We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Completely empty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Narwama

Narwama
hay zefriti | rue koutoubia 30, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 672-508700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open since August 2004, Narwama has become an address not too be missed, where your dinner experience will be turned into a fairy tale. Narwama literally means "Fire & Water", the fusion with arts and culture, where amazing experiences and magic evenings are set in a palace, classified world heritage by the UNESCO. Unique Thai restaurant in Marrakesh, the 2 Thai chefs elaborates an authentic cuisine with ingredients that are directly imported from Bangkok. Narwama also offers an array of refined and subtle Moroccan specialties. The fusion is daring but we have to admit it the result is unbelievable. More than what is already said, the lounge bar atmosphere is intoxicating, joined by fusion music and delicious house cocktails. Daily entertainments and art performances from artists around the world, Narwama will take you to Wonderland!
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Completely empty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

we went to this restaurant on a tuesday evening and it was completely empty. We decided to stay because the restaurant is really nice but after eating our dinner and paying our bill we were completely dissapointed. Too expensive for a poor meal. Don't bother to go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MARIANA_m_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    61
    30
    30
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning setting, doesn't deserve to be empty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This restaurant is truly jaw dropping when you walk in. It feels like you have stumbled across a hidden palace. Photographs do not do the place justice. Three of us had dinner here for a birthday celebration.
We had already had copious amounts of nuts and olives with cocktails at the hotel near-by ( Les Jardins De La Koutoubia ) so we didn't have a starter. We all ordered Thai food which was delicious. The music is very atmospheric and I noticed the roof over the courtyard could be opened. We were there in February , I imagine on a hot summer evening with the roof open it is even more magical.

I felt a little sad for the restaurant though as it was practically empty. There were only two other tables occupied. Because of this our food came quite quickly , although as I said we didn't have starters ( so our fault ) the dessert menu was very sparse and seemed expensive and the one thing I asked for they didn't have. Because of all these things I felt the meal was over really quickly. They did bring out a cake with a candle for our birthday celebration and sang Happy Birthday !
It is a bit expensive compared to the rest of Marrakech but is worth it and it is nice to eat something a little different. We all tend to get a little tagine'd out on our trips !

The one thing it lacks is people and the atmosphere that they create , I can't understand why it isn't more popular. We wondered if it was the time of year or that people felt it was a little expensive. I would definitely return here , this place would be amazing if only it was fuller ! As other people have said , it is like a film set , it just needs a few more actors !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kazza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning setting but disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The restaurant is absolutely stunning, service very friendly, but the main course was disappointing. We had the steamed lamb, but it was cold. Maybe just bad luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GerlaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

fabulous fabulous fabulous. I was on a movie set and the main actress. My job was only to enjoy the great wine and amazing food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident and because it looked fabulous we decided to eat there. We both had food off the Thai menu and it was superb. It was slightly dearer than a lot of restaurants in Marrakech ( we paid 800 dirhams, approx £60 ) but we did have drinks and it was well worth it. The only shame was that there weren't many people in but then we did go in the winter and it was tucked away off a main street.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing