We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointing Riad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nabila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Nabila
Ranked #306 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Riad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

we were warned that if we got a taxi from the airport it would leave us in the street and it would be hard to find our Riad without "help" from a local and demands for money. so we phoned ahead and booked a transfer directly with the Riad
This taxi then dumped us with a streetboy who took us to Dar Nabila where he became very aggressive and demanded 20 euros. The manager Khalila pretty much stood there and let this kid shout at us.
I am very angry about this, we booked a taxi with the Riad to avoid this, the taxi driver said the boy was sent by the Riad but I never got a straight answer on that.
After checking in we went out and the boy and his friend were waiting for us again. followed us up the road shouting and demanding euro's. They then threatened to kill us if we didn't pay.
On our way home later we got abuse for the third time.
Only after telling Khalila that we would leave did she go out side and I guess she sorted it out as we did not get any more problems with the boy even though he was on the street corner every day.
A few days later the same thing happened again with another couple who were really quite frightened by this.
If the Riad cant meet you from your taxi dont stay there, this experience ruined our first day in Marrakesh.
As for the Riad, rooms clean and quiet with a good shower,dinner was nice but at 15 euros it was very expensive. breakfast is bread and jam. The advert we read for this Riad said, tea and coffee in our rooms,aircon, computor access none of this was true. 24 hour reception also not true as the staff leave after dinner for the night. If there were a problem there is no help available.
Over all this was not a hotel experience more a back packer place but at a hotel price.
There are over two hundred Riads in the Medina so I would not stay in this one again.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are lighter but warmer. downstairs rooms open on to the dining area so can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagrantbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

A lovely little riad about 15mins walk from the square, perfect for couples. Very very clean and the manager looks after you well. Food at the riad was lovely but breakfast is only bread and jam. Would recommend a stay there and it was cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beautiful riad, very friendly staf, but very noisy, lack of privicy because of this. Our bedroom was next to dinighall, only seperated by a single glas door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Not even a day back from being in Morocco and I'm happy to say that our first riad experience at Dar Nabila was amazing. We loved the decor, the attentive service and overall warmth and hospitality from the staff. Great location and such a sweet retreat after spending amazing and sometimes stressful days in the souks. If you're looking for a cozy and quiet place in the Medina, this is it.

Room Tip: pick the largest room upstairs, it's the most stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeliciaYves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Charming, quiet and wonderfully relaxed Riad. Great location that gives you the opportunity to experience real life in the city. Easy to walk through the medina to the square or over to the new town for a more modern experience. The hostess was extremely accommodating - don't be put off by the crowds in the streets and Market outside - they are friendly. Watch out for kid that offers to direct you to the riad...he may want more money than you should give him!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richards95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had booked a room here through laterooms.com, however, when we got there the lady in charge told us they had booked us at another riad. We were quite tired and overwhelmed as we got there at night and were a bit lost getting there, however, Khalila offered us some mint tea while we waited for a transfer that would take us to the other riad. She was very nice and accompanied us all the way, but we felt she sort of "dropped us off" to be forgotten at the other riad. From what we could see of the Riad Dar Nabila it was in an easy to find location compared to other riads and it seemed clean and nicely decorated, with a "homey" feeling. Can't really say anything else about it as they didn't really take care of us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank minniechis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Spent 4 nights at this charming Riad. Kharlila is a perfect host, so helpful and kind and cooks a beautiful tagine. We ate here two nights as we enjoyed the food so much. Day excursions can be booked through here meaning a shuttle will collect yo at the door!
Highly recommended as the peace inside helps you to escape the craziness outside. Cosy rooms onto a traditional courtyard, and African music playing regularly from the seating area.
Don't miss this well priced gem in the heart of Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#275 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#268 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chennaoui
Riad Chennaoui
#337 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#404 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#247 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#430 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nabila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nabila

Property: Riad Dar Nabila
Address: 71 Derb el Boumba | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nabila 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Dar Nabila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nabila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing