We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Authentic Marrakech experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Miski

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Miski
Ranked #12 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authentic Marrakech experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I thoroughly recommend Riad Miski having just enjoyed a stay of five days there. The riad is situated in the Medina, about a 10 minute walk from the main square, so you have ample opportunity to soak up the atmosphere of Marrakech. Even the short walk to the square provides sights and sounds to enthrall.
The riad itself is full of character and is an oasis of calm in the chaos of the Medina. It's clean, quiet, comfortable and ticks all the boxes in terms of Moroccan interior design. Christine and Francis, the owners, are two of the nicest people you could hope to meet and go to great pains to make you feel at ease in a sometimes bewildering city. They sat with us on our first night and talked us through a map of the city, suggesting things to do and places to eat. They booked tables at restaurants, ordered taxis and even walked us to restaurants that were difficult to find. The rest of the staff are equally wonderful, with a special mention for Youssef who always had a smile and a wealth of information about Marrakech, a city he clearly loves.
I would also recommend one of the day trips with their guide, Ali, who is an experience in himself. He took us to the Atlas Mountains and I learned more about Moroccan culture in half a day with Ali than I have from countless books.
The other thing that is a must do at Riad Miski is the massage. This is a bespoke massage developed by Francis over the course of his 20 plus years of experience. My partner and I had a massage mid way through the stay and it was truly special, not to mention deeply relaxing. A word of warning though, do not attempt to do anything after the massage! We went to Pepe Nero straight after to eat and were completely out of it.
If you want an authentic experience Marrakech then Riad Miski is the place for you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    48
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
175
387
47
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was my second visit staying at Riad Miski.

The Riad is set within the Medina near the (Sidi) Ben Salah Mosque. This means that although it is only a five to ten minute stroll (ten to fifteen minutes if walking really slowly) from the "Big Square" (حة جامع الفناء jâmiʻ al-fanâʼ) it is actually a relatively calmer part of the Medina.

The Riad itself is absolutely perfect. I have experience of two of the rooms Gingembre and Vanille and this experience is based on two separate trips here with friends on the first trip in 2010 and, moste recently, with family two days ago in August 2012. I shall of course stick to the most recent trip.

Firstly, Francis and Christine the owners of the Riad are in themselves, amazing. They are a wealth of knowledge and advice and always help you in whatever way they can be it recommending and booking tables at restaurants or indeed walking with you to make sure that you actually get through the maze and to the restaurant (anyone who has been in the Medina will know why this is useful). In addition to this they are always available and on hand to make telephone calls and bookings for you so that there is no stress involved. The rooms are spotless and are cleaned daily by Radia, the food cooked by Raja is really tasty and I would reccommend that you book it for at least your first night, to allow you to settle in without the madness of the Medina.

We went on an excursion to the Ourika Valley and Ali was outstanding. He is so patient with slower members of a group as the walk is fairly challenging for those of average fitness but as he points out readily, we take as long as we take. The trip is excellent and again, I would suggest that you take Christines advice.

I could not finish without mentioning Yousif, who is the most charming young man and who made our breakfasts each morning and was available each night to serve supper etc. He speaks very good English and is always smiling and helpful and is able to give you local advice.

In short I cannot recommend the Riad Miski strongly enough! I would not stay anywhere else in the Medina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

really enjoyed my time here. i loved how we had a different version of pancakes every morning for breakfast! the day out we did to the berber village was FANTASTIC! we had a chauffer and a personal tour guide for the day for 50euros each which i thought was alot but it was more then worth it - was a great adventure off the tourist track. The riad was about 15-20min walk to the main square and you had to make sure you memorised the route as it's easy to get lost. it's very busy, vibrant and dusty in marrakesh and this riad is the opposit. very peaceful and clean yet atmospheric - almost as if you're staying in a palace! The lovely french lady gave us some good tips on places to eat. we had a great time but 3 nights was enough in marrakesh.

Room Tip: we stayed in the purple room which was really nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I selected the Riad Miski for our honeymoon based on the Trip advisor reviews and the Riad certainly lived up to our expectations. Christine is incredibly efficient with the way the Riad is run and all her staff help to provide a wonderful experience. They were all first class especially Yusef who took a real interest in making sure we got the most out of HIS city. We were ever so slightly concerned when the taxi driver dropped us off near the Riad as it wasn't what we were expecting. There were half clothed children running around infront of the taxi as we pulled up and as we got out we were confronted by lots of people offering to carry our bags etc. Please don't be put off by this as the Riad is situated in a residential part of the city so you will be staying in the real Marrakech with real people yet only a brief walk to the main square. They are the most friendly, kind and hospitable people you will meet so don't be put off by the initial shock. We took the opportunity of doing a cooking lesson with Rana the chef at the Riad and this involved heading to the local market and buying the ingredients. What an experience! A real opportunity to see a master at work as she negotiated with the various sellers to pick the best produce at the best price. The afternoon of cooking taught us so much and resulted in a beautiful meal (thanks to Rana's help) on the roof terrace. We also made use of the Hamman at the Riad and enjoyed a relaxing authentic Hamman followed by one of the best massages I've ever had. All in all this really is a special place to stay........

Room Tip: They are all really good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Another vote from me, for how nice this place is.

I think everything has already been said, I have nothing else to do but to agree.

Only one remark, we've stayed in Gingimbre room and the bathroom has no door (it has a curtin instead). This was no problem for us but might be for others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raluca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in early June 2012 and were beyond delighted with it. It is a beautiful Riad. The design and feel to it is typical Moroccan without all the overdone fuss that from my research a lot of other Riads do. Our room was crisp, clean and bright. A lot of other place seem to over laden the rooms with stuff, blankets, cushions, trinkets etc but Riad Miski doesn't need all that and instead offers serenity through simplicity. As other have said it is truly so quiet and peaceful and cool in the Riad unlike the main streets. There are only a few rooms which was another appeal for me, made me feel in a small way we were in a home rather than a hotel. We slept beautifully and there was all you could need in the room itself. The breakfast was simple but had to be so they could offer it whenever you wanted it. We had dinner here one night, just the two of us on the roof terrace which was a real treat. I am totally delighted with our stay here and just do not understand why anyone would stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: We had the rose room and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareG731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at the Riad Miski for four days at the end of May/early June. The Riad was quiet and peaceful compared to the outdoor activity of Marrakech. The upstairs patio/sundeck was a beautiful place to relax, read and look over your pictures & purchases from the day. All the staff were pleasant, helpful and hard working. Christine was very welcoming and especially helpful with her tips and map of Marrakech. I wouldn't recommend this for families with young children (I actually wouldn't recommend Marrakech for families with young children either) as the Riad is quite and designed for adults or older children travelling with their parents. All around a great Riad - you won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Baie Rose room and it was very nice. Every day a new, fresh bottle of water, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanJul2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#15 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#18 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Miski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Miski

Property: Riad Miski
Address: 6 derb Abdelouassaa | Close to the Sidi Ayoub square, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Miski 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Miski is an authentic morrocan riad decorated in a sober and traditional way. Ideally situated in a typical district, you will discover a not tourist face of Marrakesh by being next to storekeepers and to inhabitants of the Medina, while being close to the famous Jemmaa-el-Fnaa square and of the old Koranic school (10 minutes on foot). Our team mobilizes every day to make of your stay an enchanted episode. Be allowed try ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Miski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Miski Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing