We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to watch the world go by” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Des Epices

Cafe Des Epices
Ranked #62 of 818 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: In the heart of the Medina and Souks of Marrakech lies the Rahba Kedima spice square, where old women gather to pound henna for traditional tattoos and sell hand knitted hats, while seasoned vendors run the surrounding spice stores. Within this setting is the now famed Cafe des Epices, the perfect meeting place and rest stop from the heat and commotion of the souks. The inexpensive menu is focused on the simple and fresh, offering teas and coffee, freshly made juices, sandwiches, salads and crepes. The design is correspondingly simple: deliberately paired down and basic in order to offer a peaceful resting place after the visual overload of the Souks. Built over 3 floors, the top terrace offers great views over the square and surrounding Medina, the non-smoking 2nd floor salon is a great place to lounge and the ground floor and outdoor tables are fantastic places from which to watch the colourful comings and goings of the spice square market. Open daily from 9am to 10pm
Norwich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the world go by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We got lost in the surrounding souks and stumbled onto the Place des epices and this cafe, great for lunch if you want a sandwich and mint tea / coffee. Gets busy / crowded and only has one toilet so a queue develops quickly! Offers free wifi too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    1,326
    365
    80
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to relax and people watch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a really nice sandwhich and crepes here, along with a nice juice drink.

The staff are great, the atmosphere is lovely, and if you get a window seat or get up on the terrace you have a perfect view of one of the squares in the souks.

We went on our last day - otherwise I could have just stayed there all afternoon. Bliss.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank newport.david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view from the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Good little cafe, great escape from the crazy souks. Wonderful view from the top but the top terrace is quite small and they only let you up there if you're having food. Food is good though, the lamb sandwich is gorgeous, packed with flavour. Good value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NIghtfish2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A welcome retreat in the heart of the souks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stumbled somewhat gratefully upon this place. Lovely big sandwiches at very good prices €3 approx, good choice of fillings too. Also available salads etc. Three levels to sit with a nice roof terrace to enjoy the atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank smallasapeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Why bother? Not charming or chic - overpriced, limited menu, overhyped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

With so many other options for something quick to eat or drink, why bother with this overpriced little "hip" cafe.

My husband and I went this afternoon wanting a late lunch and discovered the menu was very limited so after sitting down and perusing the menu we actually moved on to one to their sister establishment the Terrasse des epices (reviewed also).

But, I wanted to write a review just because I think this place and it's sister establishment get way too much good press and seeing as I was very disappointed I hope to help prevent other people who might have a sensibility like mine from wasting their time. This place is listed in Wallpaper Guide to Marrakech and also other places, but I think it's just not worth the bother. The seating is cramped (tables too close together), you are sitting on hard stools (no chair back, not comfortable) and the aesthetic of the place overall is not particularly chic or charming. It feels bare and overly simple/hard, rather than modern/clean/charming. It does not have much of a view, it's location is not great (I see some people have mentioned in their reviews it has a view?) - it is in a fairly narrow area, there is nothing expansive or spacious about the scenery. Anyway, why not just go to somewhere either more charming or with an actual view & decent food if you want to eat or grab a coffee from a local vendor if you just want a drink. If you want to sit and relax I just dont think it is relaxing. It also feels like a tourist trap to me, albeit a "hip cool" tourist, but tourist trap nonetheless.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlastairCookieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Des Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing