We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hospitality went above and beyond. Amazing people. Phenomenal riad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamaga Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Ranked #97 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hospitality went above and beyond. Amazing people. Phenomenal riad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Booked this road after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. Colette was phenomenal. Even before we arrived she answered numerous emails about everything from location of rooms to organising a transfer from the airport to organising day tours and trips with local tour operators.

Colette's warmth and enthusiasm made our trip. From meeting us at the parking and helping us with our bags to providing us with a detailed hand drawn map to navigate the souks, she catered to our every need.

The rooms were beautifully furnished with local handicrafts and was spacious enough to spread out in. The only small niggle was a musty smell coming from the drains of the bathroom. The staff at the riad were quick to address this and all was well for the remainder of our trip.

Riad Bamaga is conveniently located at one of the entrances to the souks. Took a very enjoyable 15 mins of meandering to reach the central square.

We enjoyed very tasty filling breakfasts every morning. Would like to make a special mention of the home cooked dinners the riad provides. Although not cheap, they gave us a true taste of authentic Moroccan cuisine. Ate there twice and both times came away completely happy with the quality.

Would also recommend using Colette's affiliated tour operatives. They were very professional, extremely friendly and much cheaper than the ones I found on any of the websites.

All in all, a fantastic Riad, with an extraordinarily hospitable owners. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaprobaneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
200
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Colette and Jean were first class hosts, and made us feel very much at home. They gave us a very helpful introduction to the city, with tips, maps that were better than any guide book. Breakfast was great and the rooms were so comfortable - not to mention the first class shower! The riad is just 15 minutes away from the main square passing through the souq. They also cater for coeliacs. Brilliant place, cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a groundfloor room and at first we were a bit apprehensive, but it turned out to be fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xmunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We loved this wonderful riad! Stayed there for three days in November 2011. Collette was so helpful (we had problems with our rented car and she helped a lot negotiating with Avis because we didn't speak French and they didn't speak English!)! The room was beautifully decorated and very cosy! The location of riad is very good - in the center of medina. I think it was the best hotel during our trip in morocco. I would recommend this riad to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaFleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Colette and Jean-Jacques made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. We definitely recommend organizing the airport transfer with Colette (€15 ea way), well worth it. We stayed in the Bab Doukkala room (second floor) which was very nice. The rooms are very spacious. They provided a lock for us so we could lock our door. They held our luggage for us for 3 days while we were in the desert. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Don't expect high-speed wireless internet, but this is normal. They do have a computer you can use but it's slow.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winecountryfanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We chose Riad Bamaga after reading the previous reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived until we left we had fantastic hospitality. Colette was extremely helpful in
recommendations and making booking for us. It was a real haven to come back to after the chaos of the Medina. We had a room on the ground floor which was very clean and spacious, it was also extremely peaceful. We would highly recommend the Riad to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio-Zest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

From the moment we were met at the airport by a taxi organised by the Riad we felt that our stay would be a good one. To our surprise and delight we were met by our hosts where the taxi had to stop. This was in part an expression of their hospitality and in part a necessity because the Riad is hidden away in a maze of little streets accessible only on foot. Colette & Jean-Jaques proved to be generous hosts. They do all they can to give their guests a memorable welcome, like a refreshing cup of mint tea on arrival, sipped while Colette explains what there is to see and how to get there. The atmosphere in the Riad is one of calm and relaxation. Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the roof tops is always something to look forward to, served by the ever smiling Josif for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our room was big and comfortable, nicely furnished and always clean and well looked after. Like many Riads it had no outer windows, but it opens to a beautiful open inner courtyard (covered for the winter whilst we were there) that gives seclusion no hotel can equal. We really looked forward to our stay, and the Riad Bamaga exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the wonderful riad bamaga. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, peppermint tea and the lovely owner Collette. As a family who have lived in Marrakech for years, Collette sat with us and passed on some invaluable advice and a very easy to follow map into the heart of the medina which at first can seem intimidating for a first timer but we were put at our ease and felt well informed . We thoroughly enjoyed the riad , service and ambiance and couldn't recommend this riad highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#101 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#117 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#56 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#53 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#65 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga Hotel

Property: Riad Bamaga Hotel
Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bamaga is right in the heart of the medina of Marrakech in a traditional setting. Enjoy personalized service and comfortable rooms. The rooms are individually decorated in a Moroccan style and typical colors. They feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, minibar and broadband WiFi. The manager is always available to response your request . Tasty local dishes are available: you can enjoy them on the terrace, in the elegant patio or in the dining room. The roof terrace is ideal for relaxing in the evening. it offers panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. The (Médina) district is an ideal choice for travelers who are interested in these topics: shopping, markets and souks. It is the favorite area travelers visiting Marrakech, according to comments independent customers. We speak your language ! This offers the worthy of a four star services. Riad: 5 bedrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Bamaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing