We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great atmosphere at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Darna Marrakech

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Ranked #24 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Comptoir Darna is an important nightlife attraction in Marrakech, which has arrived on the scene in 1999. It proposes a perfect fusion between the orient and the occident. It is « THE » place in the red city where every night is party night. Comptoir Darna is where we live unforgettable moments, where we meet and exchange mutual experiences... It is the house of the traveler, an unavoidable pause on the caravan trail. “Darna” in Arabic means “Our Home”, so: Welcome to your home !
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Recommended to us, it was an enjoyable evening with good food, great atmosphere, attentive service, but it is not cheap. Upon arrival, we were seated outside, which wasn't particularly appealing, so we asked to be moved inside. That's where the action was. We had the amazing 7 salad starter, which comes on a tall narrow cake stand plus a few more dishes. Hint: 2-3 people can share one of these. The menu is much like most Moroccan resaurants': tangibles and couscous. I had the Royal Couscous, which was huge and tasty. Try a Moroccan wine, like Domaine de Sahari. The belly dancing show was fantastic. Two women dance with a tray of candelabras on their heads, and the others do the standard belly jiggling. Do tip! They may even dance on your table. Dinner of three courses, a cocktail, bottle of wine for three: £200 - so, yes, London prices! Still worth going to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,553
    1,006
    233
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Booked to come here but on arrival they could not find our booking . Was seated near front of restaurant at the back and there was 6 of us. Felt we were overlooked as had to ask to order some drinks. Having waited a while , drinks finally turned up except 2 . Ordered food and again had to wait a long time . Beef tagine was plentiful . Belly dancers came on at 10.40 and by this time we had only just finished our main course . It was a very warm evening . On the whole an average meal with good entertainment . I personally preferred Le Fondouk to eat but as I had been their twice already was recommended this restaurant .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrinnyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and service, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Entertainment was very good, the food was very nice and well presented. The service was great, your glass was never empty. The restaurant itself is very nicely decorated. Both a romantic feel as well as just a good time. Drinks menu has everything and more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RakheeG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fun, great drinks, wonderful belly dancers but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I must say, if you're coming to Comptoir Darna, come on a Friday or a Saturday night, book your table for 830/9pm and make sure you stay long enough to enjoy the fantastic belly-dancing show which takes place at 1030pm ish. Otherwise there really is no point in coming here to be honest.

Come with the intention of spending some money, it is not a venue for spendthrifts, mainly because the wine list is so very good (for Morocco) but you have to pay for it and the cocktails are also super but expensive. The food really surprised me with it's quality and innovation but again, it is at the overpriced end of the spectrum and it is that value for money that stops it being a 5 star venue but, for a great night out in Marrakech to let your hair down, you'll struggle to find better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryAbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best Marrakech restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Le Comptoire is a brilliant restaurant with a moroccan twist. Though it serves moroccan food and international dishes the quality is superb. They also do excellent cocktails and the ambiance is delightful.

I would recommend it, though it is a world class restaurant and therefore you will pay for it. If you want excellent service try and avoid saturday night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibran608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing