We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not your typlical Marrakech riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tarabel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Tarabel
Save
You added Riad Tarabel to your Saves list
Ranked #498 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not your typlical Marrakech riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This place is chic, quiet and lovely. Very grown-up. Not your hippie-dippy type of typical medina riad. It has an Anglo-Moroccan vibe. The staff is lovely, the room I stayed in was huge. Nice bedroom and sitting room and the bathroom cavernous on 2 levels. It is in a quiet, out of the way part of the Medina. Not too far from the attractions, just far enough away to feel peacful.
They are planning an expansion, not sure where that is at this point. Would very highly recommend. It has only a few rooms so is perfect for an intimate stay.

Room Tip: The Palmeraie suite is over the top in size. Amazing for two and can also accomodate one exra perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrintdsgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Riad Tarabel is one special spot in the medina!! The service is amazing and it is exactly as you see it in the pictures.

The manager "Elsa" is wonderful, and recommended us amazing places to dine and visit.

I am definitely going back to Marrakech and for sure staying at Riad Tarabel again.

Room Tip: The suite is incredible!! you will love the this room, it also has an amazing double shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a lovely place - the decor was elegant the place was serene exactly what you would want after a crazy day in the medina. The staff were lovely and always available to help us with any requests or advice on where to go. I hope i get to visit again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: I would definitely book the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BONOPAROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I spent many hours looking for a Riad for our four day trip and as soon as I saw the photos, I knew this was 'The One'. Perfectly situated in the Medina, ten minutes walk from the main square and five from the Souks, Riad Tarabel has three bedrooms, three lounges and a stunning roof terrace. The central garden has orange trees, a bubbling fountain and a family of tortoises (they bring good luck) that wander around and like to sleep in the Argana room. The decor is extremely tasteful in muted blues, greys, beige and white and all the furniture is really comfortable. We arrived late so we pre-booked a dinner at the Riad which was delicious. Breakfast was yoghurt, fresh fruit and pancakes, taken on the roof terrace to the murmur of summertime music. We'd also come up here mid afternoon to relax and sunbathe. The staff were lovely. They kept our room immaculate, gave us lots of advice on shopping and restaurants and provided endless cups of mint tea and coffee day or night. Without doubt, the most beautiful, inspiring place I have ever stayed - I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalkhillBlue40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

As always, where possible, I planned most of my stay in Marrakech using the Wallpaper City Guide. Riad Tarabel was one of the hotels featured and in combination with the five star reviews here on Tripadvisor I made my reservation.

From the first interaction I was made to feel assured that this was a real find. We had booked the two rooms (and not the suite) but were upon arrival offered a complimentary upgrade since it turned out we had the Riad to our selves. This was a real treat since we were celebrating my fathers 60th birthday and he and my mother were therefore accommodated in the suite. We were showed around the beautiful facilities by a most helpful gentleman. Once settled in we were further greeted with lovely mint tea and Moroccan cookies served in the summer lounge. This was very refreshing after a hectic morning discovering the Kasbah. Note that check in is from 12 am which makes it possible to enjoy all the facilities without feeling stressed if you as we did turn up pretty much on the dot. Following the mint tea, btw during which by co-incidence some of my favorite music was played, we received some tips on what to see and do during our stay and a map with the hotel details printed on it together with some other telephone numbers. Very useful!

In the evening we had ordered the three course dinner to be served in the winter lounge. Before dinner we enjoyed some lovely Moroccan wine upon recommendation in the lounge opposite. The fire in the winter lounge had been lit and a beautiful table set for us. Food was good and plentiful but what really made the evening so memorable was the very friendly service. The setting, food and wine made the entire family stay up very late talking in front of the fire and could really not have been better.

After a most refreshing nights sleep we enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace. Also this very plentiful and very very tasty. Sad to think we needed to hurry to leave this paradise we were advised that we could stay as long as we wanted since the days guest were not expected until later. The flexibility and personal touch showed by the staff at Riad Tarabel really makes you feel like you are in a proper boutique hotel. I can not recommend this highly enough and wish that I will find the same atmosphere once I return for another stay post the expansion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinniTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This Riad really is an oasis of tranquility to retreat to when the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh takes its toll.
The rooms are beautiful-we stayed in the Palmerie suite , which has the most amazing spacious bathroom with a double shower.The choice of places to relax ,aprt from your room,depending on temperature etc was great -roof terrace ,courtyard, 3 beautiful 'salons' ,the summer one is stunning with its open fronted design onto the courtyard .
Elsa was lovely,so helpful ,and the staff are the best we have ever experienced at a hotel. Nothing was too much trouble ,anything that needed sorting out or arranging (carriage trips ,restuarant reservations etc) was all taken care of and the best thing was that they were always there when you needed them,but discrete at the same time. They y could not be faulted and we felt thoroughly spolit to have such attentive service, it really made our holiday feel special.
The location is brilliant, literally 2 mins walk from the souks and foundouks which is really good when you want to go back and kick your shoes off ,have a break and a mint tea.
We had an evening meal when we arrived and the three course meal of soup,tagine and chocolate fondants was actually the best food we had in Marrakesh.

All in all can I highly recommend it ...you bet!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devongirl5090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Riad Tarabel is one of the most delightful places I have ever stayed. It was exactly as described by Mr and Mrs Smith and all previous reviewers on Trip Advisor. Peaceful; wonderfully restored; individual; special; some lovely spaces to unwind - several lounge areas and a lovely roof terrace. Take your pick for breakfast! But what really sets this hotel apart from everywhere else has to be the staff - Fattah and Hameed couldn't do enough for us. They helped us choose where to eat and where to visit - arranging tables; transport and any service we requested.
Just one word of warning and this is entirely our fault...we asked for a hammam; treatment and massage (all on-site and fabulous!) and never asked the price. We were quite taken aback when we got our bill and had been charged €100 each. This is considerably more expensive than some of the 'supposedly' best spas in Marrakech! But this was the only disappointment during our stay and we would definately stay here again if we ever go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazinDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#174 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#107 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#24 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tarabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tarabel

Property: Riad Tarabel
Address: 8, Derb Sraghna, Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad de Tarabel is a beautiful property located in the heart of the old medina of Marrakech, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square and next to the Dar El Bacha Palace. Exquisite harmony of elegance and decoration, Riad Tarabel is fashioned in the true spirit of old colonial mansions house. Such a collection of short stories, each piece expresses its character and gives rise to a suitable inspiration for moments of escape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Tarabel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing