We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“just what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tayib

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tayib
Ranked #213 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We chose Riad Dar Tayib, because of the nice comments on trip advisor... and we were'nt dissappointed ! calm reigns in the nicely decorated courtyard of this lovely riad. Vincent and Latifa and their staff are very nice, helpful and warm people who went out of their way to show us the way in the Medina, arrange restaurants, day excursions, etc... The dinner we had there was great, as well as the wine that Vincent recommended (a Morrocon "gris") to go with it. we stayed in the Yasmina suite which has indeed a huge bath tub. We really enjoyed that room, couldn't be more suitable for a romantic (no kids alllowed) ten years wedding anniversary.
I can recommend the half day excursion to go drive a quad in the desert which Vincent organised.
The breakfast was really good. Basically all was good there and we would return there.
As far as the Marrakech experience : yes, you need to tell these youngsters that you know your way all the time and that you don't need them to guide you to "la place" and the shopkeepers are always trying to drag you into their shop, but this is not so different than in other places in the world. Once you get used to it and start playing along with them, it won't bother you anymore.
With a good map (provided by the riad), you will even start finding your way in the souks after a while.
All in all : one of the best citytrips ever, especially as you are, from the moment your plane touches the ground, in a totally different atmosphere and culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
133
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

great hosts, beautiful rooms (we stayed in the Aicha room, which was spacious and comfortable). Good breakfast (though virtually all breads), relaxing downstairs area. Great rooftop for catching some rays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlb981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A corner of peace and calm in the middle of bustling Marrakech. The riad is charming, its owners even more so, and the food (we had dinner there) delicious! Sitting in the fresh courtyard, under the massive banana tree - or on the rooftop terrace for sunset - allowed us to relax - and even do some work in blissfull peace when we needed to.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, stylish clean and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have never written a review on trip advisor before but I have been blown away by Riad Dar Tayib. The riad itself is perfectly located in a quiet and peaceful street in the heart of the Medina, minutes from the Souks and main square. The riad is beautifully decorated in an authentic traditional Moroccan way with many tasteful touches. The hosts and staff are the loveliest people, always here to help and give useful advice on what to do and where to go (and how to get there - which can be a challenge in the Medina). Vincent helped us organise a trip to the Atlas mountains and gave us lots of great tips. Latifa cooked some delicious and fresh traditional Moroccan cuisine for us. They have been very welcoming and helpful and speak perfect French and English. Also, the prices are more than reasonable for the quality of the place. All and all, if you are looking for the real Moroccan traditional experience combined with all the comfort you need and great warm people, Riad Dar Tayib is a must! Loved it! Thanks, Latifa and Vincent for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurene145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Dar Tayib for six nights so we feel we got a good sense of the place. I shopped around with a number of riads, and it is really hard to beat the value you get with this place. The riad is located in a quiet, residential part of the Medina, a refuge from the intensity of the souks.

The absolute best part of the experience of this riad are Vincent and Latifa. They really treat people like guests in their home instead of as clients. Both of them are incredibly helpful and warm people and we really appreciated their attentiveness. I would also recommend having dinner at the riad at least once. We ate at a number of restaurants in the Medina and nothing beat the home-cooked meal for taste and value. The breakfast is also very good.

Thank you so much, Vincent and Latifa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in Riad Dar Tayib for two nights. Finding the riad was a bit of a nightmare. You can't get a taxi to near the riad so you have to find your way among the souk and find an unlit unmarked door down a small alley. This was very stressful, so definitely get directions from them.

Once we got there, we stayed in the Yasmina suite, which is a lovely room and it had lots of character with a curtained four poster bed with a day bed on the side. The tub is big enough to swim in, and I pretty much did! The bed is comfy and the overall room was what I expected.

THe rest of the riad was a little less spot on. The wifi is very slow and you have to wander around to get signal. Also in the common areas, it is a bit grotty and could use a face lift and a bit of a scrub. I found old bread under the cushion I was leaning on. The outside space up top was really lovely as well with a multilevel rooftop with some areas in sun, some in shade - well thought out.

Breakfasts were good.

The staff and owners were lovely and enthusiastically helpful. When we had to leave they showed us where to get a taxi and actually got the driver to use the meter on the way to airport, which cost 40 dirhams including tip, as opposed to the 80-100 they usually bargain down to.

Overall this place is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicques, Jura, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you go to Marrakech ... it is the need Dar Tayib book.
Latifa and her team are exemplary kindness.
I hope one day to return. Thank you again. guy

Si vous allez à Marrakech... c'est au Riad Dar Tayib qu'il faut réserver.
Latifa et toute son équipe sont d'une gentillesse exemplaire.
J'espère un jour y retourner. Merci encore. guy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chokcycles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#38 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Eden
Riad Eden
#187 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Sheba
Riad Dar Sheba
#138 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tayib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tayib

Property: Riad Dar Tayib
Address: Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Tayib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing