We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad, good location and value”
Review of Riad Bamaga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Ranked #183 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Colette and Jean-Jacques made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. We definitely recommend organizing the airport transfer with Colette (€15 ea way), well worth it. We stayed in the Bab Doukkala room (second floor) which was very nice. The rooms are very spacious. They provided a lock for us so we could lock our door. They held our luggage for us for 3 days while we were in the desert. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Don't expect high-speed wireless internet, but this is normal. They do have a computer you can use but it's slow.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winecountryfanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 375 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

We chose Riad Bamaga after reading the previous reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived until we left we had fantastic hospitality. Colette was extremely helpful in
recommendations and making booking for us. It was a real haven to come back to after the chaos of the Medina. We had a room on the ground floor which was very clean and spacious, it was also extremely peaceful. We would highly recommend the Riad to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zestsiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

From the moment we were met at the airport by a taxi organised by the Riad we felt that our stay would be a good one. To our surprise and delight we were met by our hosts where the taxi had to stop. This was in part an expression of their hospitality and in part a necessity because the Riad is hidden away in a maze of little streets accessible only on foot. Colette & Jean-Jaques proved to be generous hosts. They do all they can to give their guests a memorable welcome, like a refreshing cup of mint tea on arrival, sipped while Colette explains what there is to see and how to get there. The atmosphere in the Riad is one of calm and relaxation. Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the roof tops is always something to look forward to, served by the ever smiling Josif for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our room was big and comfortable, nicely furnished and always clean and well looked after. Like many Riads it had no outer windows, but it opens to a beautiful open inner courtyard (covered for the winter whilst we were there) that gives seclusion no hotel can equal. We really looked forward to our stay, and the Riad Bamaga exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the wonderful riad bamaga. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, peppermint tea and the lovely owner Collette. As a family who have lived in Marrakech for years, Collette sat with us and passed on some invaluable advice and a very easy to follow map into the heart of the medina which at first can seem intimidating for a first timer but we were put at our ease and felt well informed . We thoroughly enjoyed the riad , service and ambiance and couldn't recommend this riad highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bohoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I can't praise Riad Bamaga highly enough. Colette and Jean-Jacque were so friendly and helpful; providing hand written maps, making reservations on our behalf and recommending local restaurants and sights. The riad itself is beautiful; a peaceful oasis in the middle of the city. The rooms are spacious, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The shower is powerful and the beds firm yet comfortable. The communal areas are likewise gorgeous, the highlight being the lovely roof terrace. Breakfast is yummy and plentiful. We ate a traditional Moroccan dinner at the riad on our first night and it was absolutely delicious. All the riad staff are friendly and accommodating. Colette can arrange for a taxi to take you to a 5* resort outside of the city. After two full days in the madness of Marrakech, it was a welcome retreat. The Murano is a wonderfully quiet resort with a blood-red tiled pool, comfy beds and lots of staff on hand - well worth a visit if you fancy some relaxation. All in all, Riad Bamaga is a fabulous place to stay, made all the more special by it's wonderful owners and staff!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilboWaagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent 2 nights here as a couple. As a first time visitor to Marrakech, I felt the hospitality and comfort of this Riad played a major part in making this a perfect holiday.

The main thing that sets them apart from most places I have stayed, is the personal service you receive from Colette. She is very welcoming, fluent in English and French, and goes the extra mile to make sure you make the most of your holiday. She was quick to respond to emails, very helpful with questions. She arranged a taxi from the airport to a point as close to the riad as possible (The taxi driver Hassan, was very friendly, and was very keen to point out our surroundings, and introduce to Marrakech as he drove us) She then met us at the pick up point and led us through the confusing streets to the Riad.

When we arrived at the Riad, she gave us a brief tour, anticipated that we would want to visit the Square that night, and so gave us a very clear hand drawn map, detailed instructions and essential advice on how to conduct yourself in Marrakech, to make the most of it. She explained that the next morning she would be available to give more advice and suggestions on how to make the most of our short stay the next morning. We then had a meal on the beautiful terrace served by the very helpful, friendly and hardworking Youssef.

The next morning, Colette did indeed have a great number of suggestions to make, and the maps to go along with it! She managed to create a very efficient rough plan for all the activities that we wanted to do given the opening times and the best times to visit certain attractions (including her own and our own suggestions) She also booked restaurants, taxis and excursions at a very reasonable rate for us. This basically took all the stress out of planning for us, and we were able to just enjoy the holiday!

The room we stayed in was beautiful, romantic and clean! It was fully equipped with hairdryer, safe, dressing gowns, slippers and soap. The terrace and atrium were stunning, and perfect places to come back to when we were weary with walking! Breakfast each morning was delicious (I miss it!) pancakes, grapes, tea, orange juice, a range of jams , croissants, bread and cake. It is also upstairs on the terrace, which made the most impressive backdrop and wake up to the day!

The streets that we walked through to get to the main square were safe, and very often we would bump into the same very charming and playful kids, who also recognised us!It took us only 10-15mins, and the walk is truely "a feast for the eyes!" so before you know it, you are there.

Our highlights were the square at night, the photography museum, Foundouk restaurant and the jardin majorelle. Murano's swimming pool is a nice cool down, but definitely not an essential part of the holiday.

In summary, Colete and her team go to great efforts to ensure that you have a great time. The Riad is beautiful comfortable, and tries to stay true to Morrocan culture. We hope to come back to Marrakech many times, and will definitely look to Colette's Riad as our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at this exceptional Riad for four nights with two other couples. The hospitality shown by Colette , Jean-Jaques and their team ensured that we were able to enjoy the hectic life in the Medina with the knowledge that we could return to the tranquillity of the Riad, the roof terrace and the personal service always provided.
The rooms were excellent, very comfortable and clean with a close attention to traditional Moroccan décor throughout. The help and advice provided by Colette was invaluable especially when finding your way around the Souks without the help of a willing volunteer who would always look for financial reward when reaching your destination. These young impromptu guides should be avoided or ignored.
We were collected from the airport by taxi, arranged by Colette (do not try and make your own way, without help you will be lost in the labyrinth) and although we arrived at the hotel late in the evening, we were met by Youssef and a relaxing meal on the terrace. This set a trend for our stay, the day would start with breakfast on the terrace and then finish with late drinks on the terrace. Nothing was too much trouble for Youssef, nadia or aïcha.
Colette was always available to give advice as to how to obtain the best from your stay. Especially when eating in the Jamaa el Fna square (areas 1 or 32 ! ), she is always willing to suggest and book restaurants ( try the Ksar ) and organise the local Easy Spa (not to be missed !)
I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone planning to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Venables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#56 of 499 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#94 of 499 in Marrakech
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#142 of 499 in Marrakech
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#175 of 499 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#252 of 499 in Marrakech
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#88 of 499 in Marrakech
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga Hotel

Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $64 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bamaga is right in the heart of the medina of Marrakech in a traditional setting. Enjoy personalized service and comfortable rooms. The rooms are individually decorated in a Moroccan style and typical colors. They feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, minibar and broadband WiFi. The manager is always available to response your request . Tasty local dishes are available: you can enjoy them on the terrace, in the elegant patio or in the dining room. The roof terrace is ideal for relaxing in the evening. it offers panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. The (Médina) district is an ideal choice for travelers who are interested in these topics: shopping, markets and souks. It is the favorite area travelers visiting Marrakech, according to comments independent customers. We speak your language ! This offers the worthy of a four star services. Riad: 5 bedrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Bamaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing