We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent thai restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narwama

Narwama
Ranked #267 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open since August 2004, Narwama has become an address not too be missed, where your dinner experience will be turned into a fairy tale. Narwama literally means "Fire & Water", the fusion with arts and culture, where amazing experiences and magic evenings are set in a palace, classified world heritage by the UNESCO. Unique Thai restaurant in Marrakesh, the 2 Thai chefs elaborates an authentic cuisine with ingredients that are directly imported from Bangkok. Narwama also offers an array of refined and subtle Moroccan specialties. The fusion is daring but we have to admit it the result is unbelievable. More than what is already said, the lounge bar atmosphere is intoxicating, joined by fusion music and delicious house cocktails. Daily entertainments and art performances from artists around the world, Narwama will take you to Wonderland!
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

amazingly hidden restaurant in the centre of Marrakech. well worth the search ! A fantastic fire and water feature dominates the centre of this restaurant. Excellent thai food and very courteous staff. You think you are inside but infact you are looking up to the stars....very special.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    61
    30
    30
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bland and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Even though there was tons of delicious-smelling food being grilled up and served in Djemma el-Fna, my wife and I foolishly decided to go to Narwama due to its recommendation in Lonely Planet. It was a huge mistake - first, all the prices were roughly double what was listed in LP (and the management had just put stickers over the old prices, so you could see that they just jacked things up once they got the recommendation); second - the food was very disappointing. Both the green curry and the spicy chicken we ordered were virtually tasteless, and I'm embarassed to say that this meal cost us more than double what we would ordinarily pay for (good) Thai food back home. Please do not make the same mistake we did...avoid this restaurant!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem in once found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a fantastic Thai restaurant in Marrakech, a little on the pricey side but the quality of the dishes would give Bangkok a run for it's money.

The setting is amazing and when the roof is open, looking up at the stars is very peacefully and you suddenly forget the chaos of the Medina.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guia, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Narwama restaurant:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is one of the nicest restaurants - decor I have ever seen. The lighting etc. is done to perfection. Beautiful surroundings but the food is very over priced. Cocktails were expensive around 99d. compared to 80 in our 5* hotel. Worth a visit as it is very beautiful*
Best to check out the menu prices first though.
I would go back for drinks only.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dlmmcfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not very good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It's a Moroccan-Thai restaurant if you can imagine such a thing. The restaurant is an old riad and is a very impressive space, though it was almost empty when we were there. We chose Thai items. We were very disappointed. The food was pretty tasteless. Between us we had about ten different dishes and none of them were even interesting. It was also VERY expensive -- not worth it at all. Service was slow even though there were so few diners there. I see why it's not popular.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terrence o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing