We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good in parts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
Ranked #163 of 787 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went there on last night of our holiday with my wife. My wife skipped the first course but I had the pigeon pastilla which I enjoyed. My main course was the Royal Couscous with mixed meat brochettes - the brochettes were good; the couscous, which also contained chicken and lamb was a bit insipid - however portion size was not a problem - this was a mountain of food for one person. My wife chose lamb with prunes and sesame seeds - this was served without vegetables or carbs so I offloaded most of the potatoes and veg that came with my meal to her. We skipped puds because we were both full by this stage. Service was fairly shambolic. There was a long wait before we were offered drinks and our order taken. Then a very long interval between my wife receiving her main course and mine arriving. The waiter explained that the couscous dish took a long time to prepare but the last time I made couscous it involved pouring on boiling water and waiting 10 minutes - I guess they use a more exacting technique in marrakech. The highlight of the evening was the belly dancing - two very attractive young ladies who took my mind off the poor service and raised the tip that I was planning to pay from 0% to 5% (waiter received the latter without thanks!). Total cost with glass of wine, small bottle of water, and two coffees was about £50.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    239
    146
    100
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good service, food was tasty- we had the lamb tagine and would highly recommend it. Nice atmosphere and decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamestravels1-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I agree with was seems to be the sentiment of a lot of reviewers: this place is not worth the money. Prices are high, the food is bland, and the service slow and unengaged. Nice locale and nice view though.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stockholm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
“Food is very good but this has become a tourist trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Yes the food is pretty delicious with good size helpings and the service we found was just about okay. However, the prices have risen dramatically which might explain the fact that on a Saturday evening it was only half full.
The place has become patronisingly touristy with (admittedly very good) belly dancers. Not something we had to endure seven years ago. That is not to my taste but I had to admit that the place itself has still got a good atmosphere. Not that easy to find on the edge of the medina - look for the storks on the rooftops opposite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“top location, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful place in a prime location overlooking the square and I loved the decor: magically lit and adorned yet not overdone. Typical of Marrakech restaurants, you are left for what seems like ages before being asked what you would like to drink. For thirsty alcoholic Europeans, this is quite an uncomfortable position - best to accost the waiter as soon as you sit down! The cooked Moroccan salads were fine, as was the beef tangia and pigeon pastilla.
We were charged for a bottle of wine we never had... rumour has it that this is not unusual for Marrakech, and it's as well to be vigilant in general when checking your bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing