We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place To Stay In The Medina”
Review of Riad Dar Tayib

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tayib
Ranked #306 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
2 reviews
“Friendly Place To Stay In The Medina”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The staff at Dar Tayib took really good care of us.

Our room was on the roof, it was a twin and a good size though not large. The toilet is behind a wall but not in a separate room, so if your sharing you had better know your room mate very well!

There is a Mosque just next door which loudly calls for prayers at five in the morning, but that wasn't a big deal.

The Riad is just five minutes walk from the souks, and we soon got used to finding our way around.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greigrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
135
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I really liked this little place. Nothing about it is slick--the locks to the doors don't work quite right, there's big cracks in the concrete around the trees in the courtyard, the steps on the stairs are of amusingly different heights--but it's all good and honest and sweet.

I think the owners were away over the three nights we stayed, but we were looked after very well by their staff, who were ever happy to help. (Unfortunately they didn't speak English (I'm sure their French was excellent) but we were able to make do.) The riad also comes with an affectionate little dog who becomes even more affectionate if food is produced.

The hotel is somewhat difficult to find. Probably not any more so than any other riad in the Medina, but it might be worth trying to get someone to guide you there the first time, particularly if you're not familiar with Medina-like mazes.

One important thing to note: you have to pay by cash! I don't know if this is usual and they don't go out of their way to make it obvious, but it certainly took us by surprise, and required a little morning run to the nearest ATM to gather up the necessary cash.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We absolutely loved Riad Dar Tayib. It is a beautiful oasis, that's the only expression that fits. The owners, Vincent and Latifa, were welcoming and helpful, the staff was lovely, the location is great, and the riad itself is just gorgeous.

I would highly recommend it to anyone. The rooms are a bit small but there is a lovely courtyard (it's a riad, after all!) and a beautiful roof area. Also: you can arrange to have dinner there. While somewhat pricey, it was spectacular - the best meal we had in Morocco.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LATravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Overall, we really liked this riad. It's a nice place to sit around and take a break from the craziness outside. Felt very comfortable and welcome in the public areas. The people who run it are very friendly.
Ate dinner there twice - good to very good once, but excellent the other time. (2 different cooks). Also, Vincent the owner got us a driver to take us up to the mountains for a day, which worked out great.
Definitely glad we stayed there, but even by marrakesh standards, the hotel isn't for everyone. Crazy stairs to get to the room; water went off a few times; it's pretty hard to find, and even though we had them send a driver to the airport, he couldn't find the place at first. There's a huge speaker from a Minaret right by the riad that blasts prayers at 5 in the morning, which isn't their fault, but is still annoying (unless, of course, you're a pious Muslim, in which case I guess it's a plus).
I do think, though, that those are *all* the negatives, and for us, none were a big deal. The plusses, though, are more important, and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

When we decided to go to Marrakech I was the one that wanted to be in Medina and in a riad.
We stayed 4 nights in Riad Dar Tayib and our overall experience was not bad but I really think that it could be better the service, informationa and so on.
Well the riad's location is not easy to find even the driver that was a service from the raid did know where it was and had to ask information to the local people. It is really scary for who like us did know where we were and to make matters worse our driver did not speak any English so he could not explain anything what was going on to us. Someone came to help him and took us by walking to our riad. When we arrived there was a girl that did not speak any english just arabic and French. To my luck I could understand her a little. Then we found out that we had to give money to the guy who took us to the riad and this was not included in the price that we paid for the taxi from the airport to there (by the way we were charged 20 Euros and we had to give 20 DH to the guy).
Tip 1: attention when asking for information or help in the streets they will help you but they will ask money!
Our room was nice but a little dusty and it was not ready when we arrived. We waited and they offered mint tea that later we found out that we had to pay for the tea that I thought was a cortesy.
The room description in the website says that the toilet is separated but the only thing that separeted the bed to the toilet was a half wall, if you wanted to go to the loo in private was not possible. Also the shower was open without door.
The breakfast was really simple: bread (that was not fresh), kind of pancake, tea, coffee, butter, honey 2 types of jam Some days we had fresh orange juices and other days no. The same for the yoghurt one day yes and the other no. For the price that we paid the breakfast could be better.
Tip 2 : the dinner in the riad was quite expensive 19 euros per person and it was a starter , main and a dessert but to be honest you can spend less money and eat much better in Medina. I don't think it is a value for money.
The location is quite hidden but this is the charm of it. In the beginning it is quite scary but then when you know where you are it is a wonderful experience.
Overall it was ok but I think the service could be better and the rooms cleaner!
We loved Marrakech but if one day I come back we'll not stay in this riad!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViaggiatoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

What can I say? This little place made our trip. The owners were wonderful. I think Vincent made our stay. I celebrated my birthday there and it was the best birthday I've ever had!

Our rooms were on the top floor and the terraces were a nice place to hang out, eat olives, drink tea, and get info from the Vincent. We ate one meal there and it was one of the best meals we had during our three week trip. The courtyard is beautiful and cool place to hang out, especially when the music starts playing. It seems to attract pretty interesting guests (in a good way). The owner gave us a lot of good information and recommendations and helped negotiate taxi fares to surrounding areas.

The rooms were cozy and spotless, with soft sheets, plenty of hot running water (can be used for teeth brushing), and air conditioning.

The Dar is located on a very quiet street about a 15 minute walk through the medina to the Djemma El-Fna. Once Vincent showed us how to get back to the Dar, it was no problem finding our way around the Medina.

After Dar Tayib, every other place just wasn't quite good enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kzincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2009

A charming riyad! My friends and I stayed at the top most rooms and we had an excellent time. We had traveled all over Morocco and staying at this Riad after a tiring trip was definitely a treat. The rooms had a rustic feel to them and they did not reflect the busy streets of the souks (which is a close walking distance to the riad). The owner Vincent and his wife were very helpful and treated us really and they really went out of their way to help us out to find other accommodations since they were booked for the 2nd night. I definitely recommend this riad to anyone who wants a little R&R.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn11211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Timel
Riad Timel
#546 of 1,139 in Marrakech
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 500 in Marrakech
1,944 reviews
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tayib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tayib

Property: Riad Dar Tayib
Address: Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Tayib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing