We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, just very expensive!!”
Review of Narwama

Narwama
Ranked #140 of 916 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $35 - $71
Cuisines: Moroccan, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open since August 2004, Narwama has become an address not too be missed, where your dinner experience will be turned into a fairy tale. Narwama literally means "Fire & Water", the fusion with arts and culture, where amazing experiences and magic evenings are set in a palace, classified world heritage by the UNESCO. . Narwama offers an array of refined and subtle Moroccan specialties. The fusion is daring but we have to admit it the result is unbelievable. More than what is already said, the lounge bar atmosphere is intoxicating, joined by fusion music and delicious house cocktails. Daily entertainments and art performances from artists around the world, Narwama will take you to Wonderland!
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I stumbled across this restaurant during the day however it was closed and decided to come back in the evening. The decor is beautiful and the restaurant creates this feeling you are outdoors which is actually not the case. The restaurant was not busy so we had very attentive service and our food came within good time. The food was very good and good portions. Just after my starter I was nearly full. The only but main downside is the meal was very expensive. We had two courses and only had a bottle of water and a soft drink each and this came to just over 800dh. Very expensive meal for two considering we didn't order any alcohol!! But the food was good and filled us up after walking around the square for hours, so on this occasion we did not have too much cause to grumble especially after eating in other places around the square for less but also with less quality.

Thank Innocent99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 352 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant largely due to the good reviews seen on Trip Advisor. However I was astonished at the prices. I really don't expect to be paying London prices in Morocco, a country where you can eat great food for really good prices. We sat down, the place looked half full or so and there only appeared to be one waiter. He left us for around 10 mins with our menu, which we perused. All mains were over 20 euro and even a bowl of white rice was 8 euro. I didn't dare look at the wine list. So we got up and left. Admittedly the setting was interesting. But I wasn't going to pay those prices!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank LakeComoExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broardelle a, Responsable relations clients at Narwama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Bonjour, la direction de l'établissement a changé mi 2017. Tout le personel également.
Sachez que nous ne cautionnont absolument pas les désagréments que vous relatez.
Nos standards de qualité sont très élévés. Nous vous invitons a venir redécouvrir un nouveau Narwama, toujours dans ses lieux aussi magiques et magnifiques et, aujourd'hui avec un service et une qualité que vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs.
La nouvelle carte, exclusivement marocaine, propose des tarifs bien abordables.
Chaque soir un spectacle vous enchantera, danse du ventre, musiciens, cracheurs de feu et bien plus encore.
Nous vous invitons à lire les commentaires plus récents afin de vous convaincre qu'aujourd'hui, Narwama apporte plaisirs et bonheur à ses convives.
A bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

nice decor and atmosphere but it is a very expensive touristic trap. The service was slow and there were several tables that were empty. The food was ok, but the portions were small and the price high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank travelwith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broardelle a, Responsable relations clients at Narwama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Bonjour, la direction de l'établissement a changé mi 2017. Tout le personel également.
Sachez que nous ne cautionnont absolument pas les désagréments que vous relatez.
Nos standards de qualité sont très élévés. Nous vous invitons a venir redécouvrir un nouveau Narwama, toujours dans ses lieux aussi magiques et magnifiques et, aujourd'hui avec un service et une qualité que vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs.
La nouvelle carte, exclusivement marocaine, propose des tarifs bien abordables.
Chaque soir un spectacle vous enchantera, danse du ventre, musiciens, cracheurs de feu et bien plus encore.
Nous vous invitons à lire les commentaires plus récents afin de vous convaincre qu'aujourd'hui, Narwama apporte plaisirs et bonheur à ses convives.
A bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great setting with authentic Thai food. It's a shame that it is empty, expensive and poorly run. I expect that within the next couple of times we visit Marrakech this restaurant will not be there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broardelle a, Responsable relations clients at Narwama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Bonjour, la direction de l'établissement a changé mi 2017. Tout le personel également.
Sachez que nous ne cautionnont absolument pas les désagréments que vous relatez.
Nos standards de qualité sont très élévés. Nous vous invitons a venir redécouvrir un nouveau Narwama, toujours dans ses lieux aussi magiques et magnifiques et, aujourd'hui avec un service et une qualité que vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs.
La nouvelle carte, exclusivement marocaine, propose des tarifs bien abordables.
Chaque soir un spectacle vous enchantera, danse du ventre, musiciens, cracheurs de feu et bien plus encore.
Nous vous invitons à lire les commentaires plus récents afin de vous convaincre qu'aujourd'hui, Narwama apporte plaisirs et bonheur à ses convives.
A bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to this restaurant last week, 1) because I needed something other than tagine and 2) the restaurant we wanted was full.

The restaurant itself was gorgeous. The rooms were large and had really high ceilings and sumptuously furnished. To reiterate the other reviewers here, the restaurant was completely empty. I think in the 2 hours we were there, they had 4 tables of 2 (including us) and it didn't look like it was going to get any busier (there was only 2 members of staff on duty in front of house). I only rate average for atmosphere because of the lack of diners.

The food was delicious! The thom yum gai wasn't as hot as I am used to but tasty; the DH had some sort of salad which was nice. We had beef massamam curry (which tasted very much like lamb both in texture and lamby taste!); beef red curry - yum! and pad thai. None of the dishes had much heat (chilli). The pad thai noodles were quite gluey but good flavour. The portions were good and we were totally fully so didn't sample any desserts.

The only down side to this restaurant is the price - very expensive what what you get. It was good but not THAT good. Poor value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing