We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Better than average accomodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Bamaga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Ranked #151 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Better than average accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here in March. The staff were very friendly, especially the Guard, Youseff. Our room was tidy, but there were stains in the shower. The breakfast was fair - morrocan bread, pancake, pastries and cake with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. We would have liked cereal or some other variation as the bread was a bit stodgy each morning. We were greeted on arrival with a lovely meal which was a lovely touch. We wanted to go to the atlas mountains and used a company that was recommended by the Riad. We were disappointed - it was expensive - no lunch included, the driver spoke average english and didn't say much ie explain where we were and a bit of history which we expected given the price. There were problems with his tourist insurance on the car so this caused a delay of 2 hours at Imil. However, the riad staff always tried to make us feel welcome and it was a nice introduction to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gortaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabymons, Propriétaire at Riad Bamaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.. I come back about your opinion, and give you some answer ;
I am sorry if you didn't agree with moroccan breakfast, and tell you my apologies ; It would be necessary for me to ask you about your taste, in order to know if you agree our choice.Sorry again. We welcome a lot of people, every day, and we meet a lot of people who like so much morrocan breakfast and food ! Really, I couldn't imagine that you weren't satisfied, and I 'm very disappointed. About your trip on the Atlas Mountains, I'm so disappointed also about your review. It's the first time for us with this bad feeling. Rachid is a good driver, and never want to embarrass you. Feeling didn't pass this time, and it's a pity. However, I think it's a good idea to suggest him to include some meal in the trip. I hope that your review 'll bring a better service to our customers. I hope so, Thank you ! Colette - riad BAMAGA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    32
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
204
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in the riad bamaga. The riad is beautiful, very peaceful, clean and the staff and owners are very helpful and welcoming. We had a complimentary meal on the first night which again was excellent. The walk into the main square takes about 15 - 20 mins (using the easy to follow map provided by the riad). We really enjoyed these walks as you pass through souks and little morroccan streets which really gives you a good insight into local life. Overall our experience in marrakech, helped by the riad bamaga was excellent, would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazbowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from our holiday in Marrakech having stayed at the Riad Bamaga for 4 nights. We were made to feel very welcome, it had a very relaxed environment and was furnished beautifully in a traditonal Moroccan style. The breakfast was great, fresh orange juice every morning brought to us on the roof terrace and the rooms themselves were very accomodating. Colette was so helpful and the other staff members could not do enough for you. We had a complimentary meal on our first night which was Moroccan salads, followed by a chicken lemon and olive tagine and strawberries for dessert. The meal was delicious amd could have fed 5 people! It was walking distance to all tourist attractions and we did not get a taxi once. The walk to the square is about 15 minutes. I would thoroughly recommend this riad for the location, the staff and the atmosphere. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Booked this road after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. Colette was phenomenal. Even before we arrived she answered numerous emails about everything from location of rooms to organising a transfer from the airport to organising day tours and trips with local tour operators.

Colette's warmth and enthusiasm made our trip. From meeting us at the parking and helping us with our bags to providing us with a detailed hand drawn map to navigate the souks, she catered to our every need.

The rooms were beautifully furnished with local handicrafts and was spacious enough to spread out in. The only small niggle was a musty smell coming from the drains of the bathroom. The staff at the riad were quick to address this and all was well for the remainder of our trip.

Riad Bamaga is conveniently located at one of the entrances to the souks. Took a very enjoyable 15 mins of meandering to reach the central square.

We enjoyed very tasty filling breakfasts every morning. Would like to make a special mention of the home cooked dinners the riad provides. Although not cheap, they gave us a true taste of authentic Moroccan cuisine. Ate there twice and both times came away completely happy with the quality.

Would also recommend using Colette's affiliated tour operatives. They were very professional, extremely friendly and much cheaper than the ones I found on any of the websites.

All in all, a fantastic Riad, with an extraordinarily hospitable owners. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaprobaneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Colette and Jean were first class hosts, and made us feel very much at home. They gave us a very helpful introduction to the city, with tips, maps that were better than any guide book. Breakfast was great and the rooms were so comfortable - not to mention the first class shower! The riad is just 15 minutes away from the main square passing through the souq. They also cater for coeliacs. Brilliant place, cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a groundfloor room and at first we were a bit apprehensive, but it turned out to be fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xmunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We loved this wonderful riad! Stayed there for three days in November 2011. Collette was so helpful (we had problems with our rented car and she helped a lot negotiating with Avis because we didn't speak French and they didn't speak English!)! The room was beautifully decorated and very cosy! The location of riad is very good - in the center of medina. I think it was the best hotel during our trip in morocco. I would recommend this riad to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaFleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Colette and Jean-Jacques made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. We definitely recommend organizing the airport transfer with Colette (€15 ea way), well worth it. We stayed in the Bab Doukkala room (second floor) which was very nice. The rooms are very spacious. They provided a lock for us so we could lock our door. They held our luggage for us for 3 days while we were in the desert. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Don't expect high-speed wireless internet, but this is normal. They do have a computer you can use but it's slow.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winecountryfanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#98 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#131 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#127 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#125 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#118 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga Hotel

Property: Riad Bamaga Hotel
Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bamaga is right in the heart of the medina of Marrakech in a traditional setting. Enjoy personalized service and comfortable rooms. The rooms are individually decorated in a Moroccan style and typical colors. They feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, minibar and broadband WiFi. The manager is always available to response your request . Tasty local dishes are available: you can enjoy them on the terrace, in the elegant patio or in the dining room. The roof terrace is ideal for relaxing in the evening. it offers panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. The (Médina) district is an ideal choice for travelers who are interested in these topics: shopping, markets and souks. It is the favorite area travelers visiting Marrakech, according to comments independent customers. We speak your language ! This offers the worthy of a four star services. Riad: 5 bedrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Bamaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing