We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful! kind staff and good service”
Review of Hotel du Tresor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Tresor
Ranked #207 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were supposed to stay two nights but we decided for three after seeing the place; so we could spend Christmas eve in Marrakech. We booked the orange suite but when we arrived we were relocated in another suite in the Maison du Tresor (in a house not far from the hotel). The suite was amazing! There were two big bedrooms and a private living room only for us in a sort of apartment in the maison. All is Moroccan style and reformed. We were welcomed by Mohad with whom we enjoyed a nice conversation in perfect Italian. He gave us useful tips and a map of the city. We really loved the huge labyrinthic roof with many sofas and tables. Sunset with minth tea and muezzins calling for prayer is enchanting. All the staff was really kind. Breakfast was served in a beautiful room (with a gigantic flat TV and euronews), food was good.

Just one thing was missing. SOME SMALL HEATER in the breakfast room. We had many "cold" breakfasts in Morocco I guess because of energy saving but it was quite cold in the morning and my stomach suffered terribly because of that and all the orange juice and fried omelettes. So in a place like Maison du Tresor (which is not supercheap) I would have loved 15 minutes of warm breakfast. Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really close to the madness of the medina, but a whisper quiet hotel. There's lots of things to talk up, but the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Amir (sp) and Mustafa are better than any 5 star hotel employee. The guy who helped us find our way through the square at night when we arrived (sorry I don't know his name) is also brilliant. We stayed in the Hitchcock room which is small but provides ample room for a couple. Good breakfast served every morning and the communal space in the salon is fantastic. A truly outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flashpacker1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My mother and I stayed in Maison du Tressor which is another house owned by the Hotel du Tressor. We couldn't have asked for better service. The staff is attentive to your every need. The hotel itself is very charming and is very close to the souks and all main tourist attractions of Marrakech. The staff are extremely friendly and are very happy to tell you everything about their beautiful country. Breakfast is included every morning - Moroccan pancakes, orange juice, yoghurt and sweet peppermint tea. I highly recommend ordering the dinner. You can eat it on the rooftop looking out over the medina and it's an amazing three course meal prepared in the kitchen. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabelbrusasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent two days in November in this beautiful og peaceful hotel in the hearth of Marrakech. As part of a group, we got to stay in Hotel du Tresor (Maison). We did not stay at the hotel, but in a separate building called "Maison". We got the "red room" on top of the building, with direct access to the beautiful terrace. The terrace had a beatiful view over the city of Marrakech. The room was nice and clean. The staff was so nice, did all they could to make us feel welcome and taken care of. Special thanks to Othmane and Adil for their helpfulness and for beeing at our service all the time.
We can strongly recommend Hotel du Tresor, Maison.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janne Hjelde W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We choose this riad after much research and found it to be perfect. Just tucked off the main square its lovely and peaceful. The room terrace was fantastic to relax after a long day pounding the streets. We stayed on 2 seperate occasions during our trip and each room was lovely. The staff are very accomodating, one ran out for beer when we casually asked if they had any.
would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no lift so get a room on the bottom floor if you dont want to keep walking up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gtraveller129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had four nights at Hotel du Tresor - what a beautiful 'oasis' to come home to each day after exploring the medina and surrounding areas in Marrakech. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel was lovely and clean - and having breakfast on the roof each morning was a real treat. The location is really good, a 2 min walk and you're in the midst of the medina. The mint tea on arrival was really delicious too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb_and_Geof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fantastic place in the middle of the heart in the Sook . Great people working there and really nice and helpful! We will definitly go there again. Clean and beautiful charming rooms ! Miss you all people there ! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marrakec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#122 of 502 in Marrakech
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#188 of 502 in Marrakech
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#192 of 502 in Marrakech
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#279 of 502 in Marrakech
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#324 of 502 in Marrakech
148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#310 of 502 in Marrakech
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tresor

Address: 77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $49 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Tresor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little hotel open since the 50s, just a few minutes away from Place Jemaa El Fna. This peaceful riad has been transformed by its Italian owner, its traditional style restored and enhanced by a keen selection of various objects originating most often from other historical hotels of the town. Respect for the old with a sense of the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tresor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing