We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of town and better for it. More locals than tourists.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
Ranked #51 of 848 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of town and better for it. More locals than tourists.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This restaurant is just past the Carrefour superstore should your taxi driver be unsure of location. Delightful decor and excellent service of memorable food. Best recomendation is the number of local people using the restaurant. Food is Moroccan at its best. Even if tagined out this establishment will be memorable for the quality of everything. Unlike many restaurants relying on tourists the portions were large. Still has 3 courses with the soup being memorable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    717
    258
    91
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant during our trip - visit at least twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Al fassia restaurant has a great atmosphere, friendly and warm service by all-women staff and real local dishes. We visited this place in the end of our trip and had paid the double amount for far worse dinners. Visit this place at least twice to experience more of the delicious dishes!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gyr787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A real home made food from the refined city of Fes, and served by great beautiful ladies, owned by women and only women can work there, hence the excellent quality! A must try in Marrakeh and ask for the Lamb confite.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful salad assortment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was not looking forward to negotiating a taxi ride to Fassia, but I think it was worth the experience. We shared the assorted salads, 15 in all. Really fresh with interesting flavor profiles. Consistent with the other reviewers, it appeared to be full of travelers. But really, most people eating out in Marrakech appeared to be tourists. I enjoyed the chicken tagine with caramelized pumpkin. Our taxi gave us his number and the restaurant called him when we were finished. It was easy to return to our Riad.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Moroccan Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Probably my biggest disappointment in Morocco was the food. The stuff I've had in the UK and France, purporting to be Moroccan, has been wonderful so I was expecting a treat. This place, along with a meal at our Riad (Sbihi) this served the best we had but at the end of the day, it was a tasty salad followed by stew and couscous. I quite like stew and couscous but I don't think it's worthy of a reputation. The salads were more worth of note. Service fine, place was heaving, make sure you book more than a day in advance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Old007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing