We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Restaurant beautiful... but expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Narwama

Narwama
Ranked #195 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $32 - $64
Cuisines: Moroccan, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open since August 2004, Narwama has become an address not too be missed, where your dinner experience will be turned into a fairy tale. Narwama literally means "Fire & Water", the fusion with arts and culture, where amazing experiences and magic evenings are set in a palace, classified world heritage by the UNESCO. Unique Thai restaurant in Marrakesh, the 2 Thai chefs elaborates an authentic cuisine with ingredients that are directly imported from Bangkok. Narwama also offers an array of refined and subtle Moroccan specialties. The fusion is daring but we have to admit it the result is unbelievable. More than what is already said, the lounge bar atmosphere is intoxicating, joined by fusion music and delicious house cocktails. Daily entertainments and art performances from artists around the world, Narwama will take you to Wonderland!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Restaurant beautiful... but expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I realised this time round that Marrakech is no longer a cheap destination to go. Yes cheap to get there but everything else is really just London prices in disguise. This restaurant is no exception. To get to this place, which is hidden some dirty ally ways in between some posh hotels. You would of thought with the price they are charging, they would make a bit more effort to make the entrance to place... cleaner. The restaurant inside, is not doubt gorgeous, glamorous, romantic. But the food was expensive... even for london prices! And i would say it tasted just like standard thai takeaway, but with nice decoration on the side. We just had 4 main meals and 2 cocktails, a beer (tin beer... not even bottled). And a mocktail... this cost us around £120... Which i think is alot especially when theres nothing too it.

The only reason why we went there because 7 years, still being students we couldnt afford it... and now we can... we really probably should of bothered...well not eating there anyway...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dby_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    66
    30
    32
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very expensive for what you get, service bad as we did not get what we ordered even though there were only 2 other tables occupied and when we came to pay (even though it stated it) we could not pay by credit card as the machine was broken? However another couple came in after us and specifically asked if they could pay by card and were told yes!! Defintiely not recommeded.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just had a meal at Narwama, nice venue but very pricey. Cost twice what you would pay in England and afterwards despite advertising they take credit cards could not accept. 1000 dhms for 2 with starter, main and cheapest bottle of wine. £4 for bottle of water.
Complete rip off. There are better and cheaper places to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“well worth the search”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stunning restaurant, beautifully decorated, fire/water fountain. A real escape from medina mayhem. Very good service and delicious food, had a selection of thai starters, phad thai and chicken and cashew nuts. Not easy to find but just keep asking the locals for directions as you won't believe the sight that awaits you as you enter the restaurant..beautiful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located behind the Club Med, follow the guide along the narrow street and emerge at a beautifull mansion building.

Great Thai food in a wonderfull setting

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank stomper0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing