We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
Ranked #46 of 758 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited the one near Carrefour in Agdal .food was good nothing special. Service slow even though place was not very busy. I wouldn't recommend it at all. Staff are useless and we had to get up and call for them to order anything. Bread wasn't even served with the salads they forgot. After we paid I complained to the manager who defended the place and said we didn't serve bread so you are not full before your meal. Desserts not great and they had items not available on the menu and only one flavour ice cream

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fara777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    631
    221
    77
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable surroundings with good service. Chicken pastilla was delicious. It was full of lots of nuts which made it fairly filling. We shared 2 salads between our group of 4 and was served up 10 or so small plates of varied vegetables all with different flavours and textures. 2 of us opted for the lamb tagine with aubergine, 1 for the lamb tagine with almonds, the other for meatballs. We were all very satisfied with the dishes. Worked out around 260 dirhams per head (starter, main and soft drinks). Booking was advised and arranged by our Riad manager. It was a 25 minute walk from the Medina where we syayed, around 1.6km.

Helpful?
Thank DozingBear
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had lunch here on our last day of holiday. We had mixed kebab and chicken couscous. It was the best meal we have had in Marrakech.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chris28sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
187 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Total winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant in Marrakech's Gueliz (the new town) just off the Avenue Mohammed V is a total winner. We often visit Marrakech with friends and always go there. It's great for special occasions, e.g. birthdays. The restaurant is entirely run by women - the only one like this in Marrakech - the food is brilliant and in hearty portions, and the atmosphere and decor really beautiful. It's very relaxed but the service is excellent. The only thing is that it's so popular that you do need to book in advance - don't do this via their website, but phone them. For Fri-Sun visits, book at least a week in advance - it's worth the long-distance phone call before you go to make sure you have a table! Get a petit taxi there - all the taxi drivers know where it is.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good traditional food, but make sure to book!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My friend and I visited Al Fassia after seeing it in near to every guidebook on Marrakech that's ever been published. The place was fully-booked on a wednesday night, so i'm really glad we booked in advance.The food we had was really delicious, although I was envious that we didn't pre-order the popular slow roasted lamb shoulder which everyone around us seemed to be eating. You know lamb will be good when the waitress cuts the meat with a spoon...

The lamb and onion tagine I had was delicious, my friend opted for a lamb and aubergine dish which was also very good. Unfortunately the Moroccan rosé we wanted was out of stock, so we opted for a more expensive bottle, which was still very good.

Service here was generally good, I think it helped we could both speak French. Most of the waitresses don't speak English, but don't let it put you off, they're all very helpful. A good restaurant serving good food, and a good chance to check out the Gueliz neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing