We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really good food, just very expensive!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narwama

Narwama
Ranked #237 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open since August 2004, Narwama has become an address not too be missed, where your dinner experience will be turned into a fairy tale. Narwama literally means "Fire & Water", the fusion with arts and culture, where amazing experiences and magic evenings are set in a palace, classified world heritage by the UNESCO. Unique Thai restaurant in Marrakesh, the 2 Thai chefs elaborates an authentic cuisine with ingredients that are directly imported from Bangkok. Narwama also offers an array of refined and subtle Moroccan specialties. The fusion is daring but we have to admit it the result is unbelievable. More than what is already said, the lounge bar atmosphere is intoxicating, joined by fusion music and delicious house cocktails. Daily entertainments and art performances from artists around the world, Narwama will take you to Wonderland!
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good food, just very expensive!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I stumbled across this restaurant during the day however it was closed and decided to come back in the evening. The decor is beautiful and the restaurant creates this feeling you are outdoors which is actually not the case. The restaurant was not busy so we had very attentive service and our food came within good time. The food was very good and good portions. Just after my starter I was nearly full. The only but main downside is the meal was very expensive. We had two courses and only had a bottle of water and a soft drink each and this came to just over 800dh. Very expensive meal for two considering we didn't order any alcohol!! But the food was good and filled us up after walking around the square for hours, so on this occasion we did not have too much cause to grumble especially after eating in other places around the square for less but also with less quality.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Innocent99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    61
    30
    30
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant largely due to the good reviews seen on Trip Advisor. However I was astonished at the prices. I really don't expect to be paying London prices in Morocco, a country where you can eat great food for really good prices. We sat down, the place looked half full or so and there only appeared to be one waiter. He left us for around 10 mins with our menu, which we perused. All mains were over 20 euro and even a bowl of white rice was 8 euro. I didn't dare look at the wine list. So we got up and left. Admittedly the setting was interesting. But I wasn't going to pay those prices!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LakeComoExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“touristic trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

nice decor and atmosphere but it is a very expensive touristic trap. The service was slow and there were several tables that were empty. The food was ok, but the portions were small and the price high.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's a Shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great setting with authentic Thai food. It's a shame that it is empty, expensive and poorly run. I expect that within the next couple of times we visit Marrakech this restaurant will not be there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning decor but overpriced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to this restaurant last week, 1) because I needed something other than tagine and 2) the restaurant we wanted was full.

The restaurant itself was gorgeous. The rooms were large and had really high ceilings and sumptuously furnished. To reiterate the other reviewers here, the restaurant was completely empty. I think in the 2 hours we were there, they had 4 tables of 2 (including us) and it didn't look like it was going to get any busier (there was only 2 members of staff on duty in front of house). I only rate average for atmosphere because of the lack of diners.

The food was delicious! The thom yum gai wasn't as hot as I am used to but tasty; the DH had some sort of salad which was nice. We had beef massamam curry (which tasted very much like lamb both in texture and lamby taste!); beef red curry - yum! and pad thai. None of the dishes had much heat (chilli). The pad thai noodles were quite gluey but good flavour. The portions were good and we were totally fully so didn't sample any desserts.

The only down side to this restaurant is the price - very expensive what what you get. It was good but not THAT good. Poor value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing