We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A little oasis in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Tayib

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tayib
Ranked #248 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
1 review
“A little oasis in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent 5 days at this charming riad last month. Having read so many great reviews beforehand, it was good to see that the Dar el Tayib lived up to expectations! We arrived in the evening and were met at the airport by a taxi-man who escorted us directly to the Riad door. French Vincent and his Moroccan wife Latifa were there to welcome us with mint tea and traditional pastries and then to serve a beautiful chicken tagine.

The riad is in the heart of the medina but away from the main hustle and bustle - a little oasis in the middle of a whirlwind of people, donkeys, mopeds.. There aren't many street names/signs so fortunately Vincent showed us the way to Djemma El Fna - 'La Place' on our first day, although we still managed to get lost on subsequent occasions - there's always a local on hand to direct you back for a small tip!

The bedrooms lead off from a stunning courtyard and are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We stayed on the top floor, leading up to the roof terrace offering great views of the city skyline and on a good day, the mountains.

Breakfast was a selection of French baguette, toasted flat breads and Moroccan pancakes, served with very fresh orange juice and homemade yoghurts. It's also definitely worth eating in in the evening at least once - the food is delicious and there's a lot of it - have a small lunch! I was also lucky enough to have an impromptu cookery lesson one afternoon by the two girls who work there.

Vincent speaks excellent English and seemed to be able to organise any numbers of trips at a moment's notice! We spent a day exploring the Atlas mountains in a hire car with chauffeur Youssef. It is good value and recommended if you don't fancy a 6hr+ drive on winding roads yourself! Their hospitality is endless and their enthusiasm infectious.

After a tiring day of bartering in the souks, the Dar Tayib is the perfect place to relax with a tasty homecooked tagine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaKestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
134
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We found Dar Tayib in the Lonely Planet and they lived up to all our expectations. They were prompt with their emails for booking and various detail regarding pick up. The food was fabulous and Vincent and Latifa really made us feel at home. The location of the riad really gives you a feel for life in the medina, and was easy to find again once Vincent showed us some of the main landmarks. The riad itself is lovely and we would have loved to stay longer. Aside from the fabulously decorated courtyard and rooms the sunny terrace allowed us to relax after a busy day in the medina. The hospitality and sense of calm made this one of the best places we staid during our two weeks in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

It is hard to do justice in one paragraph to the warmth and friendliness that we encountered from the moment we stepped through the door. Vincent and his wife Latifa welcome in a way that makes you feel like you are visiting relatives. They go out of their way to show you through the maze of the medina, discover the best shops, get the best bargains and see a side of Marrakech that most tourist won't even glimpse. I'll never forget the precious moments shared over a mint tea and home made pastries, nor the friendships that we made. Filled with people that resemble characters from a novel, this riad is for adventurers in search of something more than just a hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flamencalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked two nights based on reviews in LonelyPlanet and on TripAdvisor, and really enjoyed our time here.

Actually finding the front door of any riad in Marrakesh can be quite a challenge, but we were met from our petit taxi at "El Moukef" (a small square on the north east side of the medina) by Vincent, who then walked us the few yards around the corner to Dar Tayib.

The location is good (about a 10 minute walk through the souks to the main square). Navigation was made much easier thanks to a free map and a "personal walking escort" from Vincent when we first set off into the centre of Marrakech!

The welcome tea and macaroons were very nice, as was breakfast each day (I quite regret not staying one night for dinner at the riad, although I can strongly recommend the Souk Cafe).

Many thanks to Vincent for helping us with a trip to the bus station and ATM after checking out - just another example of how helpful everyone was during our short stay!

Room Tip: "Aicha" room was lovely, but the bathroom is part of the bedroom (perhaps not ideal for ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan9ardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Fantastic hospitable hosts in Vincent (Mr Fixit) and Latifa (and their delightful assistants) who will personally guide you through the backstreets to find hidden gems, arrange excursions tailored to where YOU want to go and want to do, demonstrate and provide fantastic Moroccan cooking, etc. This beautiful traditional riad is within the northern part of the Medina close to the Souks and within walking distance of most places of interest. It come complete with banana and orange trees, a roof terrace offering spectacular views over the city with the snow-capped High Atlas mountains in the distance, comfortable guest lounges and informal restaurant, plus a comprehensive library of local information. Our ensuite accommodation was compact but perfectly adequate and was cleaned and tidied every day of our week's stay. Nice simple breakfast. Be
sure to sample the in-house cuisine. Accept the offer of transport from the airport to the riad to ensure an untroubled start to your stay. A wonderful all round experience worthy of a sixth star!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at Dar Tayib for three nights at the end of December, 2011. Booking and airport connection arrangements were made in advance with Vincent and Latifa, who were most responsive, timely and generous with welcomed suggestions in our email correspondences. We were immediately greeted at the airport by our driver, who, upon arrival to 'edge' of the medina, escorted us right to the front door of the riad. Vincent and Latifa greeted us warmly with good conversation, tasty cookies and Moroccan mint tea. Once we were settled, we were provided a map led into the souks to help us kick off our adventure. Vincent arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains: driver, guided hike, and dinner in a village home. Excatly the type of thing we were looking for. The Yasmina Suite was beautiful, quiet and peaceful. The riad was lovely and in a perfect location. Staff were friendly and hospitable. Daily breakfast (included in daily rate) were quite generous and tasty. Our favorite part was the exceptional, amazing dinners that were prepared by the riad staff (not included in daily rate). Highly recommended... Vincent and Latifa can help fulfill whatever it is you're seeking to experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catana_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Vincent and Latifah were wonderful and we had a great time. It is a great base to explore both the city and the surrounding mountains. Vincent arranged some fantastic trips for us and Latifah was incredibly hospitable - we always looked forward to seeing her when we returned. We got great sleep here too - it was surprisingly quiet considering the hustle and bustle of the medina.

Vincent has also recently opened another Riad in Marrakech. It has a small pool (perhaps heated? not sure) and a distinct aesthetic which is surprisingly different from Dar Tayib. It looked beautiful as well - I am not sure which I would prefer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#102 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Timel
Riad Timel
#376 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Safa
Riad Safa
#134 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Eden
Riad Eden
#189 of 1,162 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#225 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tayib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tayib

Property: Riad Dar Tayib
Address: Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Tayib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing