We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stay in a Beautiful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tayib

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tayib
Ranked #207 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
1 review
“Great Stay in a Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Dar Tayib is not only great value for money but made our stay very memorable. In looking through what seemed like a hundred ryads and hotels, I hope I can make it easier for others visiting Marrakesh by saying: Staying in Dar Tayib was a GREAT experience.

The Pros:

1) The ryad itself is beautifully situated in the center Medina not far from all the major sites and is immaculately maintained. The courtyard and fountain are very welcoming, the rooftop is expansive and relaxing, and the rooms large, comfortable, and very clean. Breakfast is authentic Moroccan and served in the courtyard. But what makes this ryad really special is...the owners!

2) Vincent and his wife were very accommodating and responsive for booking logistics, meeting our room requirements, and helping plan our arrival. This is by email and phone. For example, coming from the US my phone did not work but I was able to send an email toVincent who was able to tell my friend of my flight connection delay. Furthermore, when I had some lost luggage Vincent offered (and later did) go to the airport to help locate my bag.

As for the cons they are more nit-picky then anything. A bit better signage could help with late night navigating - but really it adds to the relaxing atmosphere. Wireless that reaches the rooms would be great as well but it works very well in the courtyard.

But I knit-pick: If you go to Marrakesh come here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadir_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
134
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hospitality, beautiful deco/rooms, and quiet - these are just some of the things you will find when you stay with Vincent and Latifa at Riad Tayib. We were given the Yasmina suite with a bath tub that you could literally swim in! Beautifully decorated, but most of all impeccably clean. The rose-fragrance courtyard is the perfect place to come back to after a day in Marrakesh, which can be stressful at times. As far as directions go, we had no trouble finding the riad after having been initially shown the way, and felt safe walking back in the middle of the night. Even the neighbors were friendly and helpful in showing us the way. Food-wise, we didn't have the chance to grab dinner but breakfast was traditional and delicious - especially the different jams!

However, the best thing about this experience for us was how friendly, sociable, and helpful the riad owners were. They made sure we felt comfortable and enjoyed every minute of our stay. I've been to Marrakesh several times and can say that this is the only place that hasn't disappointed on some level. I will certainly come back - hopefully in the near future. And next time, we will make sure to go on one of the recommended tours!

Room Tip: All the riad is generally very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at Dar Tayib for two nights in the Yasmina Suite which was divine, it is a really beautiful Riad in a great location just a short interesting stroll through the winding medina streets to the market and djeema el fna square. The owners Vincent and Latifa were very friendly and always smiling, they gave us advice, showed us the way around town and even gave us directions and contacts for our trip onwards and got us a discount at our next stop! The room was beautiful, the place has a lovely comfortable authentic feel to it. The staff were very pleasant and always on hand when we needed anything, its the perfect place to come back to after a stimulating stroll around marrakech! As good as it gets, the perfect balance between a hotel and a home, thanks guys

Room Tip: Yasmina Suite is a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanAlexDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We chose Riad Dar Tayib, because of the nice comments on trip advisor... and we were'nt dissappointed ! calm reigns in the nicely decorated courtyard of this lovely riad. Vincent and Latifa and their staff are very nice, helpful and warm people who went out of their way to show us the way in the Medina, arrange restaurants, day excursions, etc... The dinner we had there was great, as well as the wine that Vincent recommended (a Morrocon "gris") to go with it. we stayed in the Yasmina suite which has indeed a huge bath tub. We really enjoyed that room, couldn't be more suitable for a romantic (no kids alllowed) ten years wedding anniversary.
I can recommend the half day excursion to go drive a quad in the desert which Vincent organised.
The breakfast was really good. Basically all was good there and we would return there.
As far as the Marrakech experience : yes, you need to tell these youngsters that you know your way all the time and that you don't need them to guide you to "la place" and the shopkeepers are always trying to drag you into their shop, but this is not so different than in other places in the world. Once you get used to it and start playing along with them, it won't bother you anymore.
With a good map (provided by the riad), you will even start finding your way in the souks after a while.
All in all : one of the best citytrips ever, especially as you are, from the moment your plane touches the ground, in a totally different atmosphere and culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

great hosts, beautiful rooms (we stayed in the Aicha room, which was spacious and comfortable). Good breakfast (though virtually all breads), relaxing downstairs area. Great rooftop for catching some rays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlb981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A corner of peace and calm in the middle of bustling Marrakech. The riad is charming, its owners even more so, and the food (we had dinner there) delicious! Sitting in the fresh courtyard, under the massive banana tree - or on the rooftop terrace for sunset - allowed us to relax - and even do some work in blissfull peace when we needed to.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, stylish clean and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have never written a review on trip advisor before but I have been blown away by Riad Dar Tayib. The riad itself is perfectly located in a quiet and peaceful street in the heart of the Medina, minutes from the Souks and main square. The riad is beautifully decorated in an authentic traditional Moroccan way with many tasteful touches. The hosts and staff are the loveliest people, always here to help and give useful advice on what to do and where to go (and how to get there - which can be a challenge in the Medina). Vincent helped us organise a trip to the Atlas mountains and gave us lots of great tips. Latifa cooked some delicious and fresh traditional Moroccan cuisine for us. They have been very welcoming and helpful and speak perfect French and English. Also, the prices are more than reasonable for the quality of the place. All and all, if you are looking for the real Moroccan traditional experience combined with all the comfort you need and great warm people, Riad Dar Tayib is a must! Loved it! Thanks, Latifa and Vincent for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurene145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Tzarra
Riad Tzarra
#186 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#93 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Safa
Riad Safa
#113 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#228 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#103 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Djebel
Riad Djebel
#52 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tayib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tayib

Property: Riad Dar Tayib
Address: Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Tayib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing