We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comptoir Darna Marrakech

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Ranked #23 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Comptoir Darna is an important nightlife attraction in Marrakech, which has arrived on the scene in 1999. It proposes a perfect fusion between the orient and the occident. It is « THE » place in the red city where every night is party night. Comptoir Darna is where we live unforgettable moments, where we meet and exchange mutual experiences... It is the house of the traveler, an unavoidable pause on the caravan trail. “Darna” in Arabic means “Our Home”, so: Welcome to your home !
tw
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Book for 9.30 or so, have a decent local style meal after a couple of cocktails and enjoy the atmosphere and the entertainment.

Definitely worth a go and didn't feel like so many of the tourist sites we were trying to avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dale_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,741
    1,082
    225
    56
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food - not a great experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate at Comptoir Darna on Saturday night, food was excellent (shredded lamb and beef tagine were both exceptional) however thy cram you in and you cannot hear yourself speak over the noise. Also the amount of people smoking (we were situated upstairs) was incredible, and this really ruined our night - we couldnt wait to leave. The belly dancers were good, a bit tacky and touristy but all part of the fun, and the drinks were seriously overpriced. Overall I would say go for the food as it is good, however this is not the real Marrakech.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

After a love potion cocktail we enjoyed fantastic food and local wine and loved the entertainment! Belly dancers! Fantastic night! Ask for table inside!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish & Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A restaurant and cocktail bar with a twist. The live dance show was great and the place seamlessly blends the requirements of the locals in Marrakech's wealthiest suburb with visitors.

Helpful?
Thank foleytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

After being recommended this restaurant by a fellow traveller hubby & I traipsed along at 7pm unaware that the restaurant doesn't start serving until 8pm & that a booking is advisable. Staff were wonderful and managed to fit us in & served drinks on the beautiful terrace prior to our meal. The whole place is stunning & the.staff were incredibly friendly & attentive. We both opted for a tagine, hubby a meatball & myself a lamb. Food arrived very quickly & was ok but by no means anything special. Apparently the main attraction is the dancing which begins at 10.30 but having been there from 7 and having polished off a couple of cocktails & a lovely bottle of red wine we were ready to leave by 10 so unfortunately didn't get the full experience. Some of the tables are very close together, in fact so close that a private conversation is impossible. That said it was a lovely atmosphere with lots of chatting & laughing, real sociable happy place & just wish we had booked for later in the evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing