We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good traditional food, but make sure to book!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
Ranked #44 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good traditional food, but make sure to book!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My friend and I visited Al Fassia after seeing it in near to every guidebook on Marrakech that's ever been published. The place was fully-booked on a wednesday night, so i'm really glad we booked in advance.The food we had was really delicious, although I was envious that we didn't pre-order the popular slow roasted lamb shoulder which everyone around us seemed to be eating. You know lamb will be good when the waitress cuts the meat with a spoon...

The lamb and onion tagine I had was delicious, my friend opted for a lamb and aubergine dish which was also very good. Unfortunately the Moroccan rosé we wanted was out of stock, so we opted for a more expensive bottle, which was still very good.

Service here was generally good, I think it helped we could both speak French. Most of the waitresses don't speak English, but don't let it put you off, they're all very helpful. A good restaurant serving good food, and a good chance to check out the Gueliz neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    631
    221
    77
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Morrocan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

If you like it, make sure to pre-order the lamb shoulder. It is slow roasted, soft and delicious. Also make sure to try the specialty pigeon pastilla. Wonderful light flaky layered pastry, minced pigeon and delicate spices including nutmeg, superb. Of course the chicken tagines are also excellent.

Friendly female staff. Not all speak good English but the maitre d' takes care of that.

Not to be missed.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMcBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“best targine in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

highly recommend to BOOK!We were lucky enough to get a table while walking in thought it was a small table that could only fit say 5 comfortable seat people, we managed to squeeze 13 people!
The food lives up to its name and standard as the best targine in marrakech! order everything if you can :) Yes, its name comes with a price but you're on holiday so why not splurge ;p

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lot of expectations because of nice reviews and recommendations.
Place was nice and full of people. Staff was also friendly but we were a little disappointed with the food. Maybe because of too many Tajines already, but it didn´t convinced us. If you are a vegetarian, there is not much to choose from.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pihtsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit if you're in the New Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited Al Fassia on a weekday lunchtime, on the recommendation of our riad. I'm glad we did.

We walked from the Medina to the Majorelle Garden, popped into the nearby supermarket for some supplies, then to Al Fassia. For some reason I thought it would be bustling and stressful, but in fact it was like walking into a quiet Indian restaurant in the UK: polite, attentive, relaxing and delicious. Make sure you order a pastilla or two. I was predictable and had a tagine - it was wonderful. Bottle of wine to help it go down and ease the stress of Marrakech ("Square? You want Square? This way! Follow me. Square this way!" etc.)

If you go, note that the entrance is recessed a bit from the road. The establishment with tables right on the pavement next to the Al Fassia sign is a different place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing