We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!”
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
Ranked #56 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Came here for lunch. Tried their starter - an assortment of seasoned vegetables (MAD 80) and meatball tagine (MAD 110). Both were impressive but portions were very big! They also serve very tasty bread, which was unlimited. You can ask for as many as you want. Prices were more than reasonable. Service was absolutely fantastic - the waitress even took a picture for us! Table was a bit low but chairs were very comfy.
NB: They want everyone at the table to order a main or you have to leave, so make sure everyone is hungry before coming to this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheesyreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    758
    274
    97
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grumpy staff, delicious food”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Since this restaurant was around the corner from our hotel we decided to pay it a visit.
We did not make a reservation and that is where the trouble started. The main lady, who only spoke French, clearly was not amused by guests just popping in. While ordering, she almost forced us to choose a certain appetizer (selection of salads: DELICIOUS!) and only wanted to sell wine by the bottle.

Main course was as good as any tajine/couscous at Dh 130.

Good choice if you're hungry and in the neighbourhood, but there are more hospitable restaurants in the Nouvelle Ville.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arjen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good service, excelent food”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Although we have reserved a table for 8:30pm and arrived at 9:30pm, the lady at the front desk received us with a big smile and accommodated us promptly in a very good table. With the exception of one waitress, the staff was very kind. We have ordered the salad -- 15 small dishes, some of them very tasty and others not that much. The main course was excellent; in fact the couscous with caramelized onions was superb. The lamb with almonds tagine my wife ordered was also great. We have been to very good restaurants in Morocco and the taste of the dishes was incredible in comparison to what we had. The desert was also great (huge portion) but not extraordinary. With wine included, we paid app. 70 EUR. It may be touristy, but surely not a trap. Highly recommended. Don't forget to reserve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HKFrizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic Morrocan restaurant”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Got the name of this place from our hamman guy. It's a beautiful little restaurant often frequented by the locals. The food was exquisite and the atmosphere good. The tajines were the best we've had and the pidpeon pie is recommended.
However, the staff only speak French, which isn't a bad thing, but can make ordering a little more difficult. We were then also given the wrong dish. Which was drlicious as well.

Overall a must-have-been for Marrakech.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice local restaurant!!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Everything in this restaurant is perfect: from the staff to the food!
Prices are a little too high but you forget them thanks to the rest :)
Very highly recommanded!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fran2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing