We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, great drinks, wonderful belly dancers but pricey”

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Comptoir Darna is an important nightlife attraction in Marrakech, which has arrived on the scene in 1999. It proposes a perfect fusion between the orient and the occident. It is « THE » place in the red city where every night is party night. Comptoir Darna is where we live unforgettable moments, where we meet and exchange mutual experiences... It is the house of the traveler, an unavoidable pause on the caravan trail. “Darna” in Arabic means “Our Home”, so: Welcome to your home !
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fun, great drinks, wonderful belly dancers but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I must say, if you're coming to Comptoir Darna, come on a Friday or a Saturday night, book your table for 830/9pm and make sure you stay long enough to enjoy the fantastic belly-dancing show which takes place at 1030pm ish. Otherwise there really is no point in coming here to be honest.

Come with the intention of spending some money, it is not a venue for spendthrifts, mainly because the wine list is so very good (for Morocco) but you have to pay for it and the cocktails are also super but expensive. The food really surprised me with it's quality and innovation but again, it is at the overpriced end of the spectrum and it is that value for money that stops it being a 5 star venue but, for a great night out in Marrakech to let your hair down, you'll struggle to find better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryAbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,966
    1,210
    257
    62
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best Marrakech restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Le Comptoire is a brilliant restaurant with a moroccan twist. Though it serves moroccan food and international dishes the quality is superb. They also do excellent cocktails and the ambiance is delightful.

I would recommend it, though it is a world class restaurant and therefore you will pay for it. If you want excellent service try and avoid saturday night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibran608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing traditional Morrocan evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Walking into Comptoir sent a tingle through my body. The place was extremely welcoming, had a buzz in the air and the aromas were that one would expect from a traditional Morrocan restaurant. Make sure you dress up for dinner, I didnt see anyone in clothes that were not smart. We were shown upstairs to the bar area as we waited for a table - remember to book first as it gets very very busy otherwise expect to wait a while to be seated. Belly dancers parade through out the restaurant to give that traditional experience - the food was exceptional and very reasonably priced. If you like a tipple or two then you will find that this will be more than you would normally pay for alcohol and the cost of a bottle of wine from the bar will be double what you pay at your table. A truely fantastic night had by all. We recommend a visit to this quarter of Marrakech if you are in the area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A night packed with entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

During my hen trip in Marrakech this week, myself and 10 friends came for dinner here and had the most fun evening ever! We weren't expecting the food to be great because of other reviews but it was delicious!! A couple of people said the burger was too salty but I say that serves them right for ordering a burger in a Moroccan restaurant :)

Make sure you check out the actual wine list before looking at the wine on the menu given to you when having pre dinner drinks, we almost had a heart attack at the prices!! The cocktails are lovely, not to pricey, just what you'd expect to pay in a nice restaurant/bar.

The evening entertainment was great, after dinner we had belly dancing :) great fun, they even got us to join in dancing on the tables. Perfect for a Hen do!!

The dj was great fun, and the party carried on until 230am.

A cracking night for around £60 per person for 2 courses, bottles and bottles of wine and top notch entertainment!

Highly recommended!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Place of breathtaking performances manner and adjacent tables with each eating fun and delicious and the restaurant staff the reception and presentation professionals and the general atmosphere is beautiful and strange and recreational paragraphs very beautiful, but there is one negative and a few tables lighting is very narrow and contiguous

Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing