We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
Ranked #41 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Unlike other reviewers we did not book, but it was lunchtime! The food was excellent. The Moroccan salads as starter came with 15 varieties. The couscous with caramelised onions was sweet and succulent.
The all female staff were friendly and charming.
Not more expensive than other good restaurants

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nandgNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    637
    224
    78
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

the food here is something to write home about, I like to eat here everytime i come to marrakech, if in the busy season you will have to book a table as the restuarant is very popular with local as well as tourist customers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fionaandbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a fantastic meal here recently. The meal cost £65 for 2 of us, that included 3 courses and a bottle of wine.

We chose it because it was listed in most of the guides as being one of the top restaurants and it was totally run by women. We were lucky to get a table, the owners of the Riad in which we were staying booked us the last table and the restaurant was also fully booked the following night. So if you fancy going make sure you book in advance.

We had a chicken tagine with caramelised pumpkin and onions and a lamb tagine with caramelised tomatoes and onions. They were both delicious.

Can't fault the attentive service or the food - excellent meal. Just wish we could have finished it all!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesharpe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb ambiance and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Worth every minute and dirham. Great food and excellent staff. Great fun and cultural experience. We tried all the tagine dishes, each one tasted better!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GhanaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm only giving this three stars, because we had better meals in Marrakech at much less cost. The restaurant is known for only employing women, from the wait staff to the chefs, which is a rarity in Morocco.

The reason I'm ranking this as average is because the food was the very basic Moroccan selections, in huge portions, that tasted average, but had high prices. The service was also on the slow side. As for ambience, the restaurant is definitely fine dining with a dimly lit, romantic feel. Most patrons are tourists. As for location, Al Fassia is located outside the medina and is not walkable from most hotels. This was a definite downside as we had to get a driver to and from the restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emkase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing