We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Moroccan Food”
Review of Cafe Des Epices

Cafe Des Epices
Ranked #142 of 1,180 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Fast Food, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: In the heart of the Medina and Souks of Marrakech lies the Rahba Kedima spice square, where old women gather to pound henna for traditional tattoos and sell hand knitted hats, while seasoned vendors run the surrounding spice stores. Within this setting is the now famed Cafe des Epices, the perfect meeting place and rest stop from the heat and commotion of the souks. The inexpensive menu is focused on the simple and fresh, offering teas and coffee, freshly made juices, sandwiches, salads and crepes. The design is correspondingly simple: deliberately paired down and basic in order to offer a peaceful resting place after the visual overload of the Souks. Built over 3 floors, the top terrace offers great views over the square and surrounding Medina, the non-smoking 2nd floor salon is a great place to lounge and the ground floor and outdoor tables are fantastic places from which to watch the colourful comings and goings of the spice square market. Open daily from 9am to 11pm
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved there food, coffee and tea. Delicious and reasonably priced. Staff were quick, helpful and accommodating. Great ambiance too.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank iamninoace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 5,582 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good atmosphere, service and food.

Very nice place to get away from the rush of the souk big still be in it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Albany_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would 100% recommend, really tasty food and can be found off the main square. Hospitable staff and at decent prices.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank larissaf705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only had a drink here but it was the best ginger beer I've ever had.

Like most people we wanted to go on the top deck but it was full so we went to the middle floor. This had the bonus of being empty, air conditioned and a large panoramic window looking down to the market below so we sat and watched the goings on down below. As it was busy, after about 25 minutes I had to go and remind the front of house person we were there so someone could take our order - the waiters were concentrating on the top and ground levels. But a few minutes later the waiter came and we ordered. Food was obviously available but we just had drinks. The OJ was freshly squeezed and my ginger beer was home made with a large mint sprig in it. The market shenanigans were entertaining.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is I believe a sister of Nomad and really great for lunch . Well priced good food we really enjoyed it and if your down the Medina a very good choice .

Bill

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank WilliamB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Des Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing