is understated as I feel it is a steal, go and enjoy morocco and marrakech, it is amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence P, Responsable commercial at Riad Dar Alfarah, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Ben,

Thank you very much for posting a comment so detailed that I'm sure will be of great use to readers of the site.

Your kind words about our employees affect us deeply. Encouragement in this way are the key vectors of our hospitality. Your satisfaction is the best reward you can give to the whole team.

I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back with your girlfriend.

Again thank you.

Kind regards.

Florence and all the team of Dar Alfarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two weeks, yes I know quite a long time for Marrakech but with our busy normal lifestyles we wanted some time to get away and relax with no worries. This is the perfect place to do that! It is the perfect location, not to far but also not to close to the square, the noise can get rather over whelming but this is totally relaxing and peaceful and quiet. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful and the ladies who cleaned our rooms did a wonderful job. The room we had, had a massive shower and was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was lovely, and Hamza worked extremely hard to make sure everyone was happy. His english is very good. The swimming pool is fab and there is just the right amount of rooms for it not to be over crowded.

Overall I would definitely recommend this Riad and it is great for short or long stays. Thank you so much to all the team

My only tiny complaint would be the pillows! But that is just me being fussy.

Room Tip: if you are staying for a bit longer than the norm then ask for room number 2, it is just that little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahranken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence P, Responsable commercial at Riad Dar Alfarah, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Hannah,
I thank you for your kind comment. Everybody have been very sensitive to it. We make so that you felt at home.
If the sun shone on Marrakesh during the 2 weeks you spent with us, know that you were our sunbeam with your smile and your kindness.
Next time do not hesitate to tell us what is wrong with the pillows! This is not being fussy.
I thank you again and see you soon !
Kind regards.
Florence and all the team of Dar Alfarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in El Medina and has a nice decoration. Breakfast is delicious. Unfortunately the owner who stays in the reception only speak French... The staff is very helpful, especially Hamza. He will make you feel as comfortable as possible. My only complaints are about the cleaning ladies turning off the AC every day after cleaning the bedrooms and there are some cockroaches around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osvanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Riad is very well located and the hotel is beautiful. Unfortunately, most of the staff does not speak English, so brush up on your French! Especially the french older lady. She does not speak a WORD of English. However, one of the workers (Hamza) was very nice and could speak some English. With his help, we were able to organize several activities and get to the airport.

Despite the beautiful appearance, and great location there were some problems.
The Riad's internet only works near the pool, not in the bedrooms, despite what it may say online. The worst part, however, is the cockroaches. I have visited an African country before, so I expected some cockroaches, but not like this. We found a dead cockroach in our washroom, and although the room was "cleaned" daily, the cockroach was there for the remainder of our trip (about three days). The last night of our stay we found 6 cockroaches in our room running around. This was obviously very unpleasant!

If the bug problem was resolved I would recommend this to friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkat1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The riad is well-located, beautiful, and in a quiet neighborhood. We took advantage of the airport transfer, so our driver had no problem finding the riad, and for 20 euros it was definitely worth it. Our room and bathroom were beautiful and spacious (we had a triple) but the air conditioning wasn't quite equipped for the 50+ degree August temperatures. In a hot country, some cockroaches are inevitable, but during our last night our room was basically invaded. We killed six quite large cockroaches, and, while our bathroom was re-stocked with clean towels every day and our beds were made, I'm not sure how well the room was cleaned--one sizeable (dead) cockroach by the bathroom door was left throughout the entirety of our stay. Wifi only works by the pool/front door (not in the bedrooms), but this was only a minor inconvenience. The breakfasts were delicious and the food was abundant.

Staff are very friendly and welcoming--the owner of the riad is nice but she doesn't speak any English, so we had trouble communicating with her. However, Hamza, who is around in the mornings and after about 4 p.m., speaks fluent English and was always willing to book excursions and taxis, provide directions, and even offered us some Arabic lessons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stircrazy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#110 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Assouel
Riad Assouel
#125 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#106 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#9 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#44 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Alfarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alfarah

Property: Riad Dar Alfarah
Address: 58, derb Touareg | Ksibat N'Hass, Kasbah - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alfarah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the historical sites of Marrakech formed by the El Badi Palace, Bahia, the Saadian Tombs and the Royal Palace, 5 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square, Riad Dar Alfarah is one of the more user-friendly guesthouses of the medina. To accommodate your dreams 10 rooms and (2 to 5 pers) combine Moroccan spirit and tradition. A large patio with a pool where upon arrival, Coralie, Stephan or Hamza will welcome you personally around a mint tea and traditional pastries. They will be available to answer your questions and help you discover Marrakech. The rooftop terrace has been converted to the comfort of our guests and their tranquility where you will be served a delicious cooking with colors Mediterranean and Moroccan. Breakfast riad is both continental and moroccan, through its various pancakes and fresh fruit juice, by its home made buns and breads, and seasonal fruit jams and by its surprises with milk or fresh fruits, made by Hafssa our cook. It is served on the patio around the pool, in our restaurant or on our rooftop terrace. The menu is an invitation to discover Moroccan cuisine but also international dishes revisited by Hafssa, plus "food allergies" special menus or "children" menu! For more choices, lunches and dinners are booking through our team as soon as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Alfarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing