We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unexpected pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Darna Marrakech

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Ranked #25 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Comptoir Darna is an important nightlife attraction in Marrakech, which has arrived on the scene in 1999. It proposes a perfect fusion between the orient and the occident. It is « THE » place in the red city where every night is party night. Comptoir Darna is where we live unforgettable moments, where we meet and exchange mutual experiences... It is the house of the traveler, an unavoidable pause on the caravan trail. “Darna” in Arabic means “Our Home”, so: Welcome to your home !
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Unexpected pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We found this place by chance, but were impressed. The setting is nice, the food good and very drinkable Moroccan wine. There was some discrete Moroccan music when we were there, and I think later they have some more lively entertainment. Recommended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,498
    985
    231
    54
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirdford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“atmospheric and highly entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Been here twice, It's a bit pricey but highly entertaining people watching, the food was very good, and the dancers made our night! perfect for a treat on a special occasion, 13 of us enjoyed our meals, I would go again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dolly_saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bizarre place, not in a good way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is apparently one of Marrakech's most exclusive venues. I went there one night with my wife. We were bewildered. It's a cross between a nightclub and a restaurant. It's expensive, dark, has lots of red velvet curtains and heavily made up waitresses. After ten O Clock there's a live "show". It's all very Austin Powers. This place could be fun in a group or if you're a premiership footballer who misses the west end. If you want a classy evening, give it a wide berth.

Helpful?
5 Thank Gastronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Local food with belly dancers to make the evening special! Very good service, food very good. You must book as it gets very busy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looks nice, only ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Bit disappointed with this. The food was certainly reasonable, but for a supposedly top place it wasn’t all that, certainly not for the money. Service was slightly annoying (taking a wine bottle out of my hand, always on my shoulder) while the tajine wasn’t anything special, and even found the show they put on a bit naff. Better places to spend your money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenH5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing