We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious authentic Morrocan food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
Ranked #52 of 848 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Morrocan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

If you like it, make sure to pre-order the lamb shoulder. It is slow roasted, soft and delicious. Also make sure to try the specialty pigeon pastilla. Wonderful light flaky layered pastry, minced pigeon and delicate spices including nutmeg, superb. Of course the chicken tagines are also excellent.

Friendly female staff. Not all speak good English but the maitre d' takes care of that.

Not to be missed.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMcBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,050
    718
    259
    91
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“best targine in marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

highly recommend to BOOK!We were lucky enough to get a table while walking in thought it was a small table that could only fit say 5 comfortable seat people, we managed to squeeze 13 people!
The food lives up to its name and standard as the best targine in marrakech! order everything if you can :) Yes, its name comes with a price but you're on holiday so why not splurge ;p

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lot of expectations because of nice reviews and recommendations.
Place was nice and full of people. Staff was also friendly but we were a little disappointed with the food. Maybe because of too many Tajines already, but it didn´t convinced us. If you are a vegetarian, there is not much to choose from.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pihtsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit if you're in the New Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited Al Fassia on a weekday lunchtime, on the recommendation of our riad. I'm glad we did.

We walked from the Medina to the Majorelle Garden, popped into the nearby supermarket for some supplies, then to Al Fassia. For some reason I thought it would be bustling and stressful, but in fact it was like walking into a quiet Indian restaurant in the UK: polite, attentive, relaxing and delicious. Make sure you order a pastilla or two. I was predictable and had a tagine - it was wonderful. Bottle of wine to help it go down and ease the stress of Marrakech ("Square? You want Square? This way! Follow me. Square this way!" etc.)

If you go, note that the entrance is recessed a bit from the road. The establishment with tables right on the pavement next to the Al Fassia sign is a different place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great lemon chicken tagine. Don't let them trick you though, the portions are more than enough for two people if you get the salads (which will fill your table with little plates, very good!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank farang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing