We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamaga Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bamaga Hotel to your Saves list
Riad Bamaga Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I greatly enjoyed staying in this riad. Not only the beautiful rooms, but what made it special was the warm welcome, help and care of the owners, Colette and Jean-Jacques. They made our stay to a delightful and it felt really like coming home. French charm, Arabic hospitality and refined taste : all in one. In the morning breakfast on the roof terrace with little colourful birds singing and the whispering of a fountain in the court yard. Hard to imagine a better place to start and come back to in Marrakech. Highly recommended !
Malou Nozeman
Amsterdam-The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
200
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Riad is traditional and fabulous. The food is as good as, if not better than, any we experienced elsewhere. But above all of that you could not equal the welcome and friendliness you get from Collette, jean-Jacques and the staff.

I've stayed at Bamaga twice now and cannot recommend it more highly.

Apart from the friendliness of the owners their help in planning excursions and recommendations of where to go enhanced the whole experience of Marrakesh.

Room Tip: I've stayed in 2 different rooms. They are all spacious and clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 985Hils59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I very much enjoyed staying at Riad Bamaga. It has a beautiful courtyard, excellent roof terrace, nice big rooms, and was very clean and pleasant. After three days of hiking in the Atlas mountains it was pure luxury! The breakfast was delicious, with fresh orange juice, coffee, eggs, wonderful jams, and I really appreciated the way they provided some alternative bread as I can't eat wheat. It's about a 15 min walk to the main square, easy with the riad's good map, and I appreciated not being based right in the middle of the touristy section. Wish I was there now!

Room Tip: I stayed on both the ground and first floor, which were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Riad Bamaga was an exceptional place to stay in Marrakech. We stayed here in January 2012. It is run by Colette and Jean-Jacques, a lovely and caring french couple. They arranged a car to pick us up at the airport and met us at the drop off point to walk us the rest of the way to the Riad. They sat with us on our first day to give us maps, written directions to all the sites and all sorts of helpful hints. They also arranged our cooking school excursion (Faim d'epices). Colette and Jean-Jacques really, really care about making their guests comfortable and welcome.

We had an absolutely delicious chicken, olive and preserved lemon tagine on our first night. Our room was elegantly decorated in the local tradition. It was spacious with a big, clean bathroom with fluffy towels and bathrobes.

The roof terrace is lovely, but it was too cold to enjoy in January. I highly recommend Riad Bamaga and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here in March. The staff were very friendly, especially the Guard, Youseff. Our room was tidy, but there were stains in the shower. The breakfast was fair - morrocan bread, pancake, pastries and cake with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. We would have liked cereal or some other variation as the bread was a bit stodgy each morning. We were greeted on arrival with a lovely meal which was a lovely touch. We wanted to go to the atlas mountains and used a company that was recommended by the Riad. We were disappointed - it was expensive - no lunch included, the driver spoke average english and didn't say much ie explain where we were and a bit of history which we expected given the price. There were problems with his tourist insurance on the car so this caused a delay of 2 hours at Imil. However, the riad staff always tried to make us feel welcome and it was a nice introduction to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gortaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabymons, Propriétaire at Riad Bamaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.. I come back about your opinion, and give you some answer ;
I am sorry if you didn't agree with moroccan breakfast, and tell you my apologies ; It would be necessary for me to ask you about your taste, in order to know if you agree our choice.Sorry again. We welcome a lot of people, every day, and we meet a lot of people who like so much morrocan breakfast and food ! Really, I couldn't imagine that you weren't satisfied, and I 'm very disappointed. About your trip on the Atlas Mountains, I'm so disappointed also about your review. It's the first time for us with this bad feeling. Rachid is a good driver, and never want to embarrass you. Feeling didn't pass this time, and it's a pity. However, I think it's a good idea to suggest him to include some meal in the trip. I hope that your review 'll bring a better service to our customers. I hope so, Thank you ! Colette - riad BAMAGA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in the riad bamaga. The riad is beautiful, very peaceful, clean and the staff and owners are very helpful and welcoming. We had a complimentary meal on the first night which again was excellent. The walk into the main square takes about 15 - 20 mins (using the easy to follow map provided by the riad). We really enjoyed these walks as you pass through souks and little morroccan streets which really gives you a good insight into local life. Overall our experience in marrakech, helped by the riad bamaga was excellent, would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazbowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from our holiday in Marrakech having stayed at the Riad Bamaga for 4 nights. We were made to feel very welcome, it had a very relaxed environment and was furnished beautifully in a traditonal Moroccan style. The breakfast was great, fresh orange juice every morning brought to us on the roof terrace and the rooms themselves were very accomodating. Colette was so helpful and the other staff members could not do enough for you. We had a complimentary meal on our first night which was Moroccan salads, followed by a chicken lemon and olive tagine and strawberries for dessert. The meal was delicious amd could have fed 5 people! It was walking distance to all tourist attractions and we did not get a taxi once. The walk to the square is about 15 minutes. I would thoroughly recommend this riad for the location, the staff and the atmosphere. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#105 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#106 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#65 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga Hotel

Property: Riad Bamaga Hotel
Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bamaga is right in the heart of the medina of Marrakech in a traditional setting. Enjoy personalized service and comfortable rooms. The rooms are individually decorated in a Moroccan style and typical colors. They feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, minibar and broadband WiFi. The manager is always available to response your request . Tasty local dishes are available: you can enjoy them on the terrace, in the elegant patio or in the dining room. The roof terrace is ideal for relaxing in the evening. it offers panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. The (Médina) district is an ideal choice for travelers who are interested in these topics: shopping, markets and souks. It is the favorite area travelers visiting Marrakech, according to comments independent customers. We speak your language ! This offers the worthy of a four star services. Riad: 5 bedrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Bamaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing