We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great oasis in the middle of the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Noor Charana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Noor Charana
Ranked #213 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
458 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great oasis in the middle of the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this Riad few years ago and again I had a great stay. November is a great month to visit Marrakech , we were very lucky with sunny and warm day. The Riad is in the middle of the Medina but very close to the main sq. only 10 minutes on foot. Don't get put off by the the unlit alley and the entrace; once u enter the Riad a different world unfold in front of you. Moha welcomed us and offered us sweet mint tea while we fill up the paperwork. The Riad is simple and elegant , our room quite spacious with en suite bathroom. Great breakfast on the roof terrace cooked for you on the spot , pomigranite juice, yogurt , fresh fruit , cakes , really delicious . This is a totally different experience from tha Mamounia , more real I think and down to earth and of course a fraction of the price . One night we ordered dinner at the Riad and it was the best we had in Marrakech , served on one of the little sitting rooms with the open fire crackling away. Lovely memories . I will advice anybody to stay on this charming and elegant Riad

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
thank you for such a pleasant review. me and my team hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our future new location, the riad of silence "concept and team" are moving to another lovely
riad in the medina, ( the riad noor charana will be under a different management ) . stay in touch , our email wont change , riadsilence@yahoo.Fr.
happy new year
cordially
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    69
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
136
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived Moha and his wife were friendly and attentive, organising a driver for us to visit the Atlas mountains and providing a wonderful meal on our first night. As others have mentioned it was 180 dhm each but was freshly cooked, flavoursome and definitely worth the money. The hotel is so close to the hustle and bustle it is surprising how quiet it remains. The loudest thing is the noise of the birds in the trees in the morning! The breakfast which is included in the room price sets you up for the day, with at least two home cooked types of pancakes or breads plus rolls, yoghurt (delicious with some of the honey stirred in) freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee and a piece of fruit. With only six rooms you will never feel crowded and busy here. We were two couples and had two adjoining rooms with bathrooms in between and a sitting area on the landing giving us our own little space when the city all got too much! Highly recommended as good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
hello
thank you for taking the time to review our work.we are so happy you enjoyed our philosophy of the riad of silence and also our simple but so authentic food. next time we will try to have try newer recipes. in the name of the entire team, we wish you and your family and friends a lovely and happy end of the year. a bientot maybe.
cordially
rene-jean general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I must say Marrakech was not what I expected, but "my" riad was one of the most beautiful things that I enjoyed there. The manager, Mr. Moham was very friendly and polite and our stayng there was very nice.If in Marrakech, nearly inside the Medina, do not exitate to choose Riad Noor Chanara.

Room Tip: It is realy silent, as advised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertogemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
thank you for such a lovely note. we hope to have the pleasure to have you back in our home. cordially
rene-jean moha radia and naima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband, teenage son and I had a wonderful 4 nights in Marrakech and were fortunate to have found this delightful Riad on the web. We went with no real expectations of what it would be like apart from the few photos on the web and were more than pleasantly surprised with the decor, setting and location when we arrived. Handy walking distance to the action and far enough away for peace and quiet. Delicious breakfast and very helpful Manager. We were able to recommend to friends that came to stay a month after we left.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alethea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
thank you for having stayed in our house, next time we will have you try some of our homemade specialities.
cordially
rene-jean GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I spent about a week at riad Noor Charana . I can't say enough about the manager and his staff . Everyone went out of their way to help and make my stay as enjoyable as possible . I tend to check my email from time to time and without asking a fresh kettle of Moroccan tea and cookies suddenly appear next to me . I highly recommend this riad to anyone who wants to experience how Marrackshis go about their daily lives !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
i am glad you enjoyed our home, we try to make everybody feel at home , maybe another time we will show you other secret spots in this amazing city and its maze of a medina. a bientot.
rene-jean astier
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this Riad for four nights last week. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the Medina area close to Djema El Fna Square.

After booking online, I was contacted by the Riad regarding transportation from the airport within a couple of hours. They offered a taxi service and also provided a map if you wanted to make your own way. We opted for the taxi service.

On arrival at Marrakech airport, we were met at the airport by the taxi driver who was holding a card with my name on it. From the airport, it took about 15 minutes to the Riad and cost 150 Dirhams. Very expensive for the short journey but you get there without any hassle and the driver knows where to go in the maze like alleys of the Medina.

We were then walked through small roads and alleyway when the driver turned and knocked on a door. Me and my wife looked at each other and thought 'oh, no this is not what we expected!'. And it really wasn't, we walked into a beautiful and well maintained riad! An oasis in the Medina.

The Riad is well maintained, clean and lots of light. Also it is very quite and its nickname is Riad Silence!

We were greeted by Mohan and a female assistant. They made us feel very welcome and straight away gave us mint tea and biscuits whilst we went over the formalities. They also provided a map and told us where the main attractions were. Very helpful and friendly although the english was not the best.

We were taken to our room which was very small and not what we had expected. There were twin beds and barely enough room to move around. There was an attached bathroom which was nice but also very small. We were not impressed with the size.

After a sleep we decided that it was too small for us and planned to move out to a hotel. I spoke to Mohan, who then spoke to the owner and within 5 minutes we had been upgraded to a very large room with a bigger bathroom for the same price! Hows that for service?!

The owner then spoke to me and made sure we were happy. I met him briefly during our stay and he seemed very friendly and polite.

We were provided breakfast every morning between 8.00am and 10.30am. The breakfast consisted of coffee, yoghurt, orange juice, 4 types of bread/pancakes and various spreads. Very filling but it was the same every day! No eggs or variety and I did get fed up with it after 4 days!

They also do a 3 course dinner on request. The cost is 180 Dirhams per person. Very expensive (You can eat for a total of 100 - 120 Dirhams for two anywhere decent) but it was the best meal we had in Morocco. For starters, there was a soup, aubergine chutney and samosa like pastries filled with various cheeses. All well made and delicious.

For the mains there was a lamb tagine with a cous cous type wheat. Amazing! The Tagine was fantastic with the meat falling off the bone........

For dessert there was a Apple Flan which was also lovely! We were stuffed and couldn't move.

I would highly recommend travellers to give this a try if they can and I am sure there will be no regrets!

The Riad is very close to the Souk and Djema El Fna. We walked to the square and various other attractions on foot and barely needed to use a taxi in the four days.

It is a lovely Riad in the heart of the Medina. However, please note that it is only a 3* and the facilities are basic. But for the price your paying, its well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javed817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
hello
i am sorry for the late response to your lovely review. we hope to have the pleasure to see you back in our house. cordially
rene-jean astier
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Riad Noor Charana was... WOW!
Tucked away down a little, quiet side street we discovered this gem.

Rene, Moha and staff were absolutely awesome, serving the most delicious breakfasts I think I have ever had. they were also on hand all-day long, to help with all our questions. On arrival from the airport we were first welcomed with tea and snacks, given a city map and orientated, shown the Riad facilities - including the great terrace, before being taken to our en-suite room. Noor Charana was our tranquil sanctuary from the Marrakech madness and I HIGHLY recommend staying here.

Noor Charana ticked all our boxes - beautiful, comfortable rooms, we were given helpful, local advice, there was assistance in organising trips and airport transfers, and after 6 days I was really sad to leave. Marrakech can be quite intence for the unsuspecting and at times we really felt a bit 'lost in translation', however Moha was there for us, all day, every day - bridging the gap. One night we decided to stay in for dinner, and the chef made us a Moroccan 'treat' - that 3 course dining expereince included a chicken, lentil and crepe tagine which was the best meal of our entire trip!

The location was also fantastic - although I do seriously advise an airport transfer. Finding anything at first is quite a task :) The Riad was clean and peaceful, only 1 minute from the main street, 2 minutes from a great Hammam Spa and 3-5 minutes from a few tour companies. 10 minutes away is the main square DJemaa ElFna and souks - so noise is to a minimum. We were only woken once to morning prayers from a nearby mosque, but this is something you will experience regardless of accommodation location.

Visiting Morocco towards the end of winter (Feb) can be quite chilly, but we were met with heated rooms, plenty of spare blankets and each night Moha brought us our own water bottles which was a fab touch. Rene met us for breakfast one morning, filling us in on the local culture, what to expect, where to go and what to see... he had many helpful suggestions and was more than willing to give out local knowledge which helped us quickly adapt to the 'Moroccan Way'.

Since we were miles from friends and family, being able to use their wi-fi and laptop, helped keep everyone up to speed with with our travels. Thanks Riad Noor Charana... for everything. And should we return to Marrakech... we will definitely be booking a room with you again :)

Room Tip: The Riad as a whole was quiet and peaceful, but I would assume the ground floor would be more suscep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#259 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#307 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#171 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#243 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#318 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#224 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noor Charana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noor Charana

Property: Riad Noor Charana
Address: Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Noor Charana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Noor Charana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noor Charana Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing