We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
Ranked #42 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Moroccan Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Probably my biggest disappointment in Morocco was the food. The stuff I've had in the UK and France, purporting to be Moroccan, has been wonderful so I was expecting a treat. This place, along with a meal at our Riad (Sbihi) this served the best we had but at the end of the day, it was a tasty salad followed by stew and couscous. I quite like stew and couscous but I don't think it's worthy of a reputation. The salads were more worth of note. Service fine, place was heaving, make sure you book more than a day in advance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Old007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    637
    226
    78
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“For tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The night we were there, it was a tourist only clientele. That somehow makes you think you are in a tourist trap. Although the food is not bad, it is nothing special either. In combination with the prices, it is indeed a tourist trap.
Service by the two main ladies was a bit rough, other personnel was quite friendly.
Would not recommend if you also dare to seek out the places that cater more to the locals.

Helpful?
Thank lli_030
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Touristic trap - poor quality food - to be avoided”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am very often in Marrakech as I have a holiday home there, but it was the first time I went to eat in the mytic Al Fassia. I was very disappointed. The service was mediocre, tables low and cramped. But the worst was the food. We ordered a chicken tajine with pumpkin and a chicken tajine with almonds and oignons. The tajine were served surprisingly rapidly. But actually we discovered that the chicken was just heated up, far too dry and the sauce was only added over the chicken. Normally the chicken should have been cooked with the ingredients. Both Tajines had the same insipid oignons, mine had some mashed pumpkin added and my sister had some not even grilled almonds added. Tasteless meal smacking of industrial and touristic preparation. Very disappointing. Not to be recommended. We will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Superb food and service, excellent menu and good value for money, worth the trip out from central Marrakech.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, small chairs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was one of our top two restaurants in Marrakech, the menu is one of the rare a la carte menus in the city, and we were grateful to have something tyoically Moroccan that wasn't the usual salads-pastilla-tagine. It's definitely got a different vibe to the other restaurants - whether it's because its run by women I couldn't say but it was full to bursting and for good reason. Go!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KT_1000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing