We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy Tarabel”
Review of Riad Tarabel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tarabel
Ranked #327 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I happened upon this Riad for one evening on the back of a recomendation of a friend, and had stayed in other Riads in Marrakech up until then. Like other Riads in Marrakech this riad was tucked away at the end of a narrow street, and the only indication of what lay behind was a rather ornate front door.
The similarity however ends there, this Riad is in a league of its own, on all levels. The design of the whole Riad lends itself to a mix of cool typical Morrocan design mixed beautifully with post colonial french artwork scattered around the Riad. Then there is the central garden with its large orange trees which adds to the whole serenity of this riad. Followed on by the various lounging areas dotted around the Riad, with the gorgeous study come breakfast room with fireplace on the bottom floor, and the stunning top floor sun worshipping area, where you can also choose to have your breakfast if you choose to do so.

My room was heavenly with a four poster bed and a bathroom to die for, simply put if you like showers, this is Heaven.
The host together with his staff make this magical place all the more so with their impecable attention to service coupled with some absolutely fantastic food and I can absolutely recomend the breakfast one of the best I have ever had.

To conclude the Riad Tarabel has in a very small space of time managed to tick all of my boxes and I can highly recomend it to anyone who enjoys pampering of the highest order. I look forward to going back with my wife soon and trying out the Hamam which is also included in this wonderous riad.

Ben Richardson

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blah77r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Riad Tarabel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2008

Riad Tarabel was recommended to us by a friend, and the recommendation will certainly be passed on.
As seems to be the case with most Riads, Tarabel is located down a series of alleys, but very close to a main intersection where it is easy to find taxis. As soon as we entered the narrow, sparsely decorated and dimly lit hallway, we felt like we were miles away from the bustle of the Medina.

The owner was knowledgeable about the history of the area, and the staff was the picture of hospitality. Everything from dinner reservations to early breakfast was organized for us and it seemed the room was newly made up, water replenished, every time we left, even if just for a few minutes.

We stayed in the suite, which has lovely large doors and windows allowing the breeze to cool the room. The décor, as with the other rooms, gives an antiquated feeling, and the large flat screen television is the only thing that takes away from this, but it is strategically hidden by a lovely shuttered cupboard.

The breakfast, a feast in itself, was served in the the upstairs salon. This was our favorite room, with eclectic decorations of old photographs, wooden birds, and beautiful coffee table books.

Don't miss the spectacular rooftops views from the upstairs terrace. As with the rest of Tarabel , it is the small touches that make for an amazing and intimate stay. In the case of the terrace, there are comfortable lounge chairs with large straw hats to protect you from the desert rays and allow you to unwind after a long day in the Medina.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We have just returned from Marrakech yesterday. Riad Tarabel was one of the most pleasant experiences we had before. The Riad is wonderfull and charming , just 10 minutes distance walking to the famous El Fnaa. And above all, the staff. They are really delighted to serve and the food is excellent. We really recommend this spot. Dont spread this word of mouse to many friends, keep it for you and experienced yourself.

Pedro Trindade, Lisbon Portugal

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LisbonCastelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful five days at Riad Tarabel in our first trip to Marrakech. Tarabel is a serene and stunning oasis perfectly located for exploring Marrakech. The owners are French interior designers and the riad's design is beautiful and stylish, yet comfortable and warm.

The riad comprises two rooms and a suite, so everything feels small and exclusive. We booked five nights in a beautiful double room with a four poster bed. However, three days into our stay, we were asked whether we would like to stay in the suite for the rest of our stay at no extra cost, as it was not occupied on those days. We had a fabulous time in the suite, enjoying the huge daybed with plasma tv and dvd, and the magnificent bedroom and bathroom.

Everything at the Tarabel is designed to make you feel at home. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are luxurious and comfortable and are always stocked with delicious local fresh oranges, water and Moroccan pastries. Room service includes any washing you may have, which is brought back washed and pressed the following morning (I wish home was like this!!) and Elsa and her staff are always around to book excursions, restaurants or just to offer help and useful tips such as where to get the best local food or how to ship furniture back home. In fact, all guests are given a local mobile phone with a "hot line" to Elsa, who is on hand should you need her help or advice at any time whilst out and about in Marrakech.

Like the previous reviewers, we also booked dinner and a movie at the riad and had the most perfect evening. The food was probably the best we tasted in Morocco and after dining, we were treated to our own private screening of a movie from the comfort of a huge cushioned daybed. Whilst on the subject of food, breakfasts at Tarabel are worth a mention. Served whenever you want by friendly, smiling staff, utterly delicious and big enough to fill you up until dinner time.

The only downside we felt was that being a small place, sound can travel and at times the noise of other guests' voices or music could seem a little intrusive... but this is probably true of all riads due to the way they are set around a central courtyard. It certainly did not spoil or magnificent stay nor would it stop us from recommending the Tarabel to our all friends, which we certainly will.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AliGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Have just returned from another magical trip to Marrakech made all the more memorable by exclusive use of the Riad Tarabel.
The Riad is just off a wide pedestrian street (Rue Dar El Bacha) in the most exclusive part of the medina next to the palace where the Morrocan Royals stay when in town.
The Riad is a sanctuary - you ring the bird song bell - the heavy door swings open and you are ushered in with a smile. Cool greys and muted creams dominate here with splashes of brights from the "french chateaux" panels, bowls of mandarins and lifestyle books scattered around. Birds sing and if you bring your ipod you can fill the silence - we didnt feel the need.
As darkeness descends the true magic of the place becomes even more apparent, the fountain with its white rose petals is surrounded by candles the paper lanterns light up the mandarin trees and inside the log fire is lit and a mint tea with homemade biscuits appears. This place inspires so much - and the staff are so friendly - it felt as if a rich cultured and well-travelled friend had invited us to spend some time in his Morrocan hideaway.
With a days notice you can organise excursions - have a hammam - a massage and organise to sample some of the great food at the Riad - we spent 2 nights in and had wonderful couscous and tagines. Nothing seemed too much trouble for Elsa and her team. Really need to enjoy this riad soon - by the end of 2008 it will be 5 suites bigger and will have a pool and a garden - I just might have to go back and compare.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AllanBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We were moved to the just opened Riad Tarabel after being double booked elsewhere but it made the trip. Tarabel is as cool as it looks on the website. The master suite with it's spectacular bathroom is superb and features a DVD/TV with Playstation 3 which can be enjoyed from a large and commodious sofa - much appreciated by our three teenage children. The C19th trompe d'oeil canvases in the dining rooms and other French antiques dotted about the place create a charming atmosphere. The staff who are undergoing intensive but discreet training by Elsa the Parisian manageress were enthusiastic and eager to please. With a few hours notice a cook was available who produced the best food we had during our stay. And after supper the staff arranged a projection TV on the wall so that we could enjoy a movie together in front of the log fire.

It was a perfect and well located break for the family as with only three bedrooms you can treat the place like home - if your home has a staff of six, ours doesn't so it was especially appreciated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shaftesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Márcio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent B, Directeur général at Riad Tarabel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#74 of 502 in Marrakech
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#111 of 502 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#99 of 502 in Marrakech
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Almaha Marrakech
Almaha Marrakech
#157 of 502 in Marrakech
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jaaneman
Riad Jaaneman
#60 of 1,160 in Marrakech
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tarabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tarabel

Address: 8, Derb Sraghna, Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $254 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad de Tarabel is a beautiful property located in the heart of the old medina of Marrakech, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square and next to the Dar El Bacha Palace. Exquisite harmony of elegance and decoration, Riad Tarabel is fashioned in the true spirit of old colonial mansions house. Such a collection of short stories, each piece expresses its character and gives rise to a suitable inspiration for moments of escape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Tarabel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing